Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
877 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Head-Royce School
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
I would like to thank my shadow who took me through the school for a tour that really flamed up my passions for it. Before, I haven't really considered, but now, I feel like that this is a place where I want to be, like a second home.

Head-Royce School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
Head Royce aimed for this and has achieved this by the way their students showed their respect not to tease shadows and other students when they struggled, instead, they stood up and helped each other out of the struggle.


Head-Royce School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
The teachers adjust situations to follow the student's needs, like extensions, help at lunch, and etc.

Head-Royce School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
I feel like this because no matter what I did or how I joked around with them, they are always friendly and willing to help even if we disagree on one thing.

Head-Royce School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
Friendly and Interactive teachers have really made up what this school and what schools should really be like at Head Royce.


Head-Royce School 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
I am a very proud alumna of The Head Royce School. I graduated in 2008 and still feel strongly connected to the school, the faculty, and to my friends. The education I received prepared me extremely well for University. While many of my college peers struggled their freshman year, college felt like transitioning into 13th grade for me. It was a step up but a reasonable step up that I felt challenging but not overwhelming. I credit Head Royce for the inspiration it gave me to pursue my passions and for helping me to develop strong communication, writing, and critical thinking skills. I made lasting friendships and was able to engage on many levels (e.g. theater, sports, student council, clubs, etc.) I never felt the need to stick to one label or click. Yes, I had my group of friends but I never felt unwelcome in other circles. I cannot recommend this school more highly. Go Jayhawks!

Head-Royce School 2

Posted August 01, 2015
- a community member
I attended this school from middle- through high school. The academics, aside from a few strong teachers, are not worth the high tuition. The school prepares students well to get high SAT scores, but poorly for basic college skills, like effective writing. I agree with the comment who characterized the academic side as "smoke and mirrors". The atmosphere is definitely elitist. If your child is shy and thoughtful or reticent; creative and/or unconventional; a member of an ethnic or cultural minority; or simply moves to the beat of his/her own drummer, s/he will be miserable at this school. It's very conventional and cliquish. There are much better choices in the East Bay, especially considering the cost vs. the mediocre academics.

Head-Royce School 3

Posted September 15, 2014
- a community member
If only academics were the only factor when considering a school... The teachers are INCREDIBLE really - like second to none. One of the best educations for a K-12 in the entire U.S.... no exaggeration whatsoever. However this school breeds arrogance and elitism. I second the other review talking about a gossipy culture between teachers and parents. During my time at Hrs there were many instances where parents and teachers would send awful emails about students or other parents. GREAT EDUCATION, SICKENING ENVIRONMENT.


Head-Royce School 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a community member
I am a high schooler at HRS and have been attending since I was in Kindergarten. The lower school is great, with wonderful, kind teachers and a wide variety of different academic, athletic, and artistic classes that your child can experience. The middle school is, admittedly, very cliquish and can be socially straining with such a small grade. But the teachers, including in high school are absolutely fantastic, qualifies, and ready to help you in any way possible. The high school has a great selection of classes and activities, so whatever your passion, you can find something for you. However, the school does put too much emphasis on sports, and runs the budget low when it comes to theatre. While the academics are rigorous, the social world of high school is much better and more open. Teachers are accessible, and truly passionate about what they are teaching. The scholastic side of school is very stressful at times, but I know I will be well served and prepared for college.

Head-Royce School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
We have a 3rd grader and kindergartener. We love Head-Royce for the academic excellence and emphasis on a well rounded education.

Nearby schools

Head-Royce School
4315 Lincoln Avenue, Oakland, CA  94602
(510) 531-1300
Last modified Head-Royce School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top