Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Delta Vista Middle School 1

Posted July 30, 2011
- a parent
GRADE inflation emerges from the Principal's office! Look at the Platinum Recognition list for 2011: 28 students in 6th grade, 77 students in 7th grade and 66 students in the 8th grade merit this "Achievement Status". Now examine the standardized test scores. They do NOT match! Grades are supposed to be earned and are to be OBJECTIVELY assigned based on standards and benchmarks based on grade level academic content standards. This is blatant grade inflation in attempt to make the students feel successful and the parents feel proud. The Platinum regulations rules state that a GPA of 3.70 or greater MUST BE MAINTAINED . This is an A- average. Are these students meeting State subject matter content standards? Please explain the miserable to mediocre results of the school on state tests ALIGNED to these SAME standards.

Delta Vista Middle School 5

Posted March 19, 2011
- a community member
im a student a dvms and i love it there. theres awesome i wish i never had to leave.


Delta Vista Middle School 5

Posted March 04, 2011
- a parent
My family recently moved to Oakley and we were all a little nervous about changing schools and districts. I can't tell you how welcome my children feel by the teachers and principal at Delta Vista. I love how the principal is always present, even directing traffic at the end of school. 5 stars!

Delta Vista Middle School 1

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Delta Vista Middle School 1

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
The principal is not a good role model fro students. He manages by trying to be friends or chums of the kids. Kids want an ADULT leader, not just another 'big kid' they can play with. The principals' father-in-law is the Head of the district which the name of the street the school is located on! Where I come from, they call that cronyism or nepotism. You can not lead when you do not command respect..


Delta Vista Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 27, 2009
- a parent
my daughter has been going to dvms for two years now and has done better than she ever has in school, the staff is very supportive and dedicated to seeing each child suceed.

Delta Vista Middle School 5

Posted June 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Delta Vista Middle School 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a student
Delta Vista has a bully prevention system. Its called the bully box. If you are being bullied, you can put your name and their name and drop it in the box. Then the counsler will call you and him up to her office and talk about it. The teachers are very nice too. I actually go there and its a fun place to be.


Delta Vista Middle School 5

Posted December 17, 2008
- a community member
I graduated from DVMS in 06. Great teachers, great school.

Delta Vista Middle School 5

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Delta Vista Middle School
4901 Frank Hengel Way, Oakley, CA  94561
(925) 625-6840
Last modified Delta Vista Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Delta Vista Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top