Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Linda Vista Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 07, 2015
- a community member
Kindergarten teacher Sue Leavitt made our son feel loved and competent and that he could achieve if he worked hard. She gave him the best start possible.

Linda Vista Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 07, 2015
- a community member
My son entered kindergarten not reading and he left knowing how to read. Of course he got lots of support at home, but his teacher made all the difference. That's effective.


Linda Vista Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 07, 2015
- a community member
The amount is supposed to be done within a half hour, but there are many nights when it is closer to an hour. So much of it feels like busy work. This is one area where I am not impressed at all.

Linda Vista Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 07, 2015
- a community member
There is a strong emphasis throughout the school on programs that help kids be "bucket fillers" and not "bucket dippers."The wording is a little awkward, but the point is to promote being positive, rather than ruining someone's day with negative talk or bullying behavior.

Linda Vista Elementary School 4

Posted November 07, 2015
- a community member
It's interesting to me that there are no current reviews for this school. I will say that the observation about a strong PTA is true, which benefits the kids with added programs not available at lower-performing school. The facility is fairly well maintained for a public school. I have a son who is now in first grade, and went through kindergarten there. I found both the kindergarten teachers to be excellent--how they manage to keep the kids happy and teach them anything with a class size of 30+ is truly remarkable. The former principal, Sally Hughson, was very engaged with the teachers, students and parents, and highly competent. She learned everyone's name and was a smart, fair and caring individual. This year the position is held by Mr. Johnson, who came from the Fullerton District. While he seems affable enough, he is rarely in evidence and seems to be somewhat phoning in his duties. The teachers overall are good; some are far better than others, but no one is terrible, at least that I have heard. Many of the female teachers seem to prefer little girls who sit quietly and color, and come down really hard on boys. The largest problematic issues, I think, are the large class sizes and the institutional training methods. This is very much a "by the book," teach-to-the-test kind of place, but as far as public schools go, it is succeeding. If we could afford it, we would send out son to the private school across the road, Oakridge. Until then, we'll make do with Linda Vista. You could do a lot worse than this school.


Linda Vista Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2012
- a parent
Linda Vista is great. The teacher are genuinely concerned about the children's welfare. Principal in "hands on" knows the kids by name and is accessible. Parents are friendly and helpful. I don't know what kids the others posted about being mean. This is my sons third year and all the kids in his classes have been very nice (and most of them well mannered as well).

Linda Vista Elementary School 4

Posted April 11, 2012
- a parent
Linda Vista is very dedicated to providing a top notch academic program. Lots of parent involvement, which is great. However, if you are not fortunate enough to be a stay at home parent and /or able to volunteer massive amounts of time, your child may not get the positive attention they deserve, nor will you.. The classroom volunteers, albeit helpful, are way more involved with the parents than the teachers seem to be. I wish there was more of an attempt to establish relationships with those parents who can not be in their child's classroom on a weekly basis. Sometimes the teachers can be harsh in their approach to discipline. There is a certain level of intolerance for kids being "kids". The parking / drop off situation is a nightmare, like a lot of schools. Knowing that this is a challenge, there is little leeway given to parents in terms of tardiness. Gates are locked one minute after the bell rings and you have to drag all your kids through the office and given a lecture on being on time. All in all, this school seems strong and successful. It just wouldn't kill their reputation to lighten up a bit. Its not military school and happy kids are better than awards.

Linda Vista Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2011
- a parent
I love Linda Vista and all the envolvement from the parents. I also love how small the school is. The principal is the best. She really cares about our kids!!!


Linda Vista Elementary School 4

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
I also have to agree that Linda Vista has THE BEST PRINCIPAL ever!! She is very dedicated to her students on a personal level. She is also very hands - on, by over looking the car pool line, come rain or shine. However, my childs teacher does seem to be more harsh, than rewarding and not very relaxed. Students do need to have some fun, and could benefit by a teacher who knows how to relax and laugh with the kids from time to time. My child feels like she is attending a military school, instead of a public school. Maybe the combo classes aren't such a great idea, spreading a teacher too thin, even though they try and deny it. There is potential at this small school, but teachers do need to encourage and not discourage our students, who only want to please them....???

Linda Vista Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
I love how involved all the parents and teachers are.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Linda Vista Elementary School
1200 North Cannon Street, Orange, CA  92869-1303
(714) 997-6201
Last modified Linda Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Linda Vista Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top