Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crocker Highlands Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 08, 2015
- a community member
A parent volunteer made me smile every day at lunch! Most of the parent volunteers did not like me but this mom did! She made me feel included

Crocker Highlands Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 08, 2015
- a community member
Teachers give barely any homework! I transferred to another school and I was unpleasantly shocked by how much homework there was because my 5th grade teacher did not give any homework. The teachers in the upper grades think they are doing you a favor by not giving you homework, but graduates are unprepared for middle school homework.


Crocker Highlands Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 08, 2015
- a community member
The school has an unsafe environment and kids are called insults like "gay" or "stupid". There is drama among the children.

Crocker Highlands Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 08, 2015
- a community member
Well, teachers do nothing to promote or obstruct it, but the students do not value these qualities because they are "not cool".

Crocker Highlands Elementary School 2

Posted November 08, 2015
- a community member
At this school kids are not motivated to learn. I went here and I did not like how everyone was rude to teachers and their fellow students. When there is a problem no one will actually help you solve it which results in drama. Teachers are also too opinionated and they do not let children develop voices of their own. I hope that prospective parents think of different schools for their kids.


Crocker Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a community member
I went to Crocker Highland in the late 80's. I have to say it was a wonderful school.

Crocker Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
I have nothing but positive feedback for this wonderful gem in our Oakland Hills! My son is a new fifth grader, after transfering from another elementary school.The transition wasn't smooth intially, but the Principal Joci Kelleher and both my son's teachers fully embraced my son to help him adjust to a new school and making new friends. The school staff, and parents I have met have been wonderful and inviting. And in regards to academics, this school exceeds my expectations. The teachers maintain the attention of the students with fun and interesting lessons and there is an unspoken respect the children have for their teachers. Also, if there are any social/emotional issues with the children , they are addressed promptly, in a warm trusting environment, by the staff. Crocker Highlands also has a wonderful music program. I highly recommend Crocker Highland !!

Crocker Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
I have two children at Crocker and this is our family's fifth year at the school. Our new principal, Joci has been outstanding. She is such a calm and peaceful presence and has brought a wonderful energy to the school. I look forward to the four years we have left here. The future is bright!


Crocker Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2013
- a teacher
I have been teaching at Crocker for 18 years...and I still LOVE my job! The kids come in ready and eager to learn, and the parents are always willing to help in the classroom and with fund raising. Most parents are very kind and supportive of the teachers, so it is a great place to work. I particularly like my grade level team. We collaborate a lot, and I think our students really benefit from this.

Crocker Highlands Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2012
- a community member
I graduated from Crocker Highlands last year. I loved Crocker and got a more then fantastic education there. I recommend Crocker Highlands to every child and want to give a special shout out to both my 5th grade teachers who were absolutely outstanding and taught me so much school related topics and much more. Thank you Crocker Highlands I will never go to another school like you, I will never forget Crocker! :D

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crocker Highlands Elementary School
525 Midcrest Road, Oakland, CA  94610-1813
(510) 451-5900
Last modified Crocker Highlands Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Crocker Highlands Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top