Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
60 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Skyline High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Dr. Mason, Math. This dedicated teacher made calculus clear to my students. She tutored my daughter so she could go directly to the next level of math, and devotes every lunch hour to helping students who do not understand their level of math.

Skyline High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
My children had a good experience at this school with many well-qualified, dedicated teachers. They were able to get the help they needed, and teachers spent time with them to answer questions.


Skyline High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 28, 2015
- a teacher
The are some of the best around, but many teachers do not stay longer then 5 years.

Skyline High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 28, 2015
- a teacher
I believe that the amount of work given at Skyline is low compared to most other high schools. If one expects a student to go home daily and spend hours on homework, most will not receive that experience at Skyline. That being said, my personal philosophies do not agree with much homework, so I agree with the workload for the most part.

Skyline High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a teacher
The restorative justice model at the school puts an end to a lot of the conflict at the school as well as cutting down suspensions significantly.


Skyline High School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a teacher
I have been a member of the Skyline High School staff since 2009 and loosely involved since 2005 and it has been a fantastic experience. Nothing at the school is perfect but for the most part the community of staff / students / etc is quite strong. Given the choice to leave for a better job, my choice is to stay at Skyline.

Skyline High School 5

Posted May 26, 2015
- a community member
My son has special needs. He is getting the assistance and accommodations he requires. He is maintaining a 3.5 GPA and participates on the cross country and swim teams. He is thriving at Skyline HS. Also, the principal, Vinh Trinh, has a great vision for the school and has been working to achieve that vision over the past 3 years. We are neck and neck with Oakland Tech in terms of curriculum and academy's.

Skyline High School 5

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Trinh, the principal, is one of the most dedicated professionals I have ever seen in action. He cares about everything at Skyline, spends time with students and is constantly working to improve Skyline. Times are tough with budget issues, but he manages to make it work for us. He is able to support a lot of AP courses with the help of excellent faculty, many with MA's and PhDs, He's a Harvard graduate, and he seems to work non-stop. I only wish we could support him more and I hope he never leaves.


Skyline High School 5

Posted February 24, 2015
- a student
The teachers here are very passionate and only want the best for their students. This school offers three academies : Green Energy, Computer, and Education. Along with those, Skyline also offers pathways. As a student of the Green Academy, I can truly say that I have enjoyed every single part of being a Green Academy student at Skyline High School. I can also say that Skyline has the best performing arts program in OUSD. Dawn James is simply an amazing teacher and always puts on an amazing show for the winter and spring recital. In addition, Skyline also offers many extra curricular activities for students such as volleyball, basketball, ROTC, golf, lacrosse, swim, art, creative writing, and many more. Overall, the teachers and staff provide a safe and welcoming environment for learning and only wish for your child to excel and reach their full potentials.

Skyline High School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a student
green academy during sophomore year is nice. the three teachers really try to teach their students.

Nearby schools

Skyline High School
12250 Skyline Boulevard, Oakland, CA  94619-2425
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 72 reviews. (510) 482-7109
Last modified Skyline High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top