Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Orange, CA
Students enrolled: 508
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Handy Elementary School 3

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
I have both my daughters at this school. One attends Kinder an the other attends 6th grade. Their first year at Handy 2013. My 6th grader was bullied, but principal and her teacher took it very serious, maybe because I made a huge dilema about it. Their lunch menu is not that appetizing (per my kids). On the other hand teachers are great @ Handy.

Handy Elementary School 4

Posted January 17, 2011
- a community member
I would like to point out to the public, despite some of the unfavorable comments posted, Handy has some of the most highly trained teachers in the county as required in receipt of additional grants and other funding. Our teachers work tirelessly to marry the no-non-sense curriculum standards and language development to engaging lessons and activities. Welcome is the public, to come share any of your gifts of time, energy , or resources in the development of your community's young people! We'd love to have you!


Handy Elementary School 1

Posted August 19, 2010
- a parent
My son has gone to a private school since preschool and unfortunately had to finish the last 6 weeks of 5th grade at this school since it is closest to our home. What a mistake. We are used to a very mixed/diverse enviornment and this school was not it. My son was antagonized every day and ate lunch by himself. When I mentioned it to the principal she laughed it off. I called and left messages for his teacher to call me on several occasions with no response. This school does NOT care about it's students or parent participation. My son lost his father in Oct. 2009 and the heartache continued with this school treating him the way it did. I am in no way a racist but it is not right for a school to be so dominated that any other race is cast off and/or antagonized for NO reason. He should have been more protected by the staff!

Handy Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2008
- a community member
The students, teachers, and support staff all work extremely hard to ensure that all students are able to reach their fullest potential in a safe, challenging, and nurturing environment.

Handy Elementary School 1

Posted August 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Handy Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2008
- a community member
This school rocks!!!! Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quality education!!!

Handy Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Handy Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Handy Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
the teachers are doing good job, just we need to help kids with the homework.

Handy Elementary School 1

Posted July 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Handy Elementary School
860 North Handy Street, Orange, CA  92867
(714) 997-6183
Last modified Handy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Handy Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top