Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
I absolutely love Horace Mann. There has been many of my family generations to promote from this school and get a education that is deserved. I love the Teachers. Ms. Manning, Ms. Haynes, and the Principles and vice principle Ms. Lim and Ms. Shennan

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2010
- a community member
Far out! Horace Mann students have met all No Child Left Behind requirements for all sub-groups for the last two years. And, 75% of the students are proficient or advanced in math! The sky's the limit with the great faculty and programs at Horace Mann.


Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2010
- a parent
I really like this school, there is good energy going on here. Children are learning, and parents are welcomed to be apart.

Horace Mann Elementary School 5

Posted December 21, 2008
- a community member
We are neighbors of the school and we volunteer to help take care of it. We have had the pleasure to work with the teachers and the Vice Principal Patty who volunteer on weekends to come to the school and do community activites with the school children and their families. They are very nice people and the kids love them. The grow their own 'salad bowl' vegetables in the kiindegarten area, so the kids have hands on expeirence with gardening and then eating the vegetables. It's a great school that just recently had a $6 million dollar upgrade so it looks great!

Horace Mann Elementary School 3

Posted December 02, 2007
- a teacher
I have been at Horace Mann for three years and I am proud to be a part of the Horace Mann group. Our school has changed greatly do to the help and hardwork of everyone in the neighborhood and the staff and faculty. We have increased our test scores because of the teacher's dedication to their students and because of the student's hardwork and effort. This year we have a great after school program where the students learn how to utilize computer systems and to use art as a way to express themselves. We are a school that is setting goals and achieving them one step at a time. And we will continue to work hard and acheive those goals. Horace Mann is the school to be at.


Horace Mann Elementary School 3

Posted March 05, 2007
- a parent
Horace Mann has really changed. After 10 years the modernization finally happened, and the school is transformed. The neighborhood really came together to help and it's' become a beautiful school with bright colors and lovely gardens. The new teachers (after NCLB restructuring in 2005/06) are young and energetic. Teachers still face the reality of having failing and/or troubled students transfered into their classrooms through the school year (neighborhood support would help stabilize school), but put 150% into teaching and students who do their work succeed. Lots of programs here to try to help failing students, and I've seen those with support from home really turn it around. The school could use a lot more parent involvement. Teachers do wonderful programs on diversity etc and there's a great new art teacher.

Horace Mann Elementary School 1

Posted August 02, 2006
- a parent
Terrible school that needs many improvements.

Horace Mann Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 06, 2006
- a parent
Good programs. kids enjoy going to this school very much. teachers that care about their students.


Horace Mann Elementary School 1

Posted June 05, 2006
- a teacher
This school needs serious improvement. The community is actively trying to help. We have planted trees and cleaned up, but there is a lot more that is required. Few of the neighborhood children actually attend. Those who do tend to have less resources.

Horace Mann Elementary School 1

Posted January 13, 2006
- a parent
Most of the good teachers left, the yard has buildings on it. Just a mess of a school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horace Mann Elementary School
5222 Ygnacio Avenue, Oakland, CA  94601-5422
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (510) 879-1360
Last modified Horace Mann Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top