Advertisement

Raskob Learning Institute and Day School

Private | 2-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $283,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

Good school if your special needs child is a "normal" special needs child. Not so good if your special needs child does not fit the Raskob special needs profile. There is minimal/negligible curriculum flexibility. Be prepared for large dosages of high-priced Raskob inpatient and outpatient therapy instead of individual classroom teacher attention if your student does not fit their profile. There was not a lot of teacher empathy either. Most of the teachers and teacher assistants are biding their time until they can get a higher paying (public school) job. The (everyday) PE program was great; the after school sports program was a joke. Make sure to visit, have your child do a shadow day (or two) and ask all the specific, relevant questions (about your child) so you know what he/she is getting into. Raskob is very expensive day care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

I was bullied at the school and was unprepared for high school because of lack of nightly work.


Posted May 13, 2013

Our niece (who we raise) was struggling mightily at a wonderful, small private school where my wife teaches. Even in a small and nurturing environment like her previous school, our niece was drowning. We enrolled her in Raskob for 6th grade and the change has been remarkable. In just one year her confidence, self-esteem and attitude towards school have improved immensely, and we can't wait to see what two more years will bring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

The most important thing to know about Raskob Day School is that it is a very specialized school for children of normal or high intelligence with significant learning differences. Most children who attend have issues such as ADHD, dyslexia, or processing disorders. Most of them were failing miserably in traditional schools, and have come to Raskob as the school of last resort. For some children, this is the school that saves their self esteem and academic future. For others, the problems they have are not remedied, but it is not a perfect school for all (no school is). Opportunity is there to advance quickly or to go at one's own speed, depending on the child. My son has been in the middle school for 2 and one half years. He has regained his confidence and learned to function in the academic arena. He has taken on a leadership roll among the students this year, something far from his capability when he entered. He has learned to work around his learning glitches and will enter a "normal" high school next year. I did not give 5 stars because there are things that could be better. There is always a little disorganization at the school. There could also be more emphasis on the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

My son has attended Raskob since 3rd grade and has just graduated 5th grade. Recently, when I asked him what 3 from 11 was, after using his fingers and about 20 seconds had passed, he came up with 2 as the answer. He has always read well and gets bored in his classes in which other kids are struggling far more than he in reading. Yet he has not been given more challenging work. My son processes slowly, has very limited working memory, limited empathy and is completely disorganized. The social learning class he takes at school (additional cost, of course,) has been the most beneficial thing he has done at the school. My son has felt "safe" at the school and has friends, which counts for a lot, but he hasn't yet "learned how to learn" the stuff that comes harder and takes some effort. I don't fully understand why not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

My son has been at Raskob for the last 2 years and my husband and I feel it is a terrific school. I feel the teachers there are very dedicated and knowledgeable. The atmosphere is nurturing and positive. I'm wondering if the previous negative reviews are from parents with personal axes to grind? Or are resentful of paying the tuition?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2010

if you want to consider your child a success based on minimal academic expectations, than this is the place for you. Ofcourse your child we be successful in this environment as they are not challenged or required to learn. We have been there two years and have seen minimal to no special techniques to teach learning disabilities. Unorganized, run by the seat of their pants, teachers and staff sometimes uncooperative and think they know everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

My son attended Raskob for four years and is now a successful student starting his sophmore year in high school. Not only did their program prepare him academically, but the administration and teaching staff supported him and helped him to become an advocate for himself. His learning challenges will be lifelong, but Raskob gave him the tools he needed to become more confident in himself and in his schoolwork. My son started in Raskob in elementary school and grew to be a motivated student throughout his middle school years. I highly reccommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

Wow! I am shocked at the last parents review. This school has gone through a lot of changes, but it's been for good reason. The new director is outstanding--she has a group of administrators that are also dedicated, professional, and open to feedback. The teachers are a nice mix of experienced and new. The only "high turn over" that I know of is because of teachers leaving on maternity leave. I would check this place out if you are looking for a school that has small classes for LD kids, dedicated teachers, and a supportive parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

An awful and I do mean awful school! It may have been a good school a couple a years ago, but it has gone down hill since then. In the last year there has been a high turn over in staff. The administration is not supportive and the curriculum is questionable. As a parent or caregiver, you are better off saving your money and taking your child to a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

Truly dreadful. New administration is combative rather than helpful. Small class size is great but wasted as a teaching tool. All students are taught similarly although the students have a very wide variety of needs. Public schools are better than this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

I currently attend this school and I couldn't think of a better palce for me to undertake my education!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2004

Private School for kids with Learning Disabilities. Currently grades4-8 but will be expanding 2005 to high school. Small school with special ed teachers, who understand a variety of learning issues. Teachers qualified and very caring. Active parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Hispanic 17%
Black 14%
Two or more races 12%
Asian 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC
Fax number
  • (510) 436-1106

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3520 Mountain Boulevard
Oakland, CA 94619
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 436-1275

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT