Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

21 reviews of this school


Aurora School 5

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
We love Aurora School! The teachers and staff are amazing, very knowledgeable and professional, and maintain a nurturing and welcoming environment for the students. Teachers give their full attention to each student, focusing on individual skill level and learning style. Our son is very happy to be attending school at Aurora. He is learning a lot in science, math, reading, writing, art, music, Spanish and even woodshop. He comes home every day enthusiastic to share what amazing things he's done in class. There is also a nice camaraderie that happens among all the students even between different grade levels--the older kids make sure to look out for the younger kids. Parents are also very active in the school, adding a wonderful feeling of community here. If you're looking for a top-notch school that is very positive and welcoming, also serious about your kid's academic development, I fully recommend Aurora School!

Aurora School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
Every week something that happens that makes us so happy to be at Aurora. Our daughter attended local public school for kindergarten and had a very difficult year. We searched carefully to find a better fit for first grade and have never regretted switching to this warm, nurturing, creative, joyous, amazing, culturally competent school. Our daughter loves school so much she can't wait to go back after school breaks! She has the best teacher we've ever encountered. The administration is competent, responsive, ethical, and committed. The teachers obviously enjoy working at Aurora and love their jobs; they are dedicated and go above and beyond to provide extra services and support outside regular hours without complaint and with deep creativity and emotional sensitivity. Every week we get a detailed summary of what has happened in the classroom; it never fails to make us smile and wish we had been lucky enough to attend a school like this. There is no bureaucracy to navigate to communicate with teachers or administrators any time we've wanted or needed to. The parent community is very nurturing and supportive. We encourage you to come experience Aurora yourself!


Aurora School 5

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is in 2nd grade at Aurora School. She and her schoolmates appear to be well-rounded, caring, and curious learners, thanks to the dedicated and thoughtful teachers and staff. If you are interested in a challenging, yet progressive, education for your child, Aurora should be on your list. The litany of positives is long: blended classrooms (a terrific attribute), creative teachers, truly individual attention, world-class children's library (no joke, you have to see it to believe it), small-school environment, involved parents (who, for many, really do become great friends), varied learning environments (woodshop for K/1s-seriously!), and a thoughtful curriculum. So many have said they knew their family belonged at Aurora the minute they walked into the school. Once you visit, you will see why.

Aurora School 4

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is entering 4th grade in the Fall at Aurora and has been there since kindergarten. She has thrived at Aurora, and although the regular social, emotional and academic challenges of early childhood inevitably come up, I have been impressed again and again at the staff's ability to respond with sensitivity and thoughtfulness. If there is one thing that Aurora does beautifully it is to get to know each child as an individual. I really suggest that you look at Aurora if you are looking for a school where your child will not only learn academics, but will become part of a wonderful community of lifelong learners.

Aurora School 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
Aurora is an amazing school, with very strong teaching staff and a wonderfully supportive parent community. We have a daughter still there and one that has graduated to middle school, we could not be more impressed with the academically strong and socially compassionate kids they have become, and we attribute a big part of that to their time at Aurora. The school's tag line - The Best of Both Worlds: Academic Rigor in a Progressive Setting - holds true. The school does an impressive job of blending academic achievement with a strong social and emotional curriculum. And the teachers are an impressive array of competent and caring individuals. Looking back at almost ten years at Aurora I can not imagine that there would have been a better academic experience for my two kids.


Aurora School 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
Aurora is a treasure. Our daughter has been there for four years, and we're delighted not only with the education she's receiving but also with the broader school community. We love the fact that it's truly an elementary school (K-5, instead of K-8 or K-12), because the entire education and culture can really cater to children of that age. The mixed grade classrooms have been invaluable because they've given our daughter the chance to cultivate meaningful relationships with a broad range of children, instead of confining her to six years with the same group. Academically, Aurora consistently fosters critical thinking and curiosity -- with teachers who are thoughtful and dedicated, and students who truly enjoy learning. Obviously this is a personal decision, and not every school works for every student or family. But Aurora children seem happy and inclusive, and develop interesting minds and empathetic hearts. We recommend it without reservation. -Current parent at Aurora

Aurora School 5

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
Aurora joins a rigorous academic K-5 model with a progressive approach to learning and education. The teachers are exemplary--leaders in the classroom, but also skilled at collaborative efforts with other classroom teachers and specialists in art, music, etc. We have been very happy with the academic challenge afforded our daughter, but also with the comprehensive focus on social emotional learning, collaboration and teamwork, and art, music, and theater.

Aurora School 5

Posted March 20, 2012
- a parent
My two children went to Aurora. Aurora academics has always been of concern to some Aurora parents. I'm here to tell you the Aurora kids do really well in middle school, high school, and attend very selective colleges. Our kids were just everyday kids at Aurora, nothing special, but both were accepted to every middle school where we applied. We chose St. Paul's where our kids thrived -- there was no catch up necessary. The Aurora kids were 8th grade presidents about half the time. Our son and 2 of his Aurora classmates attended College Prep.Other Aurora classmates attended Head Royce, Julia Morgan, Redwood Day, Lick Wilmerding, College Prep, Head Royce, Athenian, Oakland Tech engineering program, and Bishop O'Dowd. Our kids did well and had a great time, but they are not straight A students. They fall between B+ and A-. However, many of their Aurora classmates did become straight A students. Colleges attended include Stanford, UC Berkeley, UCLA, NYU, Swarthmore, Sarah Lawrence, Cornell, Carleton, Cal Arts, Cal Poly, Columbia, and University of Pennsylvania. So be vigilant, prepare your kids to thrive as adults, but don't worry about Aurora's academics. Christopher Reesor


Aurora School 4

Posted July 21, 2011
- a parent
While my daughter will only be a first grader next year, I feel that Aurora is a perfect fit for her. She is quiet and slow to warm in new environments and she has thrived at Aurora socially, emotionally, and academically. All problems are addressed with thoughtful consideration and the K-1 teaching staff is top notch and very collaborative. I also personally love the head of school. She is a teachers' principal - focused on the teachers' development and how best to support them, which is very critical to me. Check it out!

Aurora School 2

Posted November 08, 2009
- a parent
Aurora was a great warm and fuzzy school. When I pulled my daughter out after 3rd grade, she has the opportunity to actually learn some academics. I was never one to complain as some of the other parents, but I look back and can understand all the 'talk' about offering differentiated instruction without any type of tests. Informal assessment are hunky dorie, but it would be nice to get a test here or there to mix it up. My daughter remembers the great songs, stories, and plays from her time at Aurora, but she didn't know how to round numbers, long subtraction, multiplying two digit numbers, etc. Stuff she needed to master by the time she got into 4th grade. I felt she learned more math in 2nd grade. I agree with another posting, she received the same long vowel spelling words in 3rd as she did in 2nd.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aurora School
40 Dulwich Road, Oakland, CA  94618
(510) 428-2606
Last modified Aurora School is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Aurora School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top