Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Oakland, CA
Students enrolled: 513
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2015
- a community member
My baby girl has been going to laurel for four years now first she was going to the CDC and now she is going to the second grade this year she can't wait I love this school they have done a great job with my babe she is reading above average and she is doing wonderful in her math can't wait to see what this year will bring....

Laurel Elementary School 1

Posted March 20, 2015
- a parent
My son is in 4th grade and has attended Laurel since Kindergarten. I have worked at OUSD since 1994 in the Child Development Centers and I have a Masters in Education. Overall Laurel teachers are good. The office staff can be hard and the principal impossible. There is a climate which is not supportive, judgemental, and generates a feeling of mistrust. Once a teacher who was unhappy when I complained as I was the garden volunteer teacher that she left me alone with her class without an explanation, later that year she removed my potluck dish off the parent table at an event. The principal refused to get involved, now after she has given me many looks of hate the principal refuses to reassure me that my son will not have her as a teacher next year. He tell me to wait till the end of the year. I applied to a charter school for my son in case I have to take him out of Laurel because the principal won't deal with my concern. He likes his friends and want to finish 5th grade there. I also wish Laurel was more welcoming of people with differences, but I find the school too narrow minded and felt made fun of at times.


Laurel Elementary School 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Laurel has a diverse community, strong PTA and teachers that care. The school continues to strive to meet academic goals for 'ALL' students. Our kids enjoy art and music, pajama night, family night, game night all of which bring us together as a community. Areas that need improving....teacher training to work with studen's with LD's.

Laurel Elementary School 3

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
I'm surprised by the recent positive reviews. Although some teachers are fantastic, test scores are going down dramatically and consistently, and class size has increased significantly over the past two years. I'm basically home-schooling my children after school lets out every day. The recent downturn of this school is a tragedy for our neighborhood and for our children.

Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Laurel wasn't my first choice in schools, but it was the one GOD chose when I prayed about it. It thus far has been a great school for my child. The teachers she has had have gone the extra mile to ensure, with her LD, that she understands lessons. The Principal interacts with the students on the playground, in the classroom and responds to parent concerns quickly. The school also has a strong PTA, which enables us to still have extra curricluar programs being cut by most schools in the district.


Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Laurel Elementary is a very warm,friendly and learning environmental school. I'm glad my son attends Laurel Elementary. He is now entering in the First grade with a new teacher. Her name is Mrs. Leewright,but she goes by Mrs. L. I pray she has a good connections with my son.

Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
Very well disciplined students who do not use abusive words. Neat environment and great teachers including the after school program. Excellent place to send a child who needs Focus! The school involves parents in almost everything and I believe this is key to the success of our own children. Also, parents are well informed and updated on issues or changes made at the school or OUSD.

Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2013
- a parent
Laurel teachers have high expectations. I have two children attending and they are both thriving. The diversity of students reflects Oakland and is one of the reasons I really like the school. Another key factor is that parents get involved in how the school is run. The principal and staff care about all students learning and excelling.


Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2012
- a parent
Laurel is an AWESOME school! This is our second year being part of the Laurel family and we wouldn't want our child to attend any other school. The academics are challenging, the teachers are creative and engaging and the school leadership is alwaysdeveloping new opportunities to provide our students with more resources. We have a new library and computer lab, school crossing guards, music and computer class to mention a few of the invaluable resources available to our students and families. And if your child is a male students, you can't find a better experience for him because there is a large percentage of male teachers, in addition to our male principal. The student body is very diverse and the students enjoy getting to know each other and building friendships. The atmosphere at the school is very family oriented and we support our school with a tremendous amount of pride!

Laurel Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a community member
laurel is best school in oakland.my daughter came back from lauer the other day and said laurel is the best school in oakland.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laurel Elementary School
3750 Brown Avenue, Oakland, CA  94619
(510) 531-6868
Last modified Laurel Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Laurel Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top