Students enrolled 812
Hours 8:30 - 2:46
School leader Greg Hetrick
Transportation options Yes
District Oakley Union Elementary

Contact this school

4901 Frank Hengel Way
Oakley, CA 94561

(925) 625-6840
(925) 625-6850
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Delta Vista Middle School address.

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

July 30, 2011
GRADE inflation emerges from the Principal's office! Look at the Platinum Recognition list for 2011: 28 students in 6th grade, 77 students in 7th grade and 66 students in the 8th grade merit this "Achievement Status". Now examine the standardized test scores. They do NOT match! Grades are supposed to be earned and are to be OBJECTIVELY assigned based on standards and benchmarks based on grade level academic content standards. This is blatant grade inflation in attempt to make the students feel successful and the parents feel proud. The Platinum regulations rules state that a GPA of 3.70 or greater MUST BE MAINTAINED . This is an A- average. Are these students meeting State subject matter content standards? Please explain the miserable to mediocre results of the school on state tests ALIGNED to these SAME standards.

- submitted by a parent
March 19, 2011
im a student a dvms and i love it there. theres awesome i wish i never had to leave.

- submitted by a community member
March 04, 2011
My family recently moved to Oakley and we were all a little nervous about changing schools and districts. I can't tell you how welcome my children feel by the teachers and principal at Delta Vista. I love how the principal is always present, even directing traffic at the end of school. 5 stars!

- submitted by a parent
May 06, 2010
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 03, 2010
The principal is not a good role model fro students. He manages by trying to be friends or chums of the kids. Kids want an ADULT leader, not just another 'big kid' they can play with. The principals' father-in-law is the Head of the district which the name of the street the school is located on! Where I come from, they call that cronyism or nepotism. You can not lead when you do not command respect..

- submitted by a parent
no rating December 27, 2009
my daughter has been going to dvms for two years now and has done better than she ever has in school, the staff is very supportive and dedicated to seeing each child suceed.

- submitted by a parent
June 18, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
June 04, 2009
Delta Vista has a bully prevention system. Its called the bully box. If you are being bullied, you can put your name and their name and drop it in the box. Then the counsler will call you and him up to her office and talk about it. The teachers are very nice too. I actually go there and its a fun place to be.

- submitted by a student
December 17, 2008
I graduated from DVMS in 06. Great teachers, great school.

- submitted by a community member
June 04, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 28, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 28, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 28, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
January 04, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
no rating December 21, 2007
I love my school i like my teachers a lot and there is a lot people that you can get to know and get along with and become friends.

- submitted by a student
August 16, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 15, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
June 28, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 11, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
April 23, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
March 09, 2007
This school is fanatastic. The principal is energetic and the entire teaching staff is dedicated and terrific. They are strict, but fair. They also have great ideas for teaching.There needs to be more parent involvement, but that is slowly happening. Getting better every year.

- submitted by a parent
January 04, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
July 09, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 07, 2003
I would like to say that Delta Vista is a great school! I have a 6th and 7th grader who also love Delta Vista and after long days at school still come home with a smile and lots of wonderful stories to share. They love their teachers, their principal and vice principal. Parents are always welcome to come into the classroom to help and extra help is always needed in the office. Staff is always helpful whenever I have had questions or had any concerns. I encourage all parents to get to know the staff at Delta Vista and really get involved. Go Panthers!

- submitted by a parent
August 07, 2003
Delta Vista is an awesome school. The Principal, Vice Principal, Counselors, Office Staff, Classified staff and teaching staff all work together as a team to give all our students a great education and any help they may need. Keep up the good work Delta Vista Staff

- submitted by a community member
August 06, 2003
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 02, 2003
Delta Vista is a great school because you get awsome teachers such as: Mrs. Beneddetti- Pre-Algebra and Algebra 1a, Mrs. Tate- American and World History, and Mrs. Morse- Life and Physical Science. D.V.S. has awsome teachers. I would rate the school 4 1/2. And who ever said D.V.S. isn't that good of a school is a moron, because they didn't have the teachers' in middle school. Trust me. I went Delta Viasta the first two years and I know how good the teachers are. Know I'm in high school and is Freshman at Freedom High.

- submitted by a former student
July 15, 2003
The school needs to be a little more striced

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »

What does this school offer? Arts? Sports? Share what you know »

Student diversity

Ratings help families find and compare schools. Families should also use other factors when choosing a school.

789

Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Delta Vista Middle School
4901 Frank Hengel Way, Oakley, CA  94561
(925) 625-6840
Last modified Delta Vista Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Delta Vista Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top