Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

My daughter started kindergarten this year. She had previously been in preschool for almost 3 years where they were teaching her pretty advanced lessons like counting in the 1,000's and writing in cursive. I was worried she would be bored but that's not the case. She is thriving and loves school. I'm not sure how her teacher differentiates instruction so well, but she does. My daughter is already writing detailed stories! I can't wait to see how much more she will progress.
September 28, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mission Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2016
- a parent
The staff at Mission Meadows is so friendly and helpful. Dr. Porter is very enthusiastic with the kids which makes it a great learning environment. I have 2 children that have been going here since pre-school and Kindergarten and we are proud to call ourselves Mission Meadows Mustangs!

Mission Meadows Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted August 26, 2016
- a parent
The front office staff is one of the Best around! Very friendly and helpful. They never make you feel like you are bothering them, like I have seen at other schools.


Mission Meadows Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a community member
Yes, students experiences honesty, integrity, and fairness while attending school. I have never felt that my student was treated unfairly either.

Mission Meadows Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 31, 2016
- a community member
Thank you to the awesome office staff that goes above and beyond. They are the first faces you see when you walk in...and it's amazing.

Mission Meadows Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a community member
Respect is definitely taught at Mission meadows. Students learn to respect their teachers, peers, and themselves.


Mission Meadows Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a community member
There is a large special education program at Mission Meadows, and it really adds to the wonderful atmosphere! Kids are able to grow up along side kids with different abilities and learn from them. They host an " ability awareness" week at the beginning of the year every year to help kids learn more about kids who seem different than themselves. I see students interacting with these students and its always kind. You should have seen the cheers a special needs student got when he took the stage at the annual Variety show!

Mission Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2016
- a community member
Mission Meadows is a true community school. Dr. Porter leads his staff firmly and respectively and cares about the students deeply. You can see him most lunches walking the playground, and lunch area talking to students and interacting with them. He is a total professional too. He gets back to you promptly when you call or send an email. Another reason this school is awesome is the beyond wonderful office staff. I can't say enough about these people!! Michele Brown is the office manager and so easy to talk to. She goes beyond the call of duty and even does a Book club with the 5th graders during her lunch time!! Lorena Rosas is the front office assistant and ALWAYS welcome everyone who comes in with a smile. She is friendly and helpful. And lastly, Penny Capra was added to the staff this last year and she not only fits in well with the existing staff, but is warm and friendly also. They always try to help parents and resolve any issues. The PTA is also super awesome at Mission Meadows. They put on a Harvest Carnival that is beyond awesome that is not just fun, but builds community within the school. They seem to be ever present, putting on programs, and helping the school. My only beef with the school is that they don't seem to have as many field trips as other schools. I'm not sure why that is. But maybe that can change in the future. Either way, it's not a deal breaker.

Mission Meadows Elementary School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted November 18, 2015
- a school leader
Our principal, Dr. Porter demonstrates honesty, integrity and fairness everyday. He is out with students at recess and lunch as well as in classrooms everyday. He consistently teaches problem solving, peer mediation and how to treat people with respect all using the same qualities he practices everyday with students and staff.


Mission Meadows Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 28, 2015
- a school leader
My daughter started kindergarten this year. She had previously been in preschool for almost 3 years where they were teaching her pretty advanced lessons like counting in the 1,000's and writing in cursive. I was worried she would be bored but that's not the case. She is thriving and loves school. I'm not sure how her teacher differentiates instruction so well, but she does. My daughter is already writing detailed stories! I can't wait to see how much more she will progress.

Mission Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
Our child came to Mission Meadows with only a few months left in the school year. Our child feels welcome and has learned more than she did at her former school in a short amount of time. She has worked on subjects other than math, which was all the old school cared about. I highly recommend Mission Meadows!

Nearby schools

Mission Meadows Elementary School
5657 Spur Avenue, Oceanside, CA  92056
(760) 630-7884
Last modified Mission Meadows Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top