Advertisement

Holy Names High School

Private | 9-12 | 170 students

HNHS is best known for empowering smart, confident, and caring young women.
 
 

 
 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $725,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

HNHS is a small Catholic all girls school that empowers the girls to speak up and stand up for justice. Many girls come in timid and shy, but leave confident and with a voice.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2013

Holy Names has been great for my daughter. She is receiving a first rate, college prep education with small class size and plenty of access to the teachers. In fact, I don't think I have ever seen such dedicated teachers, they are always willing to meet with my daughter when she has questions or is having difficulty. It is the perfect blend of structure and compassion. This year they are making some changes to the Parent Association which I think will make it easier for parents to figure out how to be involved in a meaningful way. I love the new Principal, she has a lot of enthusiasm and some great ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Holy Names High offers a challenging curriculum taught in small classes where any additional help is available if needed. Our daughter was very reluctant to attend an all-girl school, but has found it to be a fun and supportive learning environment. She's taking mostly honors classes, voice and volleyball and is thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

Holy Names High School provides a sisterhood of generations of the Bay Area's young women. I am always meeting HNHS alums who love to reminisce about there time there. Although many girls are hesitant to attend an all-girls school, they soon find they love the comradeship and confidence that they feel among their peers. Our girls form tight bonds with each other, and all faculty and staff are familiar with each and every one of our lovely students. They grow in leadership positions, are highly challenged in academics, and thrive in our rigorous Visual and Performing Arts programs. I encourage you to schedule a visit at our gorgeous campus nestled in the Rockridge hills.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2009

I have two daughters at this school. I can tell the difference and the achievement within them and how confident they are doing home work and day to day life things. They have really transformed into smart and intellegent young ladies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

My daughter chose Holy Names High School on her own because of the excellent academic program, particularly in mathematics, and the diversity in student population. Holy Names prepared her for any path she might chose after high school. She easily got into UC Berkeley, has found a passion, and job offer, through working in the Oakland public library due to HNHS community service hours requirement, and is very sure of her personal and spiritual path, though she is not Catholic, through their excellent attention to the girls' moral, spiritual, and personal development through intensive study that alternates between world exploration and personal growth experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2007

Our daughter is a senior at Holy Names this year. Despite ADHD, she has done very well and has been accepted to every college to which she applied. HNHS has been both supportive and challenging. They have had annual IEP meetings and made accommodations. She has excelled with their stimulation and support. It is a warm community with lots of choices of classes and activities. The all girl environment has been a plus; girls get more opportunities for leadership roles and don't get distracted by hormones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

For girls who have learning differences, this may not be the school for your daughter. Otherwise, it is has a strong academic program and offers lots of extracurricular activities. Parental involvement is strong as they really get involved in the coordination of school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

I attended this school approximately 10 years ago and then transfered to a public high school. I still regret that decision and wish my parents would've made me stay at Holy Names. The curriculum was unmatched and I had a variety of opportunites to engage in various programs while at that school. Plenty of my friends who attended the school went on to great universities and felt they had a competitive edge. I am now moving back to the Bay Area and although my daughter is only in kindergarten, I will definitely consider this school for her if I am still in the area at that time. It's a great place for young women.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

Our daughter graduated this year after 4 years at HNHS. We were extremely pleased with HNHS and vigorously encourage other parents to send their high school daughters there. Our daughter was accepted at every college to which she applied, and decided to attend UCB. We are confident that she is excellently prepared for college. HNHS teachers are excellent. In 10th grade biology class our daughter wrote a 40-page report complete with computer-generated graphs and presented a power point presentation to the class. The quality of my daughter's work easily equalled college sophomore work. Ditto for chemistry. The 11th/12th grade English teacher was also very demanding. In addition to regular homework essays, the girls had a weekly in-class essay. Because this is an all-girls HS, the girls were able to succeed academically without pressure to act dumb before cute boys. All 2004 graduates are going to college. They will all do well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2004

HNHS is an exellent learning institution for young ladies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

Holy Names is a wonderful school. The small class size allows my child to get the special attention she needs. The teachers at HNHS are highly qualified and provide crucial teaching that prepared my daughter for college. HNHS is a academically outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 41%
Hispanic 22%
White 21%
Two or more races 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5%
Asian 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: American Sign Language, Korean

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Colleen Curran
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • All girls
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • Shuttle van at Rockridge BART
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Debate
  • Foreign language club: American Sign Language, Korean
  • Model UN
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$13000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Merit Awards

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4660 Harbord Drive
Oakland, CA 94618
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 450-1110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bentley School
Oakland, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT