Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Peralta Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Homework is usually assigned over several days so it's not too much. In early grades it seems like the purpose is to get them used to the idea of homework.

Peralta Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Kids are encouraged and supported to be honest, kind, and fair. Specific instruction is given as well as unofficial support in conflict resolution. The feeling on campus is that everyone knows each other and are friendly.


Peralta Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Peralta's teachers are fabulous! Our first grade teacher handles a large classroom with grace and kindness. He's always got the kids engaged and he has high expectations of all of his kids.

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
The teachers here are all very well-trained, and do a great job of making lessons with interesting subjects that the kids love. Being on the playground (which many parents do frequently) you can really see that the kids are respectful and know each other well. This school has a strong connection with the neighborhood.
2 people found this helpful

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing arts integration school with an excellent community of parents, teachers, and students.
1 person found this helpful


Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2013
- a parent
We feel extremely lucky to be able to participate in this community driven school. The staff is amazing and every kid gets the focus they really need.
2 people found this helpful

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
A great arts focus, dedicated parent community and a lovely campus. Kids here have a very strong community and show a level of kindness for each other that is truly touching.
1 person found this helpful

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2012
- a parent
I agree the post below is odd. The principal has also contacted me for small matters, in a very caring manner.


Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2012
- a parent
The post about the principal seems odd. The leadership at this school is very solid and the teachers are very involved, caring, and regularly communicate with parents about their child's progress. We are new to the school, with two children attending, and have been very pleasantly surprised with how strong the community is and how dedicated the teachers are. The curriculum not only emphasizes strong academics, but also art, music, Spanish, and social-emotional learning. Great school!!!

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2012
- a parent
I find the below post curious. It mentions "current" principal which seems to infer that this is not the same principal that has been in place for probably the last 8-10 years. I also find it curious as I have been informed of the most mundane occurrences (student pushed my child, or hit with a jacket - in neither case was my child hurt). The principal is unique and is not going to bow down and cater to every whim - and if she said that she did not want to be held "liable" it seems like perhaps there is more to it - and being in a litigious society perhaps it does not fall into "her job as principal" and there are others better equipped to handle the situation.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peralta Elementary School
460 63rd Street, Oakland, CA  94609
(510) 654-7365
Last modified Peralta Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Peralta Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. Top