Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


American Indian Public Charter School Ii
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
It is laughable how unqualified the teaching staff is at this school. Only a handful of them have teaching or administrative credentials. The only reason the test scores are high is that they teach the tests and cherry pick their students.

American Indian Public Charter School Ii
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
It was written into their charter to give the students a minimum of 2 hours of homework each night. That coupled with mandatory "tutoring" after school doesn't leave much time to be a kid. That's a 10 hour day EVERY DAY.


American Indian Public Charter School Ii
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
The staff is unqualified. The students know this. The school is a sick twisted joke.

American Indian Public Charter School Ii
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
The school is run like a fascist boot camp. The only way they develop anything is through berating and humiliating the students.

American Indian Public Charter School Ii
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
There is no empathy at AIMS for anyone. The students are treated even worse than the staff.


American Indian Public Charter School Ii 5

Posted March 20, 2015
- a teacher
As a substitute teacher, this school is a pleasure to work at. The students are respectful and studious, with tons less behavior problems than many other schools, including richy private schools. One thing I observe here is a simple, clear behavior protocol that help kids make choices to succeed rather than act out and be bratty. This school does not confuse kids with permissiveness or coddling which I see so often elsewhere. After all, discipline is love and anything else is probably laziness. These kids know what's up and they self-correct in an amazing way. This creates a vibrant learning and teaching environment with room for a lot of joy in learning. Great job, staff,for helping students prepare for the real world and brilliant futures. (-:

American Indian Public Charter School Ii 1

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
I let my kid go to this school because I heard lots of good feedback. But not at I thought as good as the feedback I heard. The school doesn t take any action even though couple of parents file complaint. We submitted two times complaint letter since last year October 2014 until now. We all went to see principal on Wednesday 01/13/2015 to talk to him about the issue. I hope he will take action because the school starting over 4 months but the issue still stay the same.

American Indian Public Charter School Ii 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a community member
it is a great school to learn in but does not have any sports so u can focus on school more


American Indian Public Charter School Ii 5

Posted December 06, 2014
- a parent
This school provides a incredible education and allows my children to graduate from college and enter a university i recommend this school

American Indian Public Charter School Ii 1

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
I regret sending my son here. The staff is disgusting, the building is a office building! I thought it was a good school because of API scores but worst mistake for my child. He is doing so much better in the public school system. First thing I did was take him out of that prison. The principal tried to talk me out of taking my child out of her useless school. That's an hour of my life I'll never get back. Thanks a lot Mr. She.

Nearby schools

American Indian Public Charter School Ii
171 12th Street, Oakland, CA  94607-4900
(510) 893-8701
Last modified American Indian Public Charter School Ii is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top