Advertisement

St. Jarlath School

Private | K-8 | 120 students

We are rooted in prayer, community, discipleship, and academic excellence.

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $321,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2014

Mr. Avila 4th grade Teacher in Saint Jarlath School is the best techer this School can have my son improved his reading
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

This year was my daughters first year at St Jarlath. She previously went to St Lawrence OToole from K-4. It was the hardest decision of my life to change the school she was going to not due to her growth academically but socially. I made the best choice when I enrolled her into St Jarlath! She fit right in with the lovely and caring students. They embraced her and made her feel more comfortable than the school that she was going to for 5 years. It really made a difference in my child to fit in. I thank Mr Pierre Antoine who is doing an excellent job with the school. Mr Pierre Antoine and his staff are the most dedicated people I know. They really go above and beyond for our children that spend the precious time that we are away from them. The school is growing everyday and I would recommend St Jarlath to everyone that is looking for a faith filled, academic loaded, dedicated school community like St Jarlath. Thank you so much for everything you have done for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

I just graduated from St. Jarlath this year in the class of 2011. My experience here was amazing. I've been here since Kindergarden through the 8th grade. The teachers really do care about you and since the class sizes are smaller they really focus on the well being of each student. The English program for the seventh and eight grade is really good and I made it into Honors English in high school. Everyone is friendly here and really cares about you.


Posted December 18, 2010

Both of my kids went to school here K-8, and while the school offered a great sense of community, it failed miserably in preparing my children for high school. I currently have a daughter in 19th grade and the other is a freshman in college. Both are behind their peers in math. This was an issue I became aware of while my oldest was taking entrance exams for high school. She did well in all subjects, with the exception of math which surprised me because she always got A's in math on her report cards. When I spoke to the principal, she admitted they were aware of the fact St. Jarlath kids were not at the same level in math as other kids, but they didn't want to "push" them. Sadly, I feel the 18 years of education that we paid for our kids was money wasted. If I had it to do all over again, I would send my kids to St. Lawrence O'Toole (near High Street and MacArthur in Oakland). My older daughter had friends in high school who attended SLOT K-8. All of them were well-prepared for the high school entrance exams, and for high school math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

its the best school icould have offered to my kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

Talented and dedicated teachers and staff. Limited class sizes is beneficial to my student and others.The teaches really do go that extra mile for all families. We love it and have been there for 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 32%
Black 30%
Asian 27%
Two or more races 7%
White 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Tagalog
Spanish
Russian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Rodney Pierre-Antoine
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (510) 532-1001

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations

21st Century Community Learning Center (after school program)

Types of activities
  • Academic
  • Arts
  • Athletic
  • Life skills
Operated by
  • Aysha Douglass
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 3:00 pm
End time
  • 6:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • K-8
Is there a fee for the program?
  • No

21st Century Community Learning Center (summer program)

Types of activities
  • Academic
  • Arts
  • Athletic
  • Life skills
  • Science nature
Operated by
  • Aysha Douglass
Dates offered
  • July 7, 2014 - August 1, 2014
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 10:00 am
End time
  • 3:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • K-8
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • Yes
How can parents find out more about fees?
  • Call
Before / after care
  • After
  • Before
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
28
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
42

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Joseph Notre Dame High School
St. Elizabeth High School
Bishop O'Dowd High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2634 Pleasant Street
Oakland, CA 94602
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 532-4387

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Redwood Day School
Oakland, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT