« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

Contact this school

4801 Frank Hengel Way
Oakley, CA 94561

School website
(925) 625-6825
(925) 625-6866
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Iron House Elementary School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
August 29, 2013
Great teachers and great students. Much better than the concord schools my kids went too. Teachers are friendly and actually respond if you email them. I have seen the principal nearly every day after school in the front helping the kids and talking to parents. Parents at this school are also friendly and participate more than any other school I have seen. Teachers are very well organized and know the curriculum. Great school!

- submitted by a parent
August 28, 2013
I've had 2 children pass through Iron House Elementary. My youngest is now a 5th grader and this will be her last year. I have nothing but good things to say about this school, from physically being well maintained, to awesome staff and a wonderful principal. They have current technology and go out of their way to keep up with current teaching/learning curriculum. I truly feel my kids have benefited from having attended Iron House. Of course it is/was a California Distinguished school as well!

- submitted by a parent
August 28, 2013
I RATE THIS SCHOOL A 10 AS 10 BEING THE HIGHEST. THEY GO OVER AND BEYOND TO HELP THE KIDS AND THEY ARE A TEAM. THE PRINCIPAL MRS.GARNIER MAKES SURE EVERYONE IS ON BOARD WITH THE PARENT DECISION. I LOVE IRON HOUSE

- submitted by a parent
August 27, 2013
I am very pleased with the teachers and staff at this school. I have has nothing but positive experiences with the teachers my children have and also with the wonderful and supportive office staff.

- submitted by a parent
July 28, 2013
Very difficult to deal with teachers, my first grader was continuously bullied. No one seemed to care, I finally took him out of this school.

- submitted by a parent
July 21, 2012
My daughter attends Iron House Elementary. This has been an excellent school. She is reading, doing math and all other subjects beyond her grade level now. Her teachers have all been amazing and very caring of each student. They have given her extra work to keep her really challenged and are very good about giving praise when the children do well. The classrooms are an inviting place to learn. The staff are all caring and help to ensure each student gets what they need to get a good education. I highly recommend this school. I was going to have my child go to a private school, but after her Kindergarten year, I would never switch.

- submitted by a parent
January 05, 2011
My daughter is very advanced for her age thanks to this school!!! Teachers and staff are super friendly and try their best to help students advance! Very clean school.

- submitted by a parent
September 14, 2010
it's a shame when a school's leadership will undermine and use underhanded tactics to be awarded the "distinguished school" award. It is also a shame when the teachers seem so under-educated that eventhey are not able to speak correct English, i.e. "Look at the big giant cloud." It is also upsetting to observe some of the tactics used by the PTA and the lack of welcome they offer to the parent body as a whole. Also, CA law requires all elementary students to receive 20 minutes of PE every day, recess to not be included, yet the students are punished by having PE won or lost dependent on in class work completion as well as the PE mandate not even being included in the daily schedule but rather a "maybe" status. when PE is offered, it is a teacher observing their classroom playing on the playground with no real "physical education"

- submitted by a parent
January 30, 2010
The teachers go way above average to help children. They are concerned on how your child can improve in every subject

- submitted by a parent
September 15, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
February 20, 2009
They have such a caring school community. The Teachers are really involved and attentive to their students needs. It is like having extended family in the classroom.

- submitted by a parent
January 31, 2009
This is the first time my daughter truly look forward to going to school! She loves the school and especially her teacher Mrs. Dean.

- submitted by a parent
no rating December 10, 2008
this is the best elementary school i have seen. the teachers care and make learning fun. the principal makes the kids want to go to school- my kids hate the school breaks!

- submitted by a parent
December 05, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
July 18, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Iron House Elementary School
4801 Frank Hengel Way, Oakley, CA  94561
(925) 625-6825
Last modified Iron House Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Iron House Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top