Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Covenant Christian

Private | K-8 | 70 students

Our school is known for our award winning athletic program

 

Living in Orange

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $408,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Covenant is a wonderful school. The teachers and staff are truly loving, caring people and make you feel like family. We are very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I love this school. The classes are small, so kids get the attention they need and the ladies in the office are super nice.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 1, 2013

My daughter has been at Covenant Christian School in Orange, CA since pre-school. She is now going into 4th grade. We have been so happy with the school. The teachers and staff really care about each individual child and go out of their way to help and make school an enjoyable learning experience. It is amazing how many of our students receive honors each trimester for grades of 3.5 gpa and above. When the kids enjoy what they do, they do a better job. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

Our son is now in 3rd grade at Covenant and has attended CCS since he was 3 years old. We love the school, the staff (teachers, office, principal, daycare) and the warm and friendly environment. The class sizes are smaller than public and most private schools providing an excellent learning environment. His academic achievement and scores are very impressive and we could not be more pleased. CCS is an extended family for us and we love the fact that all the children know each other, biblical principles are taught and it shows in the way the children treat each other with love and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

My daughter attended the summer program this year and we love this school. The staff is amazing. The environment is very friendly and there is more attention on the kids, then our experience in traditional schools/summer programs. My daughter goes to one of the top schools in the county, but has always struggled with bullying in that school and as a result has been sad, and hated going to school. In just two months of going to the summer program she is like a different child, she is so much happier and loves to go CCS, she gets along great with all the other students, and absolutely loves the staff. We like it so much here, we are going to try to send her to school here full time :) Thank you to the staff and everyone at the school for being so awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2012

My son has been coming to CCS for preschool for 2 years and he loves it. I just started my daughter here and she is loving it too. I am very happy with all the teachers. I can tell all the teachers actually loves their job and students. The preschool director is very sweet. Overall...I highly recommend the preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

My son has gone to preschool at Covenant for three years now. We have absolutely loved all of his teachers and couldn't have asked for a more supportive and loving environment for him. The school is affordable while also upholding very high standards. I would recommend it to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

I have a Preschooler and Elementary Student at CCS. This is our first year at CCS and we couldn't be happier! -Small class sizes mean more one on one attention -The teachers model their love for and their faith in Jesus Christ -The teachers help the students to achieve their personal best in academics and behavior -Everyone is super friendly -My kids love to learn because their teachers put forth 110% into their teaching -My kids are seen as a person and not a number like we felt in the public school system!!! We have been warmly welcomed into the CCS family. My only regret is that we didn't start sending them to CCS sooner!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

I am a former student of Covenant Christian school, as well as a parent of children who have attended Covenant Christian School. Two of my children have gone through the pre-school program at Covenant, and I was thrilled with the program! The teachers provided excellent instruction to help my children with kindergarten readiness skills. I loved the fact that my children were learning basic skills in a loving, christ-centered environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2012

We are now WASC accredited. We have a fabulous young principal and with small class sizes we are able to give individual attention to your children. I teach a science lab to children K- 5. It is the highlight of my week to interact with them and watch their scientific thinking grow. Come check us out. You will be pleasantly surprised.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2012

I am a former student of Covenant Christian School. The faith based education that I received gave me a firm foundation and helped me as I entered the public education system for high school. Covenant Christian School empowered me, helped me grow in my faith, and equipped me for life in public school. It was an incredible blessing to me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

Our daugher was a different child after we moved her to this school. She went from failing and being suspended at one school to a honor student with friends. She loved her teacher and her fellow students. The staff, teachers and students were helpful and loving to each other. The older students are taught to be role models to the younger children. The new principal is wonderful. If you want a great education and a wonderful environment for your children please look at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

This is a wonderful school. My son has been going here since Kindergarten and he has always been close to the teachers. So far, all teachers K-2 have been exceptional and have been responsive to any of our questions or concerns. Academically, my son's reading and math skills I believe are higher than peers his age. The size of the classes (12) have provided almost a personalized instruction which definitely have assisted in the skill building. The office support is also wonderful and very helpful. Oh yes, we just got a new principal and I can see just in the few short months he is an exceptional leader and organizer. He's even managed to get most of us late parents on time! Already a great school, with this principal there's no where to go but off the charts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

from the first phone call into the office until now, almost 2 years later we have been surrounded by love and friendship at CCS! Instant embracing by great quality teachers and staff. I love to volunteer as it's so rewarding. I only wish even more parents would participate at events-they dont know what they are missing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

My daughter went to this preschool when she was 3 years old. The curriculum and end of year portfolio were nice but communication was not good. I rarely saw the teacher and the before and after school teachers were not nice to my daughter. The behavior management program "Obedience God's Way" with its color coding system is something that should only be used in first grade on up and instead it was used in a 3 year old's class. It is punitive and provides absolutely no opportunity for a child to correct their behaviors. I pulled my daughter out of this school and found an excellent preschool that really was more Christian than Covenant claims to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

My daughter went to CCS Kindergarten through 8th grade. She LOVED CCS! She was very active in sports at CCS, especially basketball and volleyball. And, while she graduated as 8th grade Valedictorian, I still hoped and prayed that CCS had prepared her well for high school, especially since we enrolled her at a local prestigious private high school. Well, CCS did prepare her well! She finished her freshman year with a 4.0 GPA, and played JV basketball and JV track. CCS is a wonderful school, with wonderful teachers; and I'd recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

I am a new parent to the school this school year and I have been so happy with Covenant. There are so many extra curricular activities offered that my kids have something going every day of the week there. Our principal there has been great and has a true passion for his work with our kids, and for our kids. There are so many great opportunies for parents to be involved here and I just see this school continuing to grow stronger and stronger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2007

CCS is an excellent school. Our daughter is so happy there. We love her teachers. They are committed to providing a quality education. They truly love the children and teach through their actions. Character and integrity are being taught. They are also being shown the love of the Lord and learning to walk in His ways every day. We are pleased that they offer music, art, science, computer, library and PE. They also offer other extracurricular activities like sports, cheer, dance, etc. I would whole-heartedly recommend Covenant Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Great school! Teachers that not only teach the Christian faith but show it in thier actions. Academics are improving every year. Close to being accredited.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 24, 2006

Just a great school. My daughter is in Kindergarten, and I looked all over. I am so bless to have my daughter's teacher at her school.She walks with the lord and just loves kids. Go see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 26%
Hispanic 24% 52%
Black 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jeff Williamson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Math
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
140
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
140

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Orange Lutheran
MaterDei
Crean Lutheran
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1855 North Orange Olive Road
Orange, CA 92865
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 998-4852

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT