Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5|Private
61 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mills College Children's School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
Yes! Thank you Ms Jane Simon!! And student teacher Rachel is amazing, Bella loves you! :)

Mills College Children's School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is 2 years old and not assigned homework at the moment so this does not apply.


Mills College Children's School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
This is our daughter's first year at MCCS and it has honestly exceed our expectation. Our daughter is only 2 years old so we were only expecting the program would help her socialize better with other kids. But we're getting more than that - not only is she more social but she's also better at expressing herself, she's more assertive and she's thriving. Her head teacher, as well as the student teachers are attentive, compassionate and flexible. And we really love how the curriculum is both challenging and creatively fun. We'll be staying at MCCS for a while!

Mills College Children's School 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
My kid loves attending school, every day. That's a huge accomplishment for any school. Plus, the campus itself is a marvel.

Mills College Children's School
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
There is a student in my kid's 1st grade class whose smile lights up the room. He is cheerful, respectful, and has the brightest, warmest countenance of any 1st grader I've met. I am so grateful that my kid goes to a school where there are happy smiling kids like this one.


Mills College Children's School 5

Posted January 02, 2015
- a parent
I just wanted to give a current review of the Children's School at Mills College. Our daughter started out in the preschool when she was 3 and she is now in the 2nd grade in the Elementary School. We couldn't be happier with the school, teachers, community and her education at Mills. We also love that the student population at MCCS is incredibly diverse. It is such a wonderful community and nurturing place. We had only intended for her to do Kinder and then switch to public but we loved it so much that we've stayed. Each child receives focused attention in and out of the classroom. The curriculum is both challenging and inspiring to my daughter. As a lab school, they employ some really innovative learning techniques (such as a Japanese Math program). My non-math lover has really excelled with math this year! With the small class size and the addition of student teachers there is a great student/ teacher ratio. My daughter loves going to school every day and I know she is getting the best education possible being at Mills. There are also many great enrichment programs both within the school day and after (Spanish, Art, Music, Drama, Chess, Hip-hop, Cooking). We couldn't be happier!

Mills College Children's School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Mills now for about two years and have been very pleased. The small classroom size really allow for more individualized instruction to for the teacher to get to know my child as a learner. I really appreciate the thought and effort put forth in developing the curriculum and the flexibility around making changes. Mills is about learning, exploring, creating and developing as a learner how you are and expounding on the various approaches to learning. Everything segment taught in class has an extended learning component such as a project, activity or field trip - making learning feel real. Mills has been a very safe place for my child to develop socially, emotional, academically in an inquiring sort of way as well as allowed for the necessary physical outlet. Had we not come to Mills I truly believe my child's development would've been stifled. Very happy family at Mills.

Mills College Children's School 5

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
Mills focuses on education with a small student to teacher ratio and a place where my daughter would learn not only the academics that would set the foundation for the rest of her school years but also provide with the problem solving skills for when an adult is not present. My daughter comes home talking about all the fun games she played during recess and singing songs she learned in spanish. She draws pictures with written story lines. She makes puppets and most of all she loves learning. The staff and teacher have been so supportive giving us homework individualized for her with subjects she needs improvement. Today I watched the student aid, my daughter and one other student not only resolve a conflict but discuss how they could express oneself better next time. We feel so blessed to have found such a great learning environment for our daughter. She loves going to school and is anxious to go back on the weekends. So proud to be a Mills parents and apart of this community of staff and parents!


Mills College Children's School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
My children attend Mills College Children's School because of the small class size, the individualized learning in a mixed-age environment, and most importantly, the thoughtful and intentional teaching. When we first visited this school, we were awed by a classroom environment where children lived in the subject of their learning. The visuals and the conversations spoke of the children's exploration and the wonder they held with what they learned. My children loved the school from the beginning and continue to love it today. I also find the Children's School appealing because it is a laboratory school nested within the School of Education. The teachers and administrators are educational leaders in the Oakland community and are master teachers training student teachers and working closely with college researchers. In a small private school where there is a lot of scrutiny, it is hard for anything to go by unnoticed. There are always different perspectives to every incident. From my family's perspective, we love this school. My children love learning and are thriving in this environment. That's what matters to me.

Mills College Children's School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
There are many reasons to love your kid s school: happiness of your child, educational approach and curriculum, teachers, fellow parents, classroom design, attentive administrators, etc. By at least these important measures, my wife and I love Mills College Children School. The age-blended classes favor a child s flexible mind. The lovely classrooms are large and dramatically sunlit. My daughter s dedicated teachers have always been available to chat and update parents between formal parent-teacher conferences. The Parent Family Association is active with parents eager to assist teachers and engaged with other parents to build strong community. And the school administrators are decent hard-working folks who exude warmth and generous familial love to the children. I suppose most important at the end of the day is my 2nd grade daughter coming home from school the other day and offering this unprompted endorsement: I love my school because I feel safe. No surprise to us since the learning environment is peaceful and caring. Our daughter enrolled at MCCS in kindergarten and we intend to keep her there until we need to pack her up for middle-school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mills College Children's School
5000 MacArthur Boulevard, Oakland, CA  94613
(510) 430-2118
Last modified Mills College Children's School is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Mills College Children's School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top