Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Redwood Heights Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school years ago. I was there about 1984-87. I had teachers like Mrs. Wehner, Mrs. Toland and a life inspiring music teacher named Mrs. Goldberg who carved out lines in my musical preferences to include no boundaries. It was an amazing school with teachers I adored. I met friends there' such as Celia Clark and learned to play the violin under Mr. Fords induction. It is something thati will never forget even now thati am almost 40 years oldi find myself thinking back to my beloved teachers. .the kick ball I played with Joel and Aaron during recess. It is something I would love to have my 10 year old experience. We now live in Indianapolis and he goes to a wonderful school with equally wonderful teachers. But I will always remember the carnival and the walk a thon and the plays we put on... the musical performances where I arrived to get the lead singing role and Shelley got the part and sang "if I had a hammer" while sitting on the edge of the stage. ... Life changing memories. Thank you redwood heights. Iwona Kiebasinski

Redwood Heights Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2013
- a community member
I attended Redwood Heights Elementary, 1965-1971. My family moved out of Oakland in November 1971 when I was in the 6th grade. I was sorry to leave the school but I have many fond memories of the teachers and friends made there. I especially remember Mrs. Mickelson in Kindergarten and Mrs. Wallen in 1st and 2nd grade. Time well spent!


Redwood Heights Elementary School 3

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
RHS worked out for my now middle schooler. In retrospect there could have been more challenges academically. (This said after moving to private schools.) But it worked out. My experience with the second child was less than ideal. Challenges in administration, coupled with mutliple teachers during one grade and many families moving on and out of Oakalnd, has hit this school hard.

Redwood Heights Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2011
- a community member
I graduated from RHS and my brothers still go there. I went to 3 other elementary schools before I got to RHS and I loved it. We had awesome teachers, great students, fun lessons and plans, a beautiful library, and a wonderful campus in general. I am very proud to be a Redwood Heights Alumni. Go RHS!

Redwood Heights Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
Love this school! Great teachers and community, it's how we make it work!


Redwood Heights Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
very involved pta, great teachers and community

Redwood Heights Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers! Committed parent group. Wonderful kids.

Redwood Heights Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
We love this school! Great community of friendly, committed people!


Redwood Heights Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
This school has a great staff each of whom really focusses on what is best for the students.

Redwood Heights Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
Lots of parent involvement with a strong PTA. Responsive, dedicated teachers and principal. A bright, clean, and stimulating campus. An excellent art program with a dynamic art teacher who is constantly beautifying the school with the children s art projects. My 2nd grade daughter loves Redwood Heights Elementary school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Redwood Heights Elementary School
4401 39th Avenue, Oakland, CA  94619
(510) 531-6644
Last modified Redwood Heights Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Redwood Heights Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top