Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Community School For Creative Education 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a community member
My son has been attending this school for two years now and loves it! He's very high energy and receives a lot of stimulation and support from his teachers and the school staff. I love that the classes are small. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who wants for their child to excel academically and become a well rounded individual.

Community School For Creative Education 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
Be very careful about enrolling your child in this school, especially if you have a child with special needs! We have been at the school for 2 yrs. now and overall have had a negative experience. My son's 4th grade classroom teacher quit after 3 wks. of the fall 2014 semester, and they had approximately 8-10 sub teachers within a 3 month period! The current teacher, Ms. Holmes, is a 1st year teacher, extremely ill-prepared and is terrible at communication with families. She doesn't return emails, will not offer support in questions regarding how to teach the Common Core math, (I'm not even sure what they are learning week by week...) and does not give out weekly newsletters, so parents virtually have no idea of what our children are even learning in the classroom. My son has essentially lost out on a whole year of schooling due to the school's high turnover rate of teachers and lack of continuity. I will say however, the mental health team and the Resource Specialist are great; the therapists have really tried to support my son and his abilities. Aside from this, I sadly have nothing to say positive about this school. We will not be returning.


Community School For Creative Education 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
CSCE has been a great educational and culturally diverse experience for our family. The school environment pulls from several teaching philosophies to create a unique experience for students and families. Each year the school progresses forward, serving the students more thoroughly as the school grows.

Community School For Creative Education 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
All three of my children have been in CSCE for two years now (Kindergarten, 3d, and 5th grade). We were in a private school previously and chose this school for its amazing concept, wonderful staff, and commitment to diversity. I've always been interested in Waldorf education, but the full-on Waldorf experience was not what I wanted for my children (nor would it have been affordable for us). CSCE is an amazing, pioneering project that is bringing the best of Waldorf education to a diverse, urban population while also providing kids with an education in keeping with California standards. The environment is creative, supportive, and stimulating; my children are learning, and perhaps equally important, are enjoying themselves and come home regularly talking about the exciting things they did in everything from math to handwork (knitting etc.) I can't recommend the school highly enough, and I encourage you to meet as many of the incredibly talented teachers and staff as you can. And feel free to ask to be put in touch with parents as well! My children are also in the afterschool program, and we are quite satisfied.

Community School For Creative Education 5

Posted February 15, 2014
- a community member
As a grand-parent of three students and an educator, I observe that CSCE is proactive in meeting the developmental needs of young children while negotiating the changing landscape of public education standards and testing, bringing both the arts and an artistic approach to delivery of core academic curriculum. The school is actively building a community that celebrates its urban diversity while nurturing each individual's human potential. CSCE's teachers embrace the challenge of bringing the educational philosophy of Waldorf (Rudolf Steiner) education to the rigors of preparing children for academic opportunities beyond elementary education. Where other schools have cut back the arts, movement, creativity and community initiative, CSCE endeavors to embed these enriching aspects of the human social fabric into the daily life of the students. This young school has surpassed all expectations in seeking community and institutional support and involvement while establishing itself in the heart of Oakland. As it grows to full K-8 capacity, this support, along with that of committed and active parents will assure the success of its mission.


Community School For Creative Education 2

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately, our experience was not as steller as the others. I don't know if the support staff (afterschool and teacher's aides) are going through a transition, but I found they and the the general culture of the school to be quite punitive. Too much yelling at children and not enough positive discriplie. It is supposed to be a Waldorf inspired school, but it is hard for an average parent to see that. Dr. Oberman is fantastic and so are many of the teachers, but the neighborhood and the negative culture in the school is challenging. We made it 9 weeks before we switched to a more traditional school. This one just didn't work for us. Do as much research as possible and make sure you visit more than Ms. Paredes-Brown and Ms. Hill's classes. Also, check out the afterschool program. It need a lot of work.

Community School For Creative Education 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
This school is a great fit for my family! My child is in first grade. We love the diversity and the attention to each child. We find the staff to be exceptional. Principal is very intelligent and kind. Parents are always welcome. My son has a wonderful gardening class, and a special science class. The first week he came home very excited about liquids changing to gasses. my child is getting a fantastic education. I think there are very strong academics while also being nurturing and progressive.

Community School For Creative Education 5

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
My son has been in Transitional Kindergarten at CSCE for two weeks now and I want to share with you how awesome it is for his first real school (not preschool) experience to be at this school with all of its wonderful staff. Everyone is very warm and caring and I feel like it is an environment that my son will truly thrive in. He asks if he can go to school on Sundays and when he came down with a stomach bug and had to miss two days he told me many times " I wish I wasn't sick, I miss Ms. Brown". They do so many awesome thing at CSCE to truly treat the children as the capable beings that they are. If not for CSCE I would likely have to spend thousands a year on private school to get an equivalent experience for my son. Thank you CSCE I am truly grateful.

Nearby schools

Community School For Creative Education
2111 International Boulevard, Oakland, CA  94606
(510) 686-4131
Last modified Community School For Creative Education is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top