Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Oakland, CA
Students enrolled: 1,793
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 57 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


61 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Skyline High School 5

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Trinh, the principal, is one of the most dedicated professionals I have ever seen in action. He cares about everything at Skyline, spends time with students and is constantly working to improve Skyline. Times are tough with budget issues, but he manages to make it work for us. He is able to support a lot of AP courses with the help of excellent faculty, many with MA's and PhDs, He's a Harvard graduate, and he seems to work non-stop. I only wish we could support him more and I hope he never leaves.

Skyline High School 5

Posted February 24, 2015
- a student
The teachers here are very passionate and only want the best for their students. This school offers three academies : Green Energy, Computer, and Education. Along with those, Skyline also offers pathways. As a student of the Green Academy, I can truly say that I have enjoyed every single part of being a Green Academy student at Skyline High School. I can also say that Skyline has the best performing arts program in OUSD. Dawn James is simply an amazing teacher and always puts on an amazing show for the winter and spring recital. In addition, Skyline also offers many extra curricular activities for students such as volleyball, basketball, ROTC, golf, lacrosse, swim, art, creative writing, and many more. Overall, the teachers and staff provide a safe and welcoming environment for learning and only wish for your child to excel and reach their full potentials.


Skyline High School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a student
green academy during sophomore year is nice. the three teachers really try to teach their students.

Skyline High School 3

Posted August 22, 2013
- a student
Skyline is pretty much like any other high schools in Oakland. Many students don't take advantage of the education given to them. There are some great teachers who loves their jobs and cares about the students, but our school just don't have enough money. I really like the location of Skyline compared to other high schools in Oakland.

Skyline High School 3

Posted July 29, 2013
- a community member
This is from student to student, in high school you'll get out what you put in. Skyline is no different. At skyline there are many kid who does not care for their education and will bring you down if you let them. However by no means should you avoid these kids, for there is very little bullying at Skyline. You should befriend them while keeping a distance so you are not influence by them negatively. There are many great teachers on campus that love their job and they're are a few bad ones. If you get in to a bad teacher's class do all you can to transfer its your life take action. One piece of advice, ask around of he/she is a good teacher students don't lie.


Skyline High School 3

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
clean beautiful some great teachers like Mr fry , Coach Salazar and Miss Lesnik Miss Arkin is always seen out working with students need some teachers who still care and want to help these kids safe school

Skyline High School 2

Posted August 12, 2012
- a teacher
The reason I give only two stars is because there is a lack of expectation at Skyline. The amount of homework for classes other than AP is minimal. Some of teachers are truly horrendous yet the school has done nothing about them. There are also some very good teachers though. An A is awarded for having done the work, not for having done an excellent job. Some of the classes I have observed are taught at the level of a 7th grade. It does a diservice to those students who expect to get a high school education and to be prepared for college. The teachers need to have a cohesive discipline policy and enforce it. I could never recommend that a parent send their kid to Skyline, not if there is another option.

Skyline High School 5

Posted July 03, 2011
- a parent
Hi my name is Mark Bulnes I am a SKYLINE alumni I thought SKYLINE was a very good school. I thought the teachers were vary professional and the teachers did not baby you. When I tell people I graduated from SKYLINE HIGH I say it vary much pride. MARK BULNES CLASS of 1980


Skyline High School 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a student
Skyline high is a really wonderful place. I went there for three years, I moved which explains why I'm not there. Skyline is really nice, there are so many nice people and teachers. It has an overall good vibe to the campus. The forest-like environment is somewhat peaceful and calming. The teachers there range from being lazy to incredibly helpful. One teacher I had for French, Madame Dubois, really cared about us. She tried to push you to do your work. There are also many clubs and programs you can join. They even have a French student exchange program where you and your family can host a French student for a week. There are also many sports there and the Performing Arts department is wonderful as well. All in all, it's a really great school, way better that any other Oakland public high school.

Skyline High School 2

Posted August 17, 2010
- a student
This school is horrible. I attended this school for four years. The teachers are not as helpful as they should be. It seems like most teachers are there to just get their paycheck at the end of the week. The counselors are even worse. They never give you the right classes you need, so you have to go wait in a very, very long line or wait very, very long for the counselor to see you. These school counselors do not even counsel students. Also the security staff are ridiculously horrible. It is so easy to cut class at Skyline High. The security Staff are too friendly with the students, therefore they let students so whatever they please, unless they know they are being watched by their superiors.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Skyline High School
12250 Skyline Boulevard, Oakland, CA  94619
(510) 482-7109
Last modified Skyline High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Skyline High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. Top