Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2016
- a teacher
The school just received accreditation as an IB International school in which an international perspective is taken and cross curricular themes are taught. The teachers are fully invested in implementing the high academic standards of an IB school. Enrichment activities as well as after school activities revolving around sports and dance are offered to the students regularly. A new principal has set a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
My son has been at Hawthorne since kindergarten he is now in third grade, the school has improved so much. They have a great assistant principal, a great PTA and the teachers are really good. My daughter is just finishing kindergarten and will be there for first grade. I love Hawthorne and I am so happy with what it's becoming.


Hawthorne Elementary School 1

Posted May 21, 2013
- a parent
My family and I are so happy to out of this school. The office staff is totally incompetent, they are a teir one low performing school, there are many bullies and many kids that dont speak any English and the teachers still speak spanish to them instead of encouraging English. The kids dont care if they learn anything and its very dirty and unkempt..

Hawthorne Elementary School 1

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
I would not recommend this school for any child, the administration does not allow parents to walk their children on to campus in the mornings, and children are discplined by sitting in the vice principals office or principals office in a chair and forced to stare at a red dot on the wall. I pulled my children from this school after seeing how the students were treated , and my children were not ones that were "discplined" by the red dot. I feel that the administration is far more focused on their academic score and becoming an IB school that the welfare of the children and actually caring about the children and being compassionate and connecting to the kids. If your child is not a high performer or has any "behavior issues" beware.

Hawthorne Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 26, 2009
- a community member
My nephew just started attending this school. I don't know much about it but before this school he was going to Stoner Elementary School in Culver City and I did notice that @ Stoner he learned a lot and he always had homework. Now at this new school he says he does'nt have much homework I wonder why I mean he is in first grade so what is he learning.....??????//


Hawthorne Elementary School 4

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
The teachers that we have had are fantastic! They really care about each student and their success. We have really appreciated that!

Hawthorne Elementary School 2

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
The teachers at this school are WONDERFUL, but the mandates from above give them no creativity in the classroom. All I see are worksheets. My first grader doesn't want to go to school! There are a lot of challenges for this school to overcome before it would deserve a higher score.

Hawthorne Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
I am so pleased with Hawthorne school.The staff is very hard-working and caring. I know my children really like coming to school. When I had a problem the principal worked with me to make sure everything was taken care of. The parents at Hawthorne school work really hard also to make sure the school is good. They volunteer in the classroom and do the carnival.


Hawthorne Elementary School 1

Posted August 20, 2006
- a parent
This school is very poor in listening to the parents concerns.

Hawthorne Elementary School 4

Posted October 05, 2005
- a parent
The academic program was very good, my daughter's first grade class curriculum including important science and social science concepts in addition to lots of math and reading, although, I would like to see more art included. The school places a strong emphasis on good citizenship among the pupils and has a very active PTA which sponsors many fieldtrips and fundraising events throughout the school year. I find the school uniform policy to be a plus. Overall a very good school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hawthorne Elementary School
705 West Hawthorne Street, Ontario, CA  91762-1599
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (909) 986-6582
Last modified Hawthorne Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top