Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


Bishop O Dowd High School 2

Posted July 15, 2014
- a student
BOD believes image is first! Above, education and third to money. They have a financial hand in everything and insist you buy from them. If image is important - then this is your school although I would not recommend it. 2014 Graduate **ALL reviews in 2013-2014 have been removed - humm, they hate that the truth is out!

Bishop O Dowd High School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
After reading the reviews I had to add my own. One said he did not like the school,because he was put on academic probation,tough.This school prepares kids for college if you are getting a 2.0 you will not go to 4 year and that is what they are preparing you for. My child has learning disabilities & gets a 3.75! The teachers are fantastic & want to see the kids succeed. There is a place for everyone at this school it is not just for the athlete.As far as being Catholic, they do not shove it down their throat they have mass,retreats,services. As in anything it is what you put into it, if your child is not participating in the Christian aspect of the school that is their own choice. My child is having an excellent experience, and growing into a smart, self assured, compassionate person.


Bishop O Dowd High School 1

Posted January 13, 2013
- a parent
As a parent, this school is large on publicity and short on dealing with or responding to problems. My child identified and photographed a teacher out of line, the administrations response was to do nothing, typical of BOD. IThis truly is a paid for private school, nothing more!

Bishop O Dowd High School 1

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
The low rating is due to the lack of support and care students receive from the counselors and administrative staff. 4 years at the school and the counselor still doesn't know my child's name. 2 laptops, 1 phone, numerous books and clothes stolen from lockers, classrooms, etc. No catholic identity and very ghetto. On a positive note, a lot of the teachers are amazing and the sports programs are great. However, it's unfortunate that the people that are most involved in college planning and transition are uncaring and unaware.

Bishop O Dowd High School 5

Posted July 13, 2012
- a student
I loved this school so much. Its my freshman summer (going into sophomore) Sadly I cannot attend next year due to financial issues. But the school is so warm. Once you find your friends you know that you will be friends with them the rest of your lives. The atmosphere is beautiful, you are surrounded by high achieving students like yourself. The catholic education is not forced on students who aren't catholic, but it is explored. I'm so so very sad that I will not be able to attend, every day I cry my eyes out. I hope that whoever gets the chance to attend this school is very thankful because it is truly the best school on earth <3 The english department is amazing, however freshman! Do not be intimidated if you take honors english it all pays off and you realize it at the end of the year. All the departments are quite magnificent.


Bishop O Dowd High School 2

Posted October 14, 2011
- a parent
Sadly, this school has lost its catholic identity, and administrators just put on a good facade. It may as well be Oakland's private college preparatory school with a cross to decorate the buildings, so I think Bishop Cordiolione should sell the building to the folks with money in the Oakland Hills instead of pretending it is a Catholic School, because it already has been sold out of its Catholic values.

Bishop O Dowd High School 5

Posted November 15, 2010
- a student
i enjoy the school tremendously. the teachers are always there for you and I feel that each member of the staff is there to help you. I recommend this school to everyone.

Bishop O Dowd High School 2

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Sadly, the meaning of the word 'Catholic' is lost here. This school is more concerned about it's image than about teaching and demonstrating true Catholic values. The administration is a joke. They know how to spend your money though, all glitz and no substance. It's all a facade! Save your money and spend it on a good college! If a true Catholic education is what you are after, send them to CCD instead.


Bishop O Dowd High School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Academically challenging ... spritually grounded ... diverse staff and student body ... rich music and arts program ... excellent athletic tradition!

Bishop O Dowd High School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
This school gets better each month. Kids support each other, academics are superb, technology is the best in the Bay Area. Religious values are inclusive and helpful to kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bishop O Dowd High School
9500 Stearns Avenue, Oakland, CA  94605
(510) 577-9100
Last modified Bishop O Dowd High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Bishop O Dowd High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews.