Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
3/5 kindergarten classrooms are ESL, >80% are on free or reduced price lunches with 200 families receiving a bag of groceries per week, all kids receive a free breakfast and some get dinner. We're middle class and are wealthy in comparison. With these disadvantages, we have the highest math scores and fourth highest English in Oakland and up there with wealthy suburban schools. Our secrets? Expect a lot of homework from excellent teachers. STRONG family involvement with a strong work ethic. We have a newly expanded and renovated campus. The only negative is a largely homogenous population, a function of the 2 Cantonese to English ESL classrooms and the school being in the heart of Oakland's Chinatown. The English competent classrooms are more diverse. Our principal is new so I don't have much to add about her but the transition to the Common Core is going smoothly, which reflecrs well on her leadership.
1 person found this helpful

Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
This is an incredible public school. Great academics. This school can boast excellent hard working knowledgeable teachers and staff, supportive parents and community and in general a great well behaved student body. What a hidden gem we are lucky to have here in Oakland.


Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2011
- a parent
Lincoln Elementary is a model school where students, teachers, staff, and parents seem to work together well to achieve academic success. Our goal as a school is for the students to excel academically and socially. We value creativity, integrity, self-confidence, open mindedness, excellence, teamwork, open communication, and cultural pride. Lincoln Elementary has received the 2010 National Blue Ribbon Award and is recognized as a California Distinguished School. The test scores are above the statewide goal and continues to improve. Students are well-mannered and enjoy learning.

Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lincoln Elementary School 1

Posted March 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Lincoln Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 09, 2008
- a parent
The principal's action raised my concern. Power and control are her priority. Many children were kicked out of the school without a good reason. Most kids attend this school are new immigrant families, they do not know where to complaint and most of time just keep quiet, they don't want their child to be mistreat in school (just as in china). The principal able to disqualified a child to attend this school because the student went back to China to visited his ill grandma, before she past away, even advance notification had given. I have heard many many of these incidents. High expectation, and strict rules are fine, however, requiring the new immigrant to paid thousands of dollars for summer program otherwise, the child will be stay behind. Not many of the new immigrant can afford to pay for these program. I hope her priority not just on the school record.

Lincoln Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lincoln Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 20, 2006
- a staff
Lincoln Elementary School had gradually improved over the years with the very helpful after-school program, OASES (Oakland Asian Students Educational Services). After school, many of Lincoln's students enhance their social and academic skills through the influence of University of California - Berkeley students.


Lincoln Elementary School 3

Posted August 07, 2005
- a parent
very good music program that they provide for thier students.. It has chines orchestra program where kids learn how to play chinese instuments and sing chinese opera music. The teachers are great with the students. They have passion t teach kids. It is a place whre your kid will have fun and enjoy learning. The population is asian kids because it is located in China town. the have an excellent curriculum to provide our kids with the best quality education. the parent involvment is very low because a majority of them have a working scheduls. They have a nice playground, and have been around for a very long time. they have after school programs that are available for your kids. you don't ahve to worry if you can't pick up your child after school. they have someone watching them. they have a ping pong court and a basketball court. Its lovely

Lincoln Elementary School 4

Posted February 04, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lincoln Elementary School
225 11th Street, Oakland, CA  94607
(510) 874-3372
Last modified Lincoln Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lincoln Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top