Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Paul's Episcopal School

Private | K-8 | 365 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $316,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,350.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2013

Our child is currently in the 7th grade at SPES. He joined in the 6th grade, and we could not be happier. We love the philosophy and social mission of the school. Not only is our child receiving a top-notch education, he is in an environment that fosters his emotional well-being and sense of social responsibility. We have found the teachers to be phenomenal. They know our child very well, both his strengths and his weaknesses. Teachers and staff have been terrifically approachable and responsive, and there is an incredible level of parent engagement. The greatest measure of success, though, is the happiness of our child. He genuinely enjoys school, very much likes his teachers, is engaged outside of just classwork, and has lots of terrific friends. So for us, SPES has been a win-win academically and socially. Cannot recommend more highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Our child recently completed kindergarten at SPES. We were very happy with the experience. Our child has thrived both socially and academically in this environment. She looks forward to going to school each day. We were looking for an academically challenging environment that also fostered a love of school and learning. We feel that we have found the right school for our family. Our child's teachers were supportive and nurturing, but also took the time to work with us on building self-advocacy skills in our child. We have found the school fosters positive and respectful relationships amongst the children. We are very pleased with our decision and are looking forward to the years ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

We are in our third year at St. Paul's and while our first two years (K-1st) were wonderful, we've hit a roadblock. We love the philosophy of the school, the sense of community, the diversity, but we're dismayed by the great number of teachers who left at the end of the school year last year (two teachers did not return and gave less than two weeks' notice before the school year began). There are wild inconsistencies between teachers per grade (one first grade teacher can be warm, engaging and exceptional; the other cold, belligerent, and disengaged). We question how hires are made and how much the school is committed to attracting exceptional teachers who love their kids. St. Paul's has had an excellent reputation in the past. I hope that they take action to keep good teachers, and moreover, good kids. It would be a shame to see them continue this downward slide.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

We are very happy at St. Paul's; teacher engagement and excellence is one of the strongest parts of our educational experience. Every teacher we have had has been caring, smart, creative, capable, and inspirational. The teachers do a wonderful job of keeping students engaged in the curriculum, integrating the social and academic curricula through thoughtful pedagogical best practices, and have been available and responsive to parent questions. We are on the middle to lower income scale at St Pauls--we are a multiracial family, receive 50 percent aid and have a tiny house in a marginal neighborhood. We have play dates here and in people's Piedmont mansions; while economic differences are real, they do not stop our community (kids and parents) being authentic and connected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

SP's is really pretty average in that some teachers are good while some others are pretty uninspired and fairly traditional (and sometimes shaming) in their discipline. Yard vigilance could be better since that's where bullying seems to happen most. Some kids who are real behavioral problems are allowed to stay at St. Paul's, and per another poster, the head of the school can be pretty autocratic. Although my children don't have learning disabilities, parents of kids with learning disabilities complained that their kids really didn't get what they needed this year in the way of support and follow through. St. Paul's seems to do a good job when it comes to their students knowing how to behave in public. Chapel can be sweet and sometimes unending and boring. There seems to be a divide along class lines--the kids from Montclair don't seem to have play dates with the kids from E. Oakland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about St. Paul's. We have a kindergartner and a 3rd grader currently at the school and both are thriving. My children's learning styles could not be more opposite so I am particularly appreciative of the Differentiated Learning techniques used throughout the grades. From my first tour as a perspective parent to just yesterday every visit to the school has put a huge smile on my face. I only wish I could have attended St. Paul's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

St. Paul's has been an amazing place for our entire family. In addition to excellent academics, superb music program, consistent athletics and a nationally recognized service learning program, the community our family has come to be a part of and thrive within has been the biggest gift. The school and its administration have done much to bring the school to the forefront of educational institutions. The school has a brand new website through which a great deal of information is consistently disseminated to the parent and student bodies. This has tremendously enhanced communication between the parents and the administration and also permits parents up-to-the-minute access to their kids' programs, assignments and activities. Look for yourself: www.spes.org. You can see the vitality of the school and its student body. The dedication of the faculty and administration to the education of the whole child at St. Paul's is truly inspirational.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

St. Paul s provides a rich academic experience, fosters a love of learning, and empowers its students to make a difference in their communities. At St. Paul s, we have found talented and loving teachers dedicated to really getting to know each of our children as an individual and helping them to reach their full potential. The Administration does a great job of communicating and is always accessible. You can nearly always find the Head of School out in the morning warmly greeting the children and helping them prepare for the day ahead. I don't think you will find a cooler group of parents anywhere. In short, after 9 years, St. Paul's has been a great place for our kids and for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

St. Paul's has been a wonderful experience for both our kids and us. The school offers superb academics in a nurturing and supportive environment. The teachers and staff are super dedicated and their tenure exceeds the average of many private schools. The school administration does a great job of communicating to the entire community in a thoughtful and inclusive way. The administration strives to include faculty, administration, students, etc. on decisions/initiatives. There are a number of joint committees where teachers/staff are members are asked to engage and share their thoughts and ideas. Our community also empowers our students; kids are leading committees on issues that affect their daily lives. While no academic institution is prefect, St. Paul's is pretty close to utopia for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

St. Paul's is a school with a soul -- a uniquely Oakland institution whose spirituality, academic excellence, service learning, diversity, community, advocacy, and vitality are part and parcel of the city in which the school resides and in which our children experience the changing world in all its wonderous, miraculous moments. Our family has been part of the St. Paul's community for six years. We most appreciate 1) the unbelievable teachers whose inspiration, love, professionalism, diversity, and passion for teaching thoroughly engage our children 2) parents - we are a unified team with shared values and a collaborative approach to resolving any issues that arise -- we are good friends. 3) the values of the school are evident in each inquisitive, compassionate St. Paul's student. St. Paul's is our gift to our children and ourselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

There are so many great things about St. Paul's: diverse student body (for private school), urban setting, high academic standards, real attention to compassion and respect among students, a fantastic music program, and many great teachers. However, the school is run in a very authoritarian top-down way that may be off-putting to some. Decisions that impact all families at the school are made with little or no parent input. The administration does not do a good job of disseminating important information, and at times relays inaccurate information in order to portray the school in the best possible light. There seems to be quite a lot of turnover in the staff, too, perhaps due to the heavy hand of the administration. Despite these problems, St. Paul's is still an excellent school, but families should be prepared to accept a somewhat dictatorial administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Our school grows real human beings who know how important it is to be a part of and give back to community. We are a community of critical thinkers, who lead with our hearts. We are a family of singers and writers and watchers and doers. This is my eighteenth year teaching accapella singing and our music program is second to none. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2009

This is my tenth year as a teacher at St. Paul's. It is a great place to work, play and learn. It is a very supportive and diverse community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

Academic excellence, the most beautiful diverse student body, art, music, math and myth. Service Learning starts in kindergarten. We grow leaders at St. Paul's. Our graduates have founded clinics in Africa and schools in Asia. The world needs more like us!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

It's a great place for your child to grow! It's a place where your child can be comfortable being exactly who she/he is and get all the support necessary to thrive in the outside world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

St. Paul's is a beautiful and complex community within the city of Oakland - a model for other compassionate leaders to follow to insure that all our children thrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

St. Paul's is an amazing school. I have one child who graduated, very well prepared for high school, and one who is now in middle school. The teachers are incredible -- they worked very well with both of my kids, one of whom is high-achieving and one who needed extra help. The administration is responsive, and has improved recently with new staff. St. Paul's has a challenging mission -- to educate a very diverse student body and prepare them to be strong citizens of the world. It carries out that mission exceptionally well. Also, the parents are the coolest! I can't believe what a diverse, fun, welcoming, interesting and hard-working group they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

I have a Freshman at BOD who was a lifer at St. Paul's, and we feel the school is directly responsible for her excellent academic preparation (she has straight A's in HS), her compassion for others, and her mature world view. She embraced St. Paul's diversity and is well prepared for living a successful life. We couldn't be happier with the results as her parents. That is not to say that everything at the school is perfect, but I have seen a willingness to address issues and a culture that creates great kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

I have a 5th grader at St. Paul's, and we feel the school has done a good job with her education and a great job making her a better person. Through service learning and the school's culture of acceptance of diversity in religion, culture, race and economic circumstances, she has learned about people less fortunate than her and is also ready to be a good global citizen. While not every academic experience has been perfect (few schools are unless they are overly selective in acceptance and excessively funded), the excellent teachers have more than compensated for any weak ones along the way. We are very happy as parents there with the administration and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

My son graduated from St Paul's, went to high school at CPS and will be a freshman at Occidental this fall. My daughter will be an 8th grader at St Paul's this year. We have found the academics to be rigorous without being overwhelming. My kids learned to be organized, learned how to study, and did homework without much parental involvement. The teachers have been caring, creative and engaging, and the administration approachable and easy to communicate with. The community is down to earth, supportive, interesting and varied. The service to the community program is wonderful and provides a wider view of the world to students. Kids graduating from St Paul's are good kids who are prepared for their next step.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Daily Points of Light Award (2006)
  • Community Service Recognition Award from CSEE (2004)
  • NAIS Leading Edge Award for Academic Involvement (2004)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Karan A. Merry
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (510) 899-7298

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • St. paul's episcopal school is pleased to have an active group of parents who model for their children a dedication to community service and support. as part of their agreement with the school, parents volunteer 30 hours (15 for single-parent households) each year. they serve on the board of trustees, parent council, and committees, share their talents and experiences in the classroom, chaperone field trips, drive to service learning sites, work the annual fund phonathan, and as a group host the school's annual fundraising auction.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
College Preparatory School
Head Royce School
St. Mary's College High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

116 Montecito Avenue
Oakland, CA 94610
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 285-9600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Starlite School
Oakland, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT