Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
1,174 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bishop O Dowd High School 3

Posted December 15, 2015
- a community member
Horrible mathematics department. I'm not sure what I'm learning. I feel as though the math teachers do not genuinely care about your success. It is definitely not worth the money. However, I do enjoy the social aspect of the school. The English is superb as well as the Social Studies and the Science Department. I would recommend sending your child here if they're naturally good at math. Otherwise, you will face problems. The work load is manageable but when there is lack of quality teaching, it becomes stressful. I've made some decent friends and have also encountered duplicitous people. Great learning experience.

Bishop O Dowd High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Some are better than others, the language and math department are horrible make sure to have very low expectations


Bishop O Dowd High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Yes for students who's families make large donations, then 'rules' don't apply, typical Catholic school mentality.

Bishop O Dowd High School 3

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
They are not nearly as great as their image, drugs-alcohol and sex are prevalent, a lot of parents provide liqueur for parties and breath testing for dances was thrown out so there are lot's of drunk kids. Nothing special but a safe alternative to OUSD,, there was a lock down when I was there - man with a gun on campus.

Bishop O Dowd High School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
After reading the reviews I had to add my own. One said he did not like the school,because he was put on academic probation,tough.This school prepares kids for college if you are getting a 2.0 you will not go to 4 year and that is what they are preparing you for. My child has learning disabilities & gets a 3.75! The teachers are fantastic & want to see the kids succeed. There is a place for everyone at this school it is not just for the athlete.As far as being Catholic, they do not shove it down their throat they have mass,retreats,services. As in anything it is what you put into it, if your child is not participating in the Christian aspect of the school that is their own choice. My child is having an excellent experience, and growing into a smart, self assured, compassionate person.


Bishop O Dowd High School 1

Posted January 13, 2013
- a parent
As a parent, this school is large on publicity and short on dealing with or responding to problems. My child identified and photographed a teacher out of line, the administrations response was to do nothing, typical of BOD. IThis truly is a paid for private school, nothing more!

Bishop O Dowd High School 1

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
The low rating is due to the lack of support and care students receive from the counselors and administrative staff. 4 years at the school and the counselor still doesn't know my child's name. 2 laptops, 1 phone, numerous books and clothes stolen from lockers, classrooms, etc. No catholic identity and very ghetto. On a positive note, a lot of the teachers are amazing and the sports programs are great. However, it's unfortunate that the people that are most involved in college planning and transition are uncaring and unaware.

Bishop O Dowd High School 5

Posted July 13, 2012
- a student
I loved this school so much. Its my freshman summer (going into sophomore) Sadly I cannot attend next year due to financial issues. But the school is so warm. Once you find your friends you know that you will be friends with them the rest of your lives. The atmosphere is beautiful, you are surrounded by high achieving students like yourself. The catholic education is not forced on students who aren't catholic, but it is explored. I'm so so very sad that I will not be able to attend, every day I cry my eyes out. I hope that whoever gets the chance to attend this school is very thankful because it is truly the best school on earth <3 The english department is amazing, however freshman! Do not be intimidated if you take honors english it all pays off and you realize it at the end of the year. All the departments are quite magnificent.


Bishop O Dowd High School 2

Posted October 14, 2011
- a parent
Sadly, this school has lost its catholic identity, and administrators just put on a good facade. It may as well be Oakland's private college preparatory school with a cross to decorate the buildings, so I think Bishop Cordiolione should sell the building to the folks with money in the Oakland Hills instead of pretending it is a Catholic School, because it already has been sold out of its Catholic values.

Bishop O Dowd High School 5

Posted November 15, 2010
- a student
i enjoy the school tremendously. the teachers are always there for you and I feel that each member of the staff is there to help you. I recommend this school to everyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bishop O Dowd High School
9500 Stearns Avenue, Oakland, CA  94605
(510) 577-9100
Last modified Bishop O Dowd High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Bishop O Dowd High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top