Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jefferson Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oceanside

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $206,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, August 16, 2014

Was forced to move with my brother who was stationed at Pendleton I see It hasn't changed since 2004 I got in 5 fights my 3 months i attended thier my 8th grade yr with cholos paisas pinoys all affiliat ed in some kind of set and for the school faculity no good either . They dont help when ask for help then they say what I learned in Phoenix az wasn't up to standard so they put you on stupider classes with more caca Palos shitt sticks thx god I knew how to handle my own I made friends with my own worst enemies by showing how tough I was still no kid should have to show how hard they are the kid is thier to learn and to be educated make good friends while attending thier not bad ones


Posted April 18, 2014

Most of the teachers tend to be patient and wonderful with the children. Great little secret in Oceanside!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

I just pulled my son out of this School because he was attacked by 4 students in the bathroom.Once he told the nurse that he was attacked the security guards were never called.He has had his phone stolen and his camera stolen. In 6th grade he was pushed from behind and kicked while on the ground.His teachers were great but he is just too scared to attend Jefferson Middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

Too many fights and bullies. The kids here are constantly on survival mode from other students which takes away from their education. My son had a rock thrown at his face because he wouldn't give a kid his lunch. I worry for his safety he will be transferred. This is where Camp Pendleton sends their kids for a high quality education? I think they could afford to do better!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

Wow.. This school has gone down hill.. More then down hill a SCARY place TO SEND YOUR CHILD....My son use to go to Jefferson in 2005, it was a good school then.. My daughter went to it in 2010-2011 and what a change.. My daughter had a bathroom pass and an boy jumped her in the hall, grabbed her by neck, pushed her into the GIRLS bathroom and said What do you think I am going to rap you? She yelled and he let go. She did not tell her teachers for fear of what the boy might do, so I took it to the police. I made a report then went to the district and they told me it would be best if I home schooled her because the other kids may gang up on her. So I put her in Pacific View for the last six weeks of school. We both hated home school and it was really sad that we had to do that being she was the victim, she had straight A's yet she had to move schools for safety reason's. Stay away is all I can say...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

My daughter attends Jefferson Middle School as a 7th grader. Is it the best school? No. However, the current principal is wonderful and is doing a great job in cleaning up the schools "ghetto" image. He is pushing the academic curriculum and cracking down on discipline problems. He is encouraging students to be involved in their school and take pride in being a "falcon". I do believe that a majority of the problems at this school stem from the students that dont really care what their future holds. As well as their parents having the same attitude. My daughter is a straight A student and works hard to maintain those grades. If your child is willing to listen and learn and put in the effort then they will have no problems at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

I have two children attending this school and it is horrorible. Ghetto is the best way to describe it! Yeah, there are some teachers who are trying if you can get past the wanna be gang members.. Bottom line, dont send your kids here! Especially if they are white my kids here racist comments daily ie. white boy, cracker. Have been jumped numerous times by the "gang bangers". My kids will NOT be attending next year. You want an idea of the demographics of this school, drive through the neighborhood its located in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

To all parents who think that the school is "ghetto" (which always makes me laugh) or.." the teahcers don't do this" and "..the principla doesn't do that"-well, VOLUNTEER in your kids class and see how things run. If my twins tell me that a kid is being disruptive or that they are having a problem in a particular class, guess what, I am in that classroom so fast it would make your head spin. No, I am not a stay at home mom, far from it, I am a Registered Nurse and future business owner. My point is is that it is NOT only the teachers job to educate your child, it is HOME TRAINING that allows your children to either act a fool in the classroom or to LEARN quietly. Teachers have become babysitters- VOULNTEER IN THE CLASS, YOU CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Jefferson used to be a good school.The arts were a big factor in attracting more kids to the school. When my first child went to Jefferson, a lot of the higher performing kids were school of choice, and choose to come to Jefferson for different programs such as music, drama, dance, etc. With the recent change of administration and all the cut backs, the school is very poor quality now. I am pulling my 2nd child out and going to another school. The old principal used to command respect and discipline. That is no longer happening. The wannabe gang kids rule. The test scores are very low, parental involvement almost null. Most field trips are canceled due to lack of parental chaperones and money. There are kids who can NOT speak a word of english in my kids benchmark classes! Oversight? The arts are gone, electives cut to a minimum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

I have a rather low opinion of Jefferson. Most of the other parents in my neighborhood have expressed concern about sending their children there. My child was getting mostly A's & B's in elementary school and was also indentified as a GATE student. After spending 6th grade at Jefferson she is a straight D student and barely passed. My child is ADHD (not an excuse) and simply slipped through the cracks without additional support. I attempted to meet with teachers and administrators several times throughout the year, no luck. I was lucky is e-mails received response. I'm not saying they're bad teachers or bad people, I think they just have too much work, too many students and not enough funding. For 7th grade I was lucky to get into a charter school and eagerly pulled my child out of Jefferson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

Jefferson has below average performance across the board. Their best strategy is to put their worst behaving/performing students with their best performing students...while this may help the poor performer; it creates a drag on the excelling student. They have absolutely no GATE program. Worst of all, their attitude about discipline is to punish the easiest target. If a student accidentally injures another (falling on, dropping an object, etc.) they will punish that student severely. But if there is no physical evidence, (e.g. sexual harassment, hazing, verbal abuse) they will simply offer bland platitudes and 'ensure that appropriate action is taken'. I do not know if this stems from antipathy or laziness, but this is the school's worst quality. I am very happy to be removing my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

jefferson was the best they always made us learend i liked when i was there and it may not look nice but the kids did that. teachers do not give up on the kids just to let you know.


Posted October 12, 2008

JMS is a great school. In my daughter's 6th grade benchmark math class there are about two or three students already starting 7th grade math! Mrs.Rubin is relly motivating my child to get her C into an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

I am disenrolling my child from jms yet again to home school him. He attends class and cannot even get decent instruction due to lack of discipline and organization. The teachers have given up and do not care if the child learns. They'll pass the class not knowing the information and fail the state standards. I struggled with enrolling him there this year. He loves going to school, but he's already behind. California needs to get it together at their 'public' schools. Not everyone can afford to stay home and educate their kids. I am glad I can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

Very unhappy with JMS. The only good thing there was the Music Program and one counselor. If you want your children to succeed and have a healthier environment, JMS is not a good choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

Do not send your kids to this school. My son has always been on the honor roll. Since starting at Jefferson his grades and self esteem have fallen. There is complete lack of supervision and absolutely no structure. Some of the teachers have no controll over their classrooms. If you attempt to solve problems by contacting the staff, you get nothing. This school is ghetto and its not an enviornment where your child can focus on what they are there for- to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

My son is coming from a school on base that performs well, to Jefferson. We don't like it, even though he is enrolled in benchmark classes. I have tried contacting teachers about issues with school work with no response, and I don't feel they are being prepare well for state testing. We won't be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

I was kind of scared to send my son to Jefferson, however I have high regards for this school and staff. I have been very very impressed!!!!! Good Job teachers and Principals and of course the security!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

Jefferson middle school is great! The teachers are fun and great with helping. thanks Jefferson for giving me some great years to remember
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2007

it is a great school, the best
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

704

Change from
2012 to 2013

-44

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

704

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-44

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
42%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
0%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Females34%
Males30%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Non-economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disability12%
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state20%

Math

All Students40%
Females44%
Males35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disability10%
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Females42%
Males32%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander8%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only41%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate25%
Parent education - declined to state19%

Math

All Students40%
Females44%
Males37%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islander18%
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disability5%
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate25%
Parent education - declined to state31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students37%
Females44%
Males32%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Filipino58%
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate30%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate41%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to state35%

English Language Arts

All Students33%
Females42%
Males25%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Filipino50%
Hispanic or Latino22%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disability4%
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate19%
Parent education - high school graduate24%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate51%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate23%
Parent education - declined to state29%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students34%
Females36%
Males34%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Filipino58%
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disability12%
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate22%
Parent education - high school graduate26%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate49%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate31%
Parent education - declined to state30%

Science

All Students39%
Females40%
Males38%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Filipino67%
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disability2%
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented80%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate46%
Parent education - declined to state31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 75%
White 10%
Black 7%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
English language learners 18%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marie Higerada De Ochoa
Fax number
  • (760) 757-5791

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

823 Acacia Street
Oceanside, CA 92058
Website: Click here
Phone: (760) 757-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Victory Christian
Oceanside, CA


Teri Learning Academy
Oceanside, CA





Lincoln Middle School
Oceanside, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT