Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


58 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 1

Posted April 05, 2014
- a community member
This school has severe bullying issues. I was bullied by these eighth graders who didn't really know much. The kids there were really mean and didn't care about you. This is a really horrible school for children. I would recommend Vista Magnet Middle School. The kids are nice and so are the teachers.

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 1

Posted October 08, 2013
- a community member
I was severely bullied at this school, 6th-8th grade. Don't send your kids here unless you want them to get hurt while school staff idly does nothing about it, even when it's reported. They'll just give 'em a slap on the wrist with detention. The teachers are only there for a paycheck, not to educate. Wish I had gone to Jefferson.


Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a community member
This school sucks it may be better than jefferson but acctually... at mlk you will not get friends unless ur hot. at jefferson theres a gang but any person will be happy to be ur friend there :0 so this school sucks

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2013
- a community member
I am a 8th grader here at LK. This school is a regular middle school. Not perfect but not horrible. So far people complain about the disipline at this school. As a student, I realize that (becaues of budgit cuts throughout Cali') teachers are getting pink slips making classes big with more kids.( up to 35) So, one teacher can't control that many kids while teaching them. Think of your own kid(s) times 25. Do you think you could keep up. They do have a detention plan and it is strict. This school is safe and well managed. There is a lot of parent volinteer opertunites. Some electives are Leadership, Art, Band, Orchristra, Chours, Avid, Yearbook, and more. The teachers are nice and try to personally bond with each student that walks through their door. Lunch is O.K. They plan opptions for everyone. There is also a student store were you can buy school supplies, snacks, and other things throughout the year. There are no lockers, but PE has lockers for evry student to but there pe clothes and shoes in. The PE gym is high tech. It looks like a real gym. I personally recomend MLK for any student.

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 4

Posted June 04, 2013
- a community member
This school is good. But I see that the reviews for this school have stopped ever since Bob Rowe(previous principal) left the school. I wasn't at this school when he was there but is it really worse? My only bad comment is that some of the teachers don't look like they are trying to really teach the students. Just get good scores and get it over with. -Submitted by 7th grade student.


Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 5

Posted August 03, 2011
- a parent
Fantastic group of teachers. The administration is the best in the district. We will miss Bob Rowe, but he has done a wonderful job making this the best middle school in Oceanside.

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2010
- a parent
So relieved that this school is in Oceanside! Principal Rowe and the staff have created an uplifting and challenging academic environment for the students. Test scores are going up up! The atmosphere is upbeat and impressive every time I'm there. Its a melting pot of kids and that has been great proof that its the administration, the students, and the parents that make a great school! Keep up the good work MLK!

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a community member
The teaching staff at King Middle School is outstanding.


Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 4

Posted September 27, 2010
- a parent
So far so good with the teachers, my son was shuffled around because the classes were over crowded but thats okay. The security however is another thing they need to lay off of the poor attitudes.

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 5

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
What a great school! My son has excelled in academic and social interactions. They highly welcome parent involvement. Mr. Rowe and his staff are nothing short of awesome! My family will miss them when my son goes off to high school next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School
1290 Ivey Ranch Road, Oceanside, CA  92057
(760) 967-1122
Last modified Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top