Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy 2

Posted May 23, 2016
- a teacher
As a teacher, I did not feel supported. Student's are great to work with but since the school is going through a lot of transition, there is just not enough disciplinary action.

Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a teacher
The teachers are over worked and not given enough support. That is what I find ineffective.


Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a teacher
The administration set low expectations for these students. Teachers are overworked with giving these students so many chances to pass their classes. Each time this student gets a chance, the expectation becomes lower.

Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a teacher
Maybe too compassionate. Students are rarely ever held accountable for their negative actions. Which hurts the students ability to be responsible.

Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a teacher
From my experience, I noticed students were not being prepared since teachers were encouraged to lower students expectations in order to pass the classes


Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy 4

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
It is truly unfortunate the parent of June 2014 had the experience. There are over 700 students at Oakland Military Institute (OMI) and I'm sure a few families have found this is not the environment for their child. This is my second year and what I have learned from our first year is that there are no excuses. Not only are the children academically challenged they are also taught life skills...At times communicating with teachers can be challenging (they have limited time); however instructors, military staff and others are committed to these cadets. Staff are on campus from 6 am. to 7 p.m. In addition, staff are there if and when cadets need help. There are parents who for whatever reason don't want to follow the rules and those are the parents with the negative comments. I highly recommend this school to any family interested in providing a good education (and free), to their child as well as teaching them life skills, how to be a leader and building confidence. Last but not least, after school program...awesome!!! Kudos to Oakland Military Institute College Preparatory Academy!!!

Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy 1

Posted June 01, 2014
- a parent
Honestly this was the biggest mistake of my son's education. Not only did the teachers not really teach but they seem to blame the child for their mistakes. No wonder the retention of teachers and school administrations seems to become worse by the week. I tried working with my son's teacher and even asked for her assistance in help him improve. She just have me a blank stare like I was speaking another language. They have young educators starting their teaching careers here or something because I have never seen the lack or nurturing education in my life from a teacher with experience. When I asked her what about tutoring she said more worksheets! Don't put your child in this school because not only do they deny them bathroom use and at times lunch meals. They also deny them a learning experience. When I finally transferred my son to another school district that had Counselors and caring teachers and school administration, all his teacher said he was way behind in his learning from OMI. Another tragic school that started out with a positive outlook for a 3.2 grade point student only to end with disappointing result. Never again.

Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy 5

Posted March 17, 2014
- a parent
Big thanks to Maj Wells for taking a group of OMI young men to the Vanguard Conference for Africian American college bound men this weekend. Thank you for your dedication!!!!!


Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy 5

Posted October 14, 2013
- a community member
This is an amazing school. I feel the structure is what a lot of kids want and need. This school serves children from a variety of socio/economic backgrounds. However, this school is not for every child and family. One of the great things about this school is that it is Free.

Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy 3

Posted September 10, 2013
- a community member
My school can improve by having bigger lunch proportions and a bigger selection of breakfast and lunch. Also, they have to be more Lenient especially towards students that do well academically.

Nearby schools

Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy
3877 Lusk Street, Oakland, CA  94608-3822
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (510) 594-3900
Last modified Oakland Military Institute, College Preparatory Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top