Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


Emery Secondary School 4

Posted May 17, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Emery Secondary School 1

Posted March 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Emery Secondary School 2

Posted January 22, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Emery Secondary School 4

Posted October 04, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Emery Secondary School 3

Posted July 05, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Emery Secondary School 3

Posted January 11, 2007
- a parent
In the beginning, I felt that this school had a lot of promise and there was a great sense of commitment from the teachers and community to work with the kids. But after the fist year at the Secondary school, I noticed a lot of problems with some of the teachers in their class management and academics that really hampered the student's learning. Tardiness was rampant, however, recent school wide disciplinary steps reduced this problem. Yet, many of the good teachers left after 2005 leaving the academic programs in question. There is still some good science, history and math teachers. The Parent Family Organization is gaining more parent involvement but political power plays by some parents are effecting the over all goal of the group. With a new principal in 2006 and new teaching staff only time will tell if this small school really has the potential to exceed.

Emery Secondary School 4

Posted July 24, 2006
- a parent
My son has attended school in the Emeryville School District since he was in the 3rd grade. He's going into the 8th grade fall 06'. I like Emery Secondary academically. I do not like the behaviors of a lot of the students at the school, but i think it's still better than the schools here in West Oakland.

Emery Secondary School 3

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
Emery is a small school, but it seems to have fairly good academic programs. they have music and art and some sports. They don't have allot of extracurricular activities and it's difficult to contact school officials or get feedback from teachers. I'm am not sure whether or not they have a PTA.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

915 54th Street
Oakland, CA 94608

(510) 601-4963

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Emery Secondary School
915 54th Street, Oakland, CA  94608
(510) 601-4963
Last modified Emery Secondary School is a public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Emery Secondary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews.