Advertisement

St. Martin De Porres School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $330,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2014

Pros: Super cheap after school program, basically free lunch, location, tuition is now Cons: No tenured teachers, teacher turnover mid-year, lacks diversity, excessive bullying, poor academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

SMDP is a great school. It provides a good education in a very over-looked area of Oakland. It may not have all the bells and whistles that some parents may be looking for but what it does supply is a decent education in a loving environment. It is not for every child or parent. For the disgruntled parents posting on here, perhaps you should try to be part of the solution instead of the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

Saint Martin de Porres is a a great community school with a top academic program. It is also one of the most affordable Catholic schools in Oakland. But the best way to determine if it is a good fit for your children is to see for yourself. Call us anytime for a tour or to meet with the Principal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2014

The school was not great last year for my K student and it has declined. There is low moral amongst parents and students are not engaged. The school is drab and there is no community or fundraisers. We are leaving as soon as we can secure another school. Administration is ineffective with supporting the needs of parents and working holistically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

My child attends this school and I must say that it has declined significantly since we first arrived in 2011. I love the school itself and education provided for my child from a teacher standpoint but am concerned with teacher retention and whhat this means for my child's educational future (7 teachers have resigned in one year's time with 4 of these as mid-year resignations). There are also some issues administratively with communication, site security, how all of the elements of the school interact cohesively and marginalization of parents. I think this school would be great if it was more community oriented, family participation was encouraged and the administration worked on some of the issues mentioned above. I have faith in the school and think parochial schools are fabulous for children if administered correctly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

This incredible school is a jewel in the heart of Oakland. The principal, Ms. Mitchell, is the heart and soul of the the school. She spends every waking moment helping the teachers and students be the best they can be. The children cannot help but blossom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

My daughter attends this school and we love it. It is a small school with great teachers and staff. They are very caring and attentive and the also have an excellent after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Great Academic program, and support services for chldren, and their families. Works closely with local groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The school is a very concerned school. They want to help the children and they definetely work with the Parents. The principal of the school interacts with all of the children. He is super. They have a wonderful program that feeds the children breakfast and lunch. Very nutricious. The breakfast is the most important meal of the day. They have an after school program for the kids that includes tutoring help. My grandson has a teacher that is so dedicated. She stays after school to help the students with their homework and anything else they need help with. I give St. Martin's 5 stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

St Martin de Porres is a school with a caring staff. They go many extra miles to try and help parents and students. The academic expectations are high in accordance with the Diocese and California State Standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

St. Martin de Porres School is a loving and nuturing environment. The principal is an awesome advocate for the students and the community. The best thing about the elementary school is a teacher name Ms. Pam. She challenges the students and has a good understanding of how to teach the children to value education. The greatest thing about the middle school is a wonderful lady name Sister Teresa, she is simply lovely! However, I would like to challenge the administration at the middle school to obtain additional activities for the students, because the current activities are very minimal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

This School has been the best i was a person that though i could no afford a good education for my children but i called everyone was very nice and sister Barbara was very good on giving financial aid. I highly recommend it to everyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This is a school full of spirit which is concerned with the whole child. It is a school fully inserted in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

There are skilled teachers at St. Martin de Porres, particularly the third grade teacher, Mrs. Pam who is a highly educated and structured teacher. She challenges and has high expectation for each student . She took the time to go above and beyond the call of duty. My daughter has come full circle with the extra love and support from Mrs. Pam. Mrs. Pam gave my daughter extra help 3 days a week. She help build her self esteem and Mrs. Pam will never be forgotten she is one of those teachers who has impacted her life forever. Third grade has truely changed my daughter's life. Thank you so much Mrs. Pam 3rd grade teacher 09.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

St Martin de Porres has been a positive experience for my son, and he has benefitted from the dedicated staff and small class sizes. Honestly this school suffers from many of the same obstacles as most of our public and charter schools in Oakland and they deal with it the best they can. I also appreciate the faith/ religious support and background the students receive. ( I alsr agree that SMDP is lucky to have 3rd grade teacher Ms. Pam)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2007

St. Martin de Porres School is awesome! My children love this small Catholic School. The teachers and staff treat each student according to his/her needs. The faith centered spirit nourishes the spirit while the mind is being nourished. The children learn something called Discipline with Purpose which helps them self discipline. My five year old can tell me he needs to focus listen! Wow! I highfly recommend this school to anyone in Oakland that wants a holistic education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

St. Martin de Porres School is a loving and nuturing environment where students are encouraged to be the best they can be. My children just love going to this outstanding school. It is really a gift from God for the children in city of Oakland. Maybe that is why their classes, though small, are full and the teachers are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

Excellent small school where teachers really care.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2007

I felt that the teachers were not supported as much as they should be. I know recruitment is important, however caring for the children that are enrolled should be a priority!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

I went to Saint Martin De Porres from 2003 to 2006 and it was honestly the best 3 years of my life. Its a very close-knit school, people are very friendly and the staff is great! I love that school. At the middle school, there was only 70 students in the entire school when I went there. It was a very good thing because we were all close, everyone knew everyone. I love this school and wouldn't change anything about it. I especially love middle school Religion Teacher Sister Teresa! She was and will always be the Best!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 74%
Hispanic 24%
Asian 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sister Kathleen McAvoy
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41st Street
Oakland, CA 94609
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 652-2220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Park Day School
Oakland, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT