Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cleveland Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 348 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

Cleveland is amazing. The Eco-literacy program, the school garden and the fact that they teach (by example) the children to embrace diversity just a few of the things that make this school so amazing.


Posted June 13, 2013

Well it is then end of the 2012-2013 school year and my daughter graduates 1st grade today. She spent kindergarten and 1st grade at Cleveland, and we plan to be there until she moves up to middle school. There is only one problem, and it does upset me regularly. Some of the people who work in the office really don't seem to care. At all. The won't even make the effort to apologize if they mess something up. They DO NOT want to talk to ANYONE. If you get through a conversation with them without getting snotty attitude or rude facial expressions you are incredibly lucky. Also, this school is on a steep hill. If you are coming from the bottom you made need to use the back gate, but sometimes they just forget to unlock. I have a severe back injury and they do not care at all even after telling them that I cannot walk up the steepest hill to get to the "front" of the school. Very upsetting, and I really hope they replace some of those people soon, because they are awful, mean, uncaring people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

My son also started kindergarten at Cleveland this fall and loves it! I have been very impressed with the involvement and dedication of the parents and PTA who are sensitive to the needs of all students. The school is very diverse and inclusive. Cleveland offers a unique Eco-Literacy program with a beautiful garden. My son is really picking up speed with his reading and loves his teacher and the after school program Bear Cub that is on-campus. There's a school music program and after school activities such as soccer and drumming. The teachers are hard working, very experienced and dedicated. I really can't say enough about how amazing this school is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

My son started Kindergarten at Cleveland this fall. He really loves his teacher and his new friends....and he's learning a ton. The aftercare at Bear Cub City is great, too. I've been really impressed by the parent community....lots of smart, caring adults who are really focused on ensuring the highest-quality education for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

I have three children at Cleveland - two kinder and one in 1st grade - and we love it! It's a true gem of a public school with great teachers and staff and a very involved group of parent volunteers. The state curriculum is enhanced with art, music, ecoliteracy and after school learning options that include soccer, languages, guitar lessons, creative writing and others. They also provide excellent after school care options. Perhaps some of the best events at the school are a series of community events that bring the school together for fun celebrations of the very diverse community - Spaghetti night, movie nights, Cinco De Mayo celebration, Lunar New Year celebration, Cultural Heritage night, Fall and End of the Year Festivals. My favorite thing about this school is that it is a place that truly celebrates diversity. Nothing can compare to the social learning that comes from experiencing other cultures as a part of everyday life. The campus is bright and lively with flowers, trees, veggie gardens, wonderful play structures and views. The two recently refurbished libraries promote a love of reading in a fun environment. On top of all these pluses, their test scores are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2011

My son has been in Kindergarten and loves it!! He is learning a lot and suppose to be reading by the end of the year... The teachers are consistent and lovely, the principal is really engaged with the parents and children. We couldn't be more happy about this fantastic little school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

I love Cleveland!! Everyone including parents and staff are very friendly. My son also went to the after school program called Bear Cub City which has an awesome group of staff. My son always begs me to stay longer. I enjoy their annual all natural soup day where the students pick the vegetables they've grown and make soup to share with each other. Both new and old principle has been very good to me and my son. The open campus is a bonus in OUSD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

The school is incredibly inclusive of all families - even translates documents and meetings into the dominant languages spoken besides English - yet achieves high scores and academic success more typical of a homogeneous environment. Go Cleveland!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

After surviving OUSD's total mess of an enrollment process, we were assigned to Cleveland. With a thick coat of bitterness, we enrolled in what's turned out to be a hidden gem of a school. With about 150 kids, Cleveland is small compared to other nearby schools, Crocker, Lakeview and Glenview. The smaller class sizes (17-20) were an unexpected bonus and pleasure for our easily distracted child. The Principal, Ms. Settles, is dynamic, friendly and accessible. She not only knows her school and the educational field, but she makes it a point to learn every child's name- and remembers them all! Cleveland also has great academics and an awesome eco-literacy curriculum that supplements the science program from K-5. Kids learn about growing food in an outdoor classroom designed by an parent/environmental architect, with gardens that have 8-ft tall sunflowers and delicious strawberries. Love what we see so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Cleveland is a great, small community school that is diverse and can set an example of how to communicate with ALL students AND parents. i have been involved with Cleveland school for over 11 years as my 4 children have move through and it has been a pleasure watching it grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Cleveland School has an excellent principal, great teachers and wonderful programs. My granddaughter is doing so well at Cleveland - on her way to becoming a scholar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The diversity is great, teachers caring and the principal is very involved, committed and knows the children by name. The PTA, though small, does an excellent job with fundraising and events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The school has started some inovative new projects like a garden and an outdoor classroom! Great principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This is our first year at Cleveland. We've heard many great things about this school and so far, the results have more than exceeded our expectations. The principal is very impressive and runs a fantastic operation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Cleveland is a happy fmaily oriented school. It is a friendly school in a big city. The students, teachers, staff and parents all work together beautifully to make Cleveland the best elementary school on Oakland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Cleveland Elementary was the school I was attending as a little girl. I enjoyed because of the great friendly atmosphere, the teachers who work hard to make sure that we learn what was needed. The parents and children here are also mutl-racial, friendly and giving. Now currently my three children are attending Cleveland Elementary School. Next year my fourth child will be attending as well. After fifteen years, Cleveland has become an even better school with its new gardens, it has added an outside classroom where the kids are taught about the plants and health. The teachers are so delicated in teaching out kids, that we can't thank them enough. Our PTA is one the best, fundraising yearly to add afterschool programs, for example after school care to six o'clock, guitar classes, lego classes, chess classes etc. Pta work hard help raise much need money that the state or federal level does not supply which help to build a playground structure for our school, money for each individual class for fieldtrips, new benches and tables for the kid to eat their lunches and rest during recess. The funding also supplies further funds for many pending project need for the school and help make newer events possible. With each year we see Cleveland grow and mature in something better than the last. our parents and teachers are remarkable working together for what, for our kids and future kids and our community. Cleveland School is a great school. I proud of our school 'Cleveland School' IOt's my school and my kids school, hopefull it will still be around for my grandchildren.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Cleveland is a diverse, amazing school full of interesting people and dedicated teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Cleveland is such a wonderful school with great teachers, a diverse community, super academic record, fantastic programs and enrichments, beautiful campus gardens and a new outdoor classroom. Amazing! My kids and I love Cleveland!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love Cleveland for its great teachers, visionary principal and wonderful community of students, staff and parents who work together to make Cleveland even better. It is safe, nuturing, academically strong and incredibly diverse. We couldn't ask for a better environment for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

diverse school, great principal who remembers the kid's names. great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

918

Change from
2012 to 2013

+7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

918

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females96%
Males88%
African American92%
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students95%
Females96%
Males94%
African American93%
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females83%
Males58%
African American67%
Asian74%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented70%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state67%

Math

All Students79%
Females83%
Males75%
African American67%
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner80%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females87%
Males76%
African American64%
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females84%
Males95%
African American55%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females81%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented80%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state78%

Math

All Students85%
Females86%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state90%

Science

All Students75%
Females76%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 59% 11%
Black 18% 7%
White 10% 27%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hispanic 6% 51%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Angela Aquino
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (510) 879-1089

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Technology
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • AC Transit lines 18, 26, 58L, NX, NX1, and V serve our school.
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

East Bay Asian Youth Center (after school program)

Types of activities
  • Academics
  • Arts
  • Athletics
  • Life skills
Operated by
  • East Bay Asian Youth Center
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 3:00
End time
  • 6:00
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • No
Website
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

More from this school
  • Cleveland Elementary School is a safe, disciplined, and productive environment where students and adults are meaningfully engaged in learning. Our culturally diverse population is our strength, and the spirit of equity, cooperation, and respect permeates our school community. Our curriculum design and instructional practices enhance our ability to connect and apply academic learning to service learning as evidenced in our Community Garden Project. We are determined to develop students who are socially, politically, academically, and technologically competent. The mission of Cleveland Elementary is to close the achievement gap in Oakland and create a sense of urgency and love for learning in our students. We strive to make a positive difference in the lives of our young people by offering an engaging and rigorous instructional program, and by building strong relationships between parents, staff, students, and community. We create a culture of high standards and equity through ongoing self-reflection and analysis. Parents are encouraged to be involved in our school. We teach our English Learners to develop proficiency in English. Additionally, we offer a Special Education program, speech/language and occupational therapy, and fundraise for a music and art program to enhance instruction in the classroom. At Cleveland Elementary, we are dedicated to developing productive, compassionate, and ethical students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

745 Cleveland Street
Oakland, CA 94606
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 874-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sonrise Preschool
Torrance, CA


Discovery Isle
San Marcos, CA


Everyday Magic
San Francisco, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT