Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ranch View Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Ontario

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $224,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

Ranch View is wonderfully old fashion. Everyone knows everyone, the teachers are approachable, there is a strong sense of order and follow through, the teachers are wonderful, especially Mrs. Edwards, and make great use of their time. We could not be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

This school is corrupted by favoritism. PTA and teachers kids get everything. Everyone knows this and don't do anything about it for fear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

We transferred our daughter into this district due to a less than desirable neighborhood school, and she attends Ranch View as a 1st grader. The level of education and opportunities she is receiving is top notch compared to her kindergarten experience. She started the year a little behind, but her teacher has gone above and beyond to catch her up. Her teacher is great! She cares about her students, but works them hard. She even called me at the beginning of the year to give me a progress report on my daughter, just to reassure us that our daughter was adjusting well to the new school. I appreciated the extra touch. This is a great school and every faculty member that we have encountered has been very polite, helpful and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

I really love this school. Mrs. Lebron-Fraizer is an awesome teacher. She have the patient and she shows just how much she love her job- her passion for these kids are unbelievable. Sorry we have to go..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

I love this school because my son has learn , is a good school ! Thank you teachers and staff;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2012

For the most part I'm happy with this school. If I bring a concern to my sons teacher they work with me to alleviate the issue. It's a clean and safe school that has a welcoming feeling. The only negative thing that I have to say is that as with all schools there can be a couple of bad apples in the teaching staff. At this point my son hasn't had a bad teacher but we've been lucky to dodge these two teachers which I will not mention by name until necessary. Every new school year is filled with anxiety until we know that my son has not gotten these bad apple teachers. I think that bad bully teachers should be removed from classes especially classes with young children. I will not allow my kid to be in their class, I'll homeschool before that happens. FYI I've seen their bad behavior and have family members who have been students of the bad apples. Principals and super intendents need to take student and parents concerns more seriously when it come to this topic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I love this school because my daugther has learn and it a good school good teachers, and staff I recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

My children attended this school from k - 3 grades. Due to work circumstances, we moved into another area, with great schools. HaHaHa. We have attended 2 schools since Ranch View, and neither has compared in any manner. From the bottom to the top, every person involved at this school had the same thing in common. To care about our children. I made the biggest mistake of my childrens academic life by leaving this school and district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

wonderful principal, very hands-on. great opportunities for all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Ranch View is awesome! We are so lucky to have this jewel of a school. From the principal to the custodians, the administration, faculty and staff all care for our students. The academics are top notch as my oldest who went through 6 years at Ranch View was accepted into an elite high school. Currently, I have two children who attend and their state scores are high, they are well prepared for the state tests, they are articulate and caring, and strive to do well for their teachers. In other words, the teachers certainly bring out the best in my kids! Both of my students are involved in special music and art activities in their classrooms. They get out for physical education 4 out of 5 days! Finally, the parent involvement at Ranch View is phenomenal. There are 18 board members on PTA. I would like to see more association members-join today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

I actually like this school. They absolutely care if the students learn. The homework is what they are learning in the class. I am really glad my son has a chance to learn at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

This school is wonderful. All the teachers and staff truly care for our kids. Parent involvement is one of the highest I've ever seen. The quality of the academics is phenominal. Every child is more than ready to enter the next grade usually at three-quarters of the way through the grade they're in. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

Ranch View is an exceptional school. The administration and office staff are very helpful. They have a lot of wonderful teachers at Ranch View. The PTA is very active in the school. They bring in parent involvment. Overall, Ranch View is a great school.This says a lot about their leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

Our kids attend 2nd and 3rd grades. Our 8th grader attended (4th & 5th) there since 2002 when we moved into the area. The staff and parents are very involved and we have seen lots of exciting improvements. A real blessing in public education, hopefully increased tax bases trickle into the system to 'really' appreciate teachers and administrators and get them the tools and resources required to produce achievers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

I am very impressed with this school. They have a strong first grade program, with awesome first grade teachers. I can't say first hand what the other grade levels are like, but all the teachers and staff are very nice and are passionate about their students. The school also has a very active PTA that does so much for the school. My child loves the school as well and is doing very well academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

My Daughter was having a very difficult time with her grades she was very close to being held back in the 3rd grade at Berlyn since attending Ranch View she has made a complete turn around, teachers are very helpful and genuinely concern about each childs academics... I cannot thank them enough for the time that they have dedicated to her in order to get her where she needs to be... I truly do hate having my daughter leave as she has truly bonded with those teachers. Ranch View in my opinion is one the best public schools in South Ontario.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

Two of my daughters attened ranch view, I loved it, the girls loved the school and the teachers. My oldest atttened from grade 1st to 5th. She will miss it greatly, my other daughter who will be in 4th grade will also miss ranch view, because we have moved out of the city. I wish there was a way I can keep my daughter there. I will also miss ranch view and the teachers who really cared about all the kids who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

Probably like every school, I was really impressed with some of the teachers, and not so impressed with some others. I believe the kindergarten curriculum is pretty weak, but it gets much better in the first grade. Unfortunately, due to state cut backs and state testing, there really is no extracurricular activities (music, art, etc.). So, it really depends on the teacher to be able to fit it in. I noticed a more parent involvement in the lower grades, and not so much in the upper grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

828

Change from
2012 to 2013

+14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

828

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females71%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females58%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate45%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Females55%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate59%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females64%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner65%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females76%
Males55%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females74%
Males67%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females73%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students51%
Females53%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate48%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students60%
Females64%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 52%
White 13% 26%
Black 10% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 11%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 Old Archibald Road
Ontario, CA 91761
Phone: (909) 947-5545

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT