Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a teacher
Bret Harte Middle School in Oakland CA is a great school. I should know, I teach there! I may be biased but hear me out. Our school was featured in a video about the EducationSuperHighway, a not-for-profit dedicated to bringing better broadband services to schools. This video featured several of our dedicated teachers. Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook founder, was inspired to donate $20 million to the non-profit, and posted the video to FB. And the White House re-posted the video after that! Please go to our website, ousd.org/bretharte, and check out the video for yourself. Also, at President Obama's last State of the Union address, he stated that he wants every student to learn computer science. Next fall, Bret Harte is adding a computer science class to its schedule. How cool is that? We have a diverse campus population, including students from the surrounding neighborhood, and students from all over Oakland. We have several special education classrooms and newcomer classrooms. We have veteran teachers and new teachers sharing best practices and giving support to each other. We have a nice campus that is enhanced by beautiful murals and mosaics completed by our own students with the help of dedicated volunteers. We are petitioning for a turf field to be installed. We have a fantastic music program. Come by and visit and see the great things happening at Bret Harte Middle School, in Oakland CA!

Bret Harte Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 14, 2016
- a teacher
Thank You Dr. D! You have jumped right in and made Bret Harte stronger each and every day. I appreciate your dedication.


Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a parent
Top 5 Reasons to Send Your Child to Bret Harte! 1) Great Teachers! Our daughter has had great teachers every year who inspired her in her studies. Has she ever had a class that was "just OK?" Yes, a couple in three years. Think back to your middle school. Did you love all six of your teachers each year, every year? If you are worried about academic rigor or test scores, we can only speak from our experience: our daughter has thrived in this environment -- her last test scores were the highest she's ever had. 2) Great Administrative Staff! We were worried when the amazing Tom Hughes left, but Principal D has picked up where he left off and is building on the amazing foundational work he did. We are convinced the school is going to soar to new heights under her dedication and innovation. At the same time, this is not a school run by a single leader. Attend a few events and you'll see it is run by a team of dedicated support staff who consistently go above and beyond their daily job description, which helps gives Bret Harte its family feel. 3) A Great Neighborhood Public School! We cannot emphasize enough how wonderful it has been to have our daughter walk to and from middle school for the past three years. Its brings down family stress, deepens our connection to the neighborhood and is healthy and good for the planet. It is also wonderful for maintaining (and strengthening) relationships from elementary school. 4) An Excellent Music Program! Mr. Worm works wonders. This last Winter Concert left us amazed at how far the absolute beginners had already come in only December, not to mention the ever impressive advanced musicians in Jazz Band and the other classes. The brand new Bret Harte Choir was also completely fabulous. 5) All The Extras Keep Getting Better! Bret Harte is really starting to hit its stride. The cross-country team, which meets after school, won its first track meet at Skyline this year and plans to participate at the Oakland Running Festival, there are improv theater classes at lunch, there is the bike club, the new choir, the Gay-Straight Alliance, the Bret Harte Pioneer newspaper and much more! If you believe in neighborhood public schools, please channel your concerns into positive action and join us at Bret Harte! -A Bret Harte Parent

Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
I transferred my son from a private school in Berkeley to Bret Harte in the 7th grade. My son has a IEP and is and was placed in the SDC program there. Each teacher my son had, provided more than support and encouragement, which placed me at ease. Now my son has strived to general education classes and is doing well socially. This was all by the support of administration & staff! We are very happy at Bret Harte

Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
I have been a Bret Harte parent for 3 years, and have been really impressed with the effective and engaging teachers as well as the strong leadership from the administration. My daughter is very enthusiastic about the classes and social environment at Bret Harte, she likes her classes, (and loves a couple of them), and is growing intellectually. This is a diverse school, with students from all kinds of backgrounds, and the school works tremendously hard to make this a place that feels welcoming, supportive, and challenging for all kinds of students. I really appreciate this - it is very hard to do, and is part of the ongoing challenge facing urban public schools that serve ALL children. I am very satisfied with Bret Harte, and encourage parents and students to check it out.


Bret Harte Middle School 1

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
So disappointed in this school. Dress code isn't followed. It has a high truancy rating as well. Grades are inflated. There is no true way to see homework assignments, as the system they use teachers do not update and many do not use it. Its going to take a while for this school to turn around.

Bret Harte Middle School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
We are a new Bret Harte family whose daughter entered 6th grade this year. Supporting our local middle school was important to us and as it turns out we couldn't be happier with our choice for our daughter to attend Bret Harte. Our daughter is extremely happy with her classes, her teachers and her wonderful & supportive school community. As parents, we are impressed with the experienced and innovative educators who bring blended learning, the latest teaching strategies and inspiration each day to the students at Bret Harte. With the amazing leadership of Tom Hughes, the principal, Bret Harte is in good hands to help all of our students succeed. Some highlights of our daughter's first year are the amazing Jazz Band, learning Spanish through songs and meeting many new friends! We 'heart' Bret Harte!

Bret Harte Middle School 4

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is heading into her second year at Bret Harte and loves it. She has been engaged and challenged by and learned from the awesome Jazz Band, the wonderful Gay-Straight Alliance and the super cool Journalism class, and had a solid group of teachers throughout. As a veteran OUSD teacher myself, I am not only greatly impressed by the teaching staff at Bret Harte but, above all, by the principal, Tom Hughes, and what he has done over the last few years to really create a cohesive, comprehensive administrative team. He runs an incredibly tight ship, whether it's getting everyone to class on time or helping students solve problems through the Restorative Justice program. This is a very good neighborhood school on the cusp of becoming great as more parents get involved and as the effects of several years now of positive, forward-thinking, excellent leadership take root! Join us!


Bret Harte Middle School 4

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
My son just began school at Bret Harte in the Fall. We were committed to supporting our local public school, yet worried about it being a safe, academically challenging program for our child. So far we have been thrilled. He loves his classes, is both motivated and challenged by the work, is making friends, and looks forward to school each day. The principal is charming and always available. Kids know that they can approach him about anything. So far, Bret Harte is exceeding all my expectations. Please take a look for yourself and consider Bret Harte.

Bret Harte Middle School 4

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
I am a new parent to Bret Harte, and so far, I have been really impressed with what I have observed myself and heard from my daughter. The school is well-organized, well-led, academically challenging, and culturally rich. My child has been fully engaged in her classes and is learning critical skills around study habits, organization, and responsibility. The Bret Harte community seems committed to creating and maintaining a very positive and inclusive culture that empasizes their core values or respect, resilience, and hard work. My daughter is regularly bringing home interesting topics from class discussions. I have also been really impressed with the principal, who is in his 3rd year at Bret Harte. He is extremely accessible, intelligent, and committed, and speaks honestly about the school's strengths and challenges. He handles problems efficiently, and has great energy and savvy in working with middle schoolers. This is definitely an Oakland middle school that is under the radar with a lot to offer. I would recommend that Oakland parents take a closer look!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bret Harte Middle School
3700 Coolidge Avenue, Oakland, CA  94602
(510) 531-6400
Last modified Bret Harte Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bret Harte Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top