Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Oakland, CA
Students enrolled: 1,730
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oakland High School 1

Posted December 12, 2013
- a student
- lazy and irresponsible teacher / administratives - teachers/admin do not care - students are disrespectful. bullied others. - does not prepare students for college - students in leadership is based on 'popularity' and even people in leadership roles (for the school) bullies other students - major student population cheat. does not care about learning the materials.

Oakland High School 1

Posted May 23, 2013
- a student
I am an ex-student. I went here during my Junior year in high school and I will never ever go back to that school or if I ever have children, send them there. For one, the students are HORRIBLE and the administrators never really do anything. The teachers don't really care if you come to class or not only a certain handful actually care about their students, we can easily go on and off campus to smoke or do whatever and the school is constantly on "lock-down" glad I left when I had the chance.


Oakland High School 4

Posted January 21, 2013
- a parent
Oakland High School inhibits a positive environment for a diverse array of students. Students are respectful of each other no matter ethnic background, or personal beliefs. The school facilitates many different clubs, sports and support that is essential for such young adults at a critical time in their lives. The school is a result of the supportive community near and around Oakland High School.

Oakland High School 1

Posted November 07, 2012
- a parent
If you've ever driven by Oakland High, you can tell right off the bat that it's a terrible school. All the houses are graffitied on and all the students look like they've been in jail before. As I was driving by, I noticed a mural at the front saying "Beautiful Struggle". The students most likely painted that mural, and they can't even have good grammar? And the students..... Well, they look like crazy teenagers who don't care about education. I saw a guy with a whole bunch of tattoos dancing with his shirt off and a whole bunch of people cheering around him, a guy with an orange mohawk smoking and drinking, a group of people with saggy pants walking to the corner store, and a girl with a slashed top and tons of piercings kissing a boy passionately. The teenagers are really bad influences. Never in a million years will I go there again.

Oakland High School 4

Posted June 20, 2011
- a student
I am a current student at Oakland High school, and im am about to be a senior there. Oakland High is what you make it. You can make Oakland High bad by not going to class and not caring about your education and just try to blame it on the name "Oakland" on the other hand I find it hard and challenging. It is your responsiblity to make sure that you recieve the courses you need and it is your job to makie sure you are recieving the education you need. because I know the teachers there are not great but if you become invoilved in the school and get to know people and join academies like VAMMP, AVID, and ESA where all 3 will make sure you get what you need to be successful in life but if you just say right of the bat that Oakland high isnt a good school your wrong you just didnt try hard enough!!!!!


Oakland High School 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oakland High School 0
no rating

Posted July 17, 2009
- a parent
my son went to Oakland High and the education was horrible. We transferred him to Skyline High and the academics was much more challenging. I would not recommend Oakland High.

Oakland High School 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Oakland High School 1

Posted March 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Oakland High School 5

Posted October 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakland High School
1023 Macarthur Boulevard, Oakland, CA  94610
(510) 874-3676
Last modified Oakland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oakland High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top