Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Oakland, CA
Students enrolled: 1,793
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 60 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

48 reviews of this school


Skyline High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 28, 2015
- a teacher
The are some of the best around, but many teachers do not stay longer then 5 years.

Skyline High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 28, 2015
- a teacher
I believe that the amount of work given at Skyline is low compared to most other high schools. If one expects a student to go home daily and spend hours on homework, most will not receive that experience at Skyline. That being said, my personal philosophies do not agree with much homework, so I agree with the workload for the most part.


Skyline High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a teacher
The restorative justice model at the school puts an end to a lot of the conflict at the school as well as cutting down suspensions significantly.

Skyline High School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a teacher
I have been a member of the Skyline High School staff since 2009 and loosely involved since 2005 and it has been a fantastic experience. Nothing at the school is perfect but for the most part the community of staff / students / etc is quite strong. Given the choice to leave for a better job, my choice is to stay at Skyline.

Skyline High School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a community member
My son has special needs. He is getting the assistance and accommodations he requires. He is maintaining a 3.5 GPA and participates on the cross country and swim teams. He is thriving at Skyline HS. Also, the principal, Vinh Trinh, has a great vision for the school and has been working to achieve that vision over the past 3 years. We are neck and neck with Oakland Tech in terms of curriculum and academy's.


Skyline High School 5

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Trinh, the principal, is one of the most dedicated professionals I have ever seen in action. He cares about everything at Skyline, spends time with students and is constantly working to improve Skyline. Times are tough with budget issues, but he manages to make it work for us. He is able to support a lot of AP courses with the help of excellent faculty, many with MA's and PhDs, He's a Harvard graduate, and he seems to work non-stop. I only wish we could support him more and I hope he never leaves.

Skyline High School 5

Posted February 24, 2015
- a student
The teachers here are very passionate and only want the best for their students. This school offers three academies : Green Energy, Computer, and Education. Along with those, Skyline also offers pathways. As a student of the Green Academy, I can truly say that I have enjoyed every single part of being a Green Academy student at Skyline High School. I can also say that Skyline has the best performing arts program in OUSD. Dawn James is simply an amazing teacher and always puts on an amazing show for the winter and spring recital. In addition, Skyline also offers many extra curricular activities for students such as volleyball, basketball, ROTC, golf, lacrosse, swim, art, creative writing, and many more. Overall, the teachers and staff provide a safe and welcoming environment for learning and only wish for your child to excel and reach their full potentials.

Skyline High School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a student
green academy during sophomore year is nice. the three teachers really try to teach their students.


Skyline High School 3

Posted August 22, 2013
- a student
Skyline is pretty much like any other high schools in Oakland. Many students don't take advantage of the education given to them. There are some great teachers who loves their jobs and cares about the students, but our school just don't have enough money. I really like the location of Skyline compared to other high schools in Oakland.

Skyline High School 3

Posted July 29, 2013
- a community member
This is from student to student, in high school you'll get out what you put in. Skyline is no different. At skyline there are many kid who does not care for their education and will bring you down if you let them. However by no means should you avoid these kids, for there is very little bullying at Skyline. You should befriend them while keeping a distance so you are not influence by them negatively. There are many great teachers on campus that love their job and they're are a few bad ones. If you get in to a bad teacher's class do all you can to transfer its your life take action. One piece of advice, ask around of he/she is a good teacher students don't lie.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Skyline High School
12250 Skyline Boulevard, Oakland, CA  94619
(510) 482-7109
Last modified Skyline High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Skyline High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. Top