Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dewey Academy 5

Posted April 12, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school and my son would not have graduated high school if he had not attended Dewey. He is now 20 years old and in junior college. He is so happy that he has a high school diploma and not a GED like a lot of his friends. He had previously attended Oakland tech and Oakland High and the teachers at Oakland tech never called me with problems and rarely at Oakland High. The teachers at Dewey are very dedicated to their students and the students really respond to them. I highly recommend this school if you have a student who is not focusing in the larger high schools.

Dewey Academy 5

Posted May 04, 2010
- a student
i loved this school the really focus on each student and making sure that they succeed after graduation


Dewey Academy 5

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Dewey Academy 5

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Dewey Academy 5

Posted May 13, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Dewey Academy 4

Posted February 13, 2007
- a student
Dewey Academy offers a truly safe and secure environment for students, which is a rare benefit of schools in the Oakland Unified School District. Although students' discipline are not among the best, giving the fact that the majority of students here are not qualified to stay at their previous schools, but the staff of Dewey made great caring effort and ensure consistant learning of the students. The number of students who are skipping class are obviously lower than most schools in the District. If the students are to stay in class more oftenly, there are more chances of the majority of students will graduate with a decent general education. Dewey is also the only school that offer a full Cyber High program, which allow its students to work on their own and complete the materials fast.

Dewey Academy 5

Posted February 13, 2007
- a parent
Dewey is a good school. The expectations at the orientation was well explained. I have developed a wonderful, working relationship with the principal and other staff. I feel well supported and communication is great. The academic and social programs available are great. The two students I have had only had great things to say about this school. They feel supported to complete their educational goals.

Dewey Academy 5

Posted February 13, 2007
- a parent
I have had contact over the years with Oakland Schools and I can truly say that Dewey is ranked right at the top of my list. I love the fact that it's small because the students are able to receive more time with the teachers. The afterschool programs are just wonderful. I love Dewey High, the Teachers and especially the Principal who truly loves 'her kids.'


Dewey Academy 4

Posted February 08, 2007
- a parent
Safe enviroment and great staff.

Dewey Academy 5

Posted February 08, 2007
- a parent
Small classes. Very friendly teachers. They know the student very well inside out. Safe environment. Good security

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dewey Academy
1111 2nd Avenue, Oakland, CA  94606
(510) 874-3660
Last modified Dewey Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Dewey Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.