Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Oakland, CA
Students enrolled: 298
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


85 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
The teachers here are all very well-trained, and do a great job of making lessons with interesting subjects that the kids love. Being on the playground (which many parents do frequently) you can really see that the kids are respectful and know each other well. This school has a strong connection with the neighborhood.
2 people found this helpful

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing arts integration school with an excellent community of parents, teachers, and students.
1 person found this helpful


Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2013
- a parent
We feel extremely lucky to be able to participate in this community driven school. The staff is amazing and every kid gets the focus they really need.
2 people found this helpful

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
A great arts focus, dedicated parent community and a lovely campus. Kids here have a very strong community and show a level of kindness for each other that is truly touching.
1 person found this helpful

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2012
- a parent
I agree the post below is odd. The principal has also contacted me for small matters, in a very caring manner.


Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2012
- a parent
The post about the principal seems odd. The leadership at this school is very solid and the teachers are very involved, caring, and regularly communicate with parents about their child's progress. We are new to the school, with two children attending, and have been very pleasantly surprised with how strong the community is and how dedicated the teachers are. The curriculum not only emphasizes strong academics, but also art, music, Spanish, and social-emotional learning. Great school!!!

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2012
- a parent
I find the below post curious. It mentions "current" principal which seems to infer that this is not the same principal that has been in place for probably the last 8-10 years. I also find it curious as I have been informed of the most mundane occurrences (student pushed my child, or hit with a jacket - in neither case was my child hurt). The principal is unique and is not going to bow down and cater to every whim - and if she said that she did not want to be held "liable" it seems like perhaps there is more to it - and being in a litigious society perhaps it does not fall into "her job as principal" and there are others better equipped to handle the situation.
1 person found this helpful

Peralta Elementary School 1

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
Good teachers but current principal is awful. Principal did not do anything to inform me of a horrible incident that occured to my nephew in school nor help resolve it. She was too busy; couldn't help and "didn't want to be held liable or responsible" for explaining it to me, ie doing her job as a principal. This is a good school if you NEVER need to interact with the principal or depend on her "professional" experience.


Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
Don't judge this school by test scores, or stars, or any comments- (especially anonymous). Go to the school and (with permission) observe the interaction at pickup time, between students, parents, teachers. This place is like Cheers-everybody knows everyone's name, but they get together to learn (not drink). Kids here develop a fondness for learning and a respect for others in their class. It's a cooperative environment. Everyone who is there is very glad to be there. -- ask around. -lh
2 people found this helpful

Peralta Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2010
- a parent
My son is a first grader at Peralta Elementary. The school is great and the teachers are very committed to their students. Parental involvement is high but not stifling. Trolls who write reviews based on a tour and then tout the benefits of private education should find other ways to occupy their time.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peralta Elementary School
460 63rd Street, Oakland, CA  94609
(510) 654-7365
Last modified Peralta Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Peralta Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. Top