Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nichols Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oceanside

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $255,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

I really wanted my child to start kindergarten at a charter school because of the overcrowding in the public school system, but we were not able to get her in. When my daughter entered Kindergartner she was a distracted, non-listener, not motivated and her favorite phrase was "I don't know". She graduated from kindergarten last week, and she is an active reader, she is listening what people are telling her what to do. School is only about 6 months long, and within that short period of time the teacher (Mrs. Jones) molded her into the great student she should be. The only downside of the school in the parking, there is very little parking spaces and people often park on the street 1/4 mile away, and drivers with no patience end up passing on the other side right into traffic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

New principal, Mr.Moran shows great leadership and involves any event. Teachers are so supportive and provide appropriate assignment for the students. PTO is organized well and very friendly! The school rating is not so good just because there are some bilingual students. But they are lovely nice kids and it doesn't mean theachers don't teach well. There are lots of advanced competitive kids, too! Highy recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

Nichols Elementary at 4250 Old Grove Rd, Oceanside, CA earns it's 4 of 10 educational rating. I have two young boys; one in 1st and one in 4th grade. The 4th grade teacher is exemplary, exactly what I expect from a respectable school. But the first grade teacher Ms. Kennington is disappointing. Typically I side with the teacher against my kids but after a few of these incidents clearly leading back to Ms. Kennington, I discovered how detrimental this lady is to the education and safety of the children exposed to her (testament of numerous families who have students in her purview). I filed complaints with the Principal Mr. Moran and other teachers only to be informed at the end of the school year that she had "been made aware of the situation." It is disheartening to know that regardless of how dangerous a teacher is to the health and education of students, there will be nothing done when it is brought to the attention of the proper authorities. This was a series of serious situations we wish we could have avoided. We are remediating our 1st grader over the summer to hopefully prepare him for second and transferring both our students to another school elsewhere in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My son is in kinder this year and has an amazing teacher. She works so hard. The class sizes stink but there is nothing to be done about that. The teacher provides excellent academics as well as art, music, computer lab, and tons of positive encouragement. I feel completely satisfied with his education this year. I'm looking forward to having him continue is education at Nichols.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL and so did my daughter. I wish more people would not their experiences-- the teachers care about the students!! Every elementary experience was GREAT for my daughter who has since moved onto middle school. THANK YOU NICHOLS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

We have a child at this school and look forward to our two younger children attending the school when they're of age. The principal and teachers we have worked with are excellent. Be very critical of average state test scores. The low state average had me worried until I looked at them in more detail. Go on the actual state website and look at scoring distinctions made by ESL and other demographics. Teachers and staff are everything at a school. I have friends with kids at some very sought-after elementary schools (different district) that are very unsatisfied with their school and/or teachers. But on paper, everything is supposed to be great. Parent involvement is also key. One only has to spend a day or two in the classroom to be able to tell which kids are getting additional guidance at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

We have 2 children attending Nichols in 1st and 2nd grades. We have been extremely happy with the teachers our children have had. The teachers are dedicated and truly love their students and their jobs from what we've observed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

Kudos to the teachers at Nichols--despite the challenges that teachers at ALL schools in the area face, you still approach your jobs with enthusiasm and show true love for your students. Test scores are just numbers. They do not quantify your knowledge and passion. THANK YOU, Nichols Elementary School, for providing a safe place for our son to learn!!! We are so proud to be a part of this community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

WHAT is going on with this school? My child will now be attending this school and after our visit to the school today I am getting ready to break my current lease in order to get my child into a DIFFERENT school- The staff there did it for me- and after doing my "homework" I have come to one conclusion- this school needs some serious help- but don't listen to me...do your homework and visit the school- WHY are the test scores so LOW for this school? Someone once told me everything begins with attidude- and theirs STINKS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2010

This school is on probation due to low test scores. They are too conserned about making the Hispanic community pass the English as a Second Language that they forget to help the other students. Too much emphasis on healthy food and uniforms AND NOT ENOUGH ON THE CHILD. Most teachers try to work both sides but are worried that they will get fired if the wrong kids don't pass and the others just get by. IF THEY NEED TO STAY BACK A GRADE, SO BE IT!!!! I did and it helped me out to be better all the way around. I ended up a GATE student. All in the California school system. They don't worry about the English for English speaking but make sure the Spanish handout are correct. OUR NATIONAL LANGUAGE IS ENGLISH. TO LIVE HERE EVERYTHING IS IN ENGLISH, INCLUNDING HOMEWORK AND HANDOUTS!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2010

Friendly Faculty/Staff, Strong PTO, new school that has new ideas for boosting morale
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

A great School with GREAT Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Nichols is a fantastic school, all three of my kids have attended. I feel they care about the students best interest and the teachers are pheonominal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

wonderful teachers & school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

I love Nichols! An amazing group of teachers who love their job and the students. Great students and families!


Posted September 23, 2010

I love Nicols Elementary School in Oceanside, CA because the school has some of the most wonderful teachers and staff. I am a substitute teacher and have been to nearly 100 schools and by far, this is my favorite. My children feel/felt safe and cared for at Nichols Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

We have the best teachers, staff and parent support around. We all work hard together to provide our children with the best academic path. Nichols is a wonderful school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Nichols has teachers who care about the children and help them one-one achieve their potential. Even with the cuts in education to our schools in CA the PTO works hard to provide all the activities and advantages the children need. Nichols is an inclusive school and very diverse. The children, teachers and parents get along well and work together for the students.


Posted September 22, 2010

Teachers care deeply about the progress of their students, not just academically, but socially, emotionally, and physically.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2010

All my kids have done well there, Each one supported in their weaknesses and encouraged in strengths.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

802

Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

802

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students41%
Females53%
Males32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state0%

Math

All Students62%
Females57%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females45%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate24%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females77%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate76%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females78%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females67%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females52%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students60%
Females54%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students41%
Females29%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability36%
Students with no reported disability41%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 56%
White 24%
Black 6%
Asian 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Two or more races 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
English language learners 23%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carlos Moran
Fax number
  • (760) 435-7402

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4250 Old Grove Road
Oceanside, CA 92057
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 435-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT