Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakland Charter Academy

Charter | 6-8 | 136 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

I am an ex-teacher in this school, and I am writing this because I felt that many reviews below did not portrayed Amethod's view in a fair and accurate manner. Amethod s motto is honor hard work, and its philosophy centers on that. So, yes, there is a lot of homework, quizzes, and tests. Students are required to attend mandatory 3 weeks summer school, and they have homework to complete during breaks. If you do not put to put in the hard work, then Amethod is probably not the right school for you. However, please remember that many of our students come from low-income neighborhoods in Oakland, and many of them will be first generation college students. Now, how prepare do you want your child to be for colleges? Could a lack of resource be the sole excuse when it comes to applying to college or job? No, it wouldn t. Regardless of their background, they are required to demonstrate the same amount of professionalism and education as their peers. Amethod prepares them to be elites in the real world and that requires hard work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 13, 2014

i am a student of Oakland charter academy if you want your child to have a good future,well you better put them in this school,they might be tough and might leave you a lot of homework ,but that is how college is ,so its better getting used to it know,yeah they yell but only at the kids that behave bad or are interrupting the class for no reason all of you parents that did the bad rates and comments your kids were not strong enough to go to this school that is the only reason they have summer school so that they can see which students are strong enough to stay when i started 6th grade that was hard because they put more pressure to the ones that start,but know that i am in 7th grade it's not that hard because you get used to it and if you follow the rules and pay attention you wouldn't want to move because they treat you like family and for all those parents that put bad comment next time don't listen to your kids they are just kids,probably they were just to weak and sensitive next time don't judge a school if you don't know how the system is.


Posted October 8, 2013

Both of my children attend Oakland Charter Academy and love it. They work super hard and never complain because they are proud of their academic skills and willing to face a daily challenge. This school is safe, fun and teaches real life skills. Oakland Charter Academy demands a commitment from the whole family to academic excellence and the time and work that it requires. It is not a good choice for families who have lots of other activities or interests or families who are unwilling to put academic excellence first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Oakland Charter Academy- This is my daughter's last year at OCA. When she first started, the homework was a little overwhelming, but this IS a blue ribbon school afterall, lots of homework should be expected. She began with a 0.07 GPA, and now has 2.85 which is great considering how advanced their curriculum is. I have grown to love this school and will be enrolling my other children as well. They teach you the importance of hard work and discipline and the value of a good education. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

I go to Oakland Charter Academy Middle School, I must said their teaching was awesome , I will on eighth grade on 2013-2014. The only problem that I had is they won't let you have a casual day even is a last day of school. But the high school student are some days they could wear casualty not us the middle school student. I strongly advise to make both side to be more fairness and reward student with one casual day at least.


Posted January 13, 2013

i go to oakland charter academy middleschool myself and i must say i had problems with their unexpressive uniforms but my math great was extremely low and they brought it up i feel cared about and they push yuou to do your best the first day of school i was terrified but the kids were so inviting and it made me feel as if i were part of their little family of 150 students


Posted October 18, 2012

Oakland Charter Academy is the best school! It helps you a lot. The principal is tough but fair.


Posted July 11, 2012

this school is a very bad, I dont know if I can even called school. My kids are attending summer school, thank god it's almost over, and they dont like it, they have very bad teachers, oakland charter teachers have not respect for the student they treat student like military style, and excessive homework for 6th grade student , my kids have to stay doing home work till midnight sometimes that is not right, plus they make them carry too many books that in not good for their back either. Also it looks like the teacher are not able to control students if is not yelling, they even called students stupid, a lot bad thing looks like this school are out control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

This charter school is a scam. I am an ex-teacher from Oakland Charter Academy. They falsify grades, attendance records, and state tests to make themselves appear to be better. Furthermore, teachers are encouraged to demean, and militarize their classrooms. If you would like your child yelled at and treated like an animal all while being given reports that this is a stellar one of kind cleaned up school then send your kids here. You've been warned.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2012

i am a student from oca u do not want to put your kid in this school they cus at us and dont give us the advantages that they do to every kid in the school these are some examples why you dont want to put your son or daughter in this school:they cus at the students,they give us lot of homework and if u stay after school for tutoring they wont even let u put your books back after your done with a subject,they call u out of your name and make you do p.e. in the rain! they say all of your buisness out in front of the whole class llike what you get on your progress report and your report card YOU REALLY DONT WANNA PUT YOUR CHILD IN THIS IM TELLING YOU THE TRUTH AND THEY MAKE YOU SIT ON THE FLOOR AND IM ONLY IN THE SIXTH!!!!!!!!!


Posted August 30, 2011

This is not a school for parents that want to be involved with their children's education. Parents cannot contact teachers directly and the administrative staff do not have the experience or professionalism to respond to parents' concerns in a productive way. If your child needs more of a hands on approach, this is not the school for him/her. The school has a hard time with providing accomodations for children that need a little extra support as the staff are not equipped to do so for lack of experience and willingness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2011

Bad teachers with bad attitudes. This school doesn't care for the students' needs or interests. OCA only cares for high test scores and nothing else. The school has a bad administration, has unfair punishments and has and overall culturally offensive ambience.


Posted March 7, 2011

The school is tough and demands alot-but whats wrong with that? They state that from the get go, so I as a parent in the inner city love that about this school. My child is in the 7th grade. Perhaps the former teachser should be careful in her contact with children-. Yes, parents talk- be warned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

I was a teacher for this school and I have to say, behind the manipulated, high-pressured facade of high test scores that this school totes around as its only real positive, this school is truly terrible in terms when it comes to inspiring and guiding students. Basically, this school's main focus is to have a high CST (Star Testing) score and they'll do just about anything to the students to make this happen. Simple things like the student's development, confidence, leadership skills, collaborative skills, independence, own interests do not matter to this school. Also, I had witnessed the administration encourage using inappropriate language towards the students, having the students run with full backpacks on (at least 4 large textbooks), and using mind games on students to have them think that the CST is the only thing that matters. The practices of this school's administration is abominable and they should be extremely ashamed of themselves. Don't let CST scores fool you. This is not a healthy, well rounded school. Discipline and accountability is one thing, but outright corporal punishment and the manipulation of our youth is another.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 30, 2009

I was a teacher at OCA and was fired for not giving the kids HW. I was one of those teachers mentioned by another teacher, who was embarrased in front of my kids. The minority kids will do well here. But dont send any other kids cause you will hate the feel of the school. All they think about is academics and dicipline
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 16, 2009

I think that this school is great. The students get a decent amount of homework and their materials are really advanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

I was a teacher at OCA. The kids work hard at this school, and it's very academically focused. I really enjoyed my class. My kids scored very well on the CST. There are high expectations for the students at OCA- that's something I really appreciated about the school. However, I feel like it is also an oppressive environment on so many levels. I feel like the admin bully the kids and the teachers into doing what they (the admin) want. I witnessed at least 20 occassions where students and teachers were publically shamed. This school works for some kids. But creative, independent-minded students will not thrive here. Also, they are very against community and parent involvement. I had to go through the principal or his wife if I wanted to make a phone call home to a parent.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 18, 2008

i was a student here at oca and i loved it! great opportunities offered and the teachers were very hrlpfull
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

My daughter attends Oakland Charter Academey. I won't go into how I found out about the school but initially I was hesitant about sending my daughter to OCA because I didn't no anything about it and I worried about how she would progress academically in an inner-city school. I must tell you that it was the best decision I have ever made in terms of school selection. The staff and especially the principals (Mr. and Mrs. Lopez) are serious about educating the youth and they go to great lengths to ensure the children receive the best education possible. I feel as though my daughter is getting the kind of education many parents pay to receive. I cannot say enough about OCA, however I will say this in closing-If a structured grade A education, is what you desire for your child I would recommend you check out Oakland Charter Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I am a student at OCA and I have good grades. I love the teachers there and our team leaders Mr. and Mrs. Lopez . They always keep reminding us to keep our heads in the books and not in the clouds. Kids in our school are offered many acedemic opportunities. I love this school!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

913

Change from
2012 to 2013

+45

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

913

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+45

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females86%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate66%
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females84%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate68%
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females81%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate83%
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females84%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate87%
Parent education - high school graduate85%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students92%
Females89%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate95%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females89%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate83%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students84%
Females81%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner78%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate88%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students87%
Females89%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner72%
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate88%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 91% 51%
Asian 5% 11%
Black 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
White 1% 27%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sandra Reyes
Fax number
  • (510) 532-6753

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3001 International Boulevard
Oakland, CA 94601
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 532-6751

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ascend School
Oakland, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT