Advertisement

Ile Omode School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $105,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2013

The school and teachers are wonderful. I can not wait to have my next child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

Ile Omode is a great school that offers a safe, nurturing community and excellent academics, as well as a top notch music program and other extra curricular activities. I have seen students thrive at Ile Omode and enjoy well rounded success in both education, music and sports programs. Before and aftercare and even meals are provided. The best thing about the school is the caring and knowledgeable staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

Excellent!!!! my child has been here since preschool and I wouldn't select any other place. The foundation and growth of the school is remarkable. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place that focuses on child development to check this school out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

My son has been going to Ile Omode for 2 years. This school has been a blessing. Our son went to public school and from day 1 the teachers were calling. With in a week of 2nd grade my sons teacher wanted us to put our son on medication. We went so far as to have him seen by a specialist. We ended up sharing our experience with many friends and one of them informed us of Ile Omode. This school was the best thing that happened to us. This school is a family unit and we work as a team. I couldn't imagine sending my son to another school. The school is looking into expanding [to] Jr High. Our son will stay with the school until the final grade limit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

Poor understanding of child growth and development. Unsafe neighborhood with poor supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2005

African centered program so all extracurriculars follow that theme. Parent involvement high especially since you can barter for tuition. Academics could be stronger. I am actually thinking about helping them out because the program has its merits and I want to give to their vision. It is a very safe, warm and loving space for children. Small class size is a plus.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 2, 2005

Great school, good 'family' atmosphere. The class size is small and the children receive a lot of individual attention. Reading, Writing and Arithmetic are emphasized at the primary level. Breakfast is provided also.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 100%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8924 Holly Street
Oakland, CA 94621
Phone: (510) 632-8230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Cox Academy
Oakland, CA


Reach Academy
Oakland, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT