Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Del Norte Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ontario

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $187,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

if this schools was more focus on students education and had programs to better assist students that are behind instead of focusing on the students recess and how they acted during their recess or lunch they would be a success. Last year my son went to this school and it seemed that everyday he was in trouble for one day that he was playing around with another student he was in trouble ever since it seem that the teacher, vice principal and principal everyday focus was my son because of that my son fell more behind in his school work one day i finally decided to transfer them out when. once i transfered him and spoke to his new teacher at the new school explained to her what had happened at the previous school she told me that i should of reported this to someone else hire than the principal because how they treated my son was not appropriete.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

The PTO at our school is very dedicated and always do what's best for the community. The staff are very helpful and hardworking. Some of our parents are devoted to helping in any way they can! Our new principal is guiding us toward common core so we can be prepared for when it officially starts next year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 23, 2013

My school is AWESOME I been a parent since 2009 and its been wonderful staff and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

My school is the best! My daughter was in two different schools, and she was not happy till we came to Del Norte. The staff and teachers are AMAZING, if you have issues they will resolve it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I love Del Norte Elementary because I as a child attended Del Norte, and it was a great school back then. And it has continued to be. My three children have all attended it and have all had extremly wonderful Teachers throughout thier lives there. It continues to improve every year that goes by.Our Administraters are absolutly wonderful ! They have really brought back organization and community involement back to were the parents are comfortable. It is a great school all around !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

its a great school cares a lot of what happens with students


Posted May 5, 2009

This school is not the best school but i will say that there newest teacher mrs. Peraza is the best teacher ever she is very caring and has taught my child a lot since her being at this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

When reading the note about the dirty restrooms I went and checked for myself. Wow! Were they clean, paper was well stocked and they had a fresh mango smell, and the teachers are fabulous! Thanks Del Norte Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

I was told by the Office Manager about this issue a couple of weeks ago and it concerned me. I had been checking the restrooms throughout the day but after hearing that, I checked more frequently. Everytime I would check, the toilet paper was fine, the restrooms were used but clean. After reading your comment I walked my Principal in there and told him to show me where they were dirty and he found nothing. The state of California inspected them recently and found nothing unsanitary. The Director of Maintenance and Facilities recently walked through them at the end of a day when they would be the worse and found nothing. Mam, to state on this site that there was no t.p for 2 days is ignorant to say the least, unfortunatly I can't stand in there all day after these sweet children go potty, but I will try improving. Eric, Custodian


Posted December 5, 2008

I have noticed that Del Norte is a school where if there is a concern and you bring it to the school's attention, it is resolved. They care about the students and their needs. Parents are a first priority. Teachers are excellent and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

This is my daughter's first year at this school .she has only been at this school 2 months now and we have had a number of issues with the restrooms they are really dirty! We use to live in west covina and the school my daughter attened was very clean my daughter has come home and told me there has not been toilet paper for 2 days so she waits to come home to use the restroom as for the teachers i use to get a progress report at least every 6 to 8 weeks at my daughter's old school here we have got none my daughter's teacher said we have to wait until parent confrence i really dont like this school there is no communication!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

I really love our school. The staff, the community but especially the kids are awesome. They are hard-working and dedicated to making the most of their education!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2007

Wow! this school makes you ask 'Is this a public school?'. I was amazed at how personal the staff treats everyone. My children are finally at a school that we both love where the children really do come first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

They have great teachers and they take that extra time with your child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

Teachers were absolutely awesome. However, the area consists of low income and unsupervised children which made the environement a bit of a challenge. Teachers can only do so much. Principle Mr. Gallagher is incredible!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

784

Change from
2012 to 2013

+11

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

784

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+11

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females49%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females59%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner61%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Females44%
Males35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learner32%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)27%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females65%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females62%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females68%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner63%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate67%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females60%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females79%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner71%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate68%
Parent education - high school graduate84%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students29%
Females31%
Males29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability31%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate21%
Parent education - high school graduate30%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 93% 52%
Black 4% 6%
White 2% 26%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carmen Mejico
Fax number
  • (909) 459-2662

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

850 Del Norte Avenue
Ontario, CA 91764
Phone: (909) 986-9515

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT