Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Santiago Middle School

Charter | 7-8 | 971 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

My daughter attended this school in 7th grade. I felt the school was good for her academically.My daughter experienced some bullying and we were very satisfied with the way the school addressed the issue. My daughter decided to transfer to OCSA for 8th grade for her love of theater.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

i loved going to this school i learned so many things from the tachers and i hope that they keep doing a great job. student in 2009
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2009

I am in ninth grade and just spent the last 2 years of my life at santaigo ms. While I was there i didnt really appreciate everything, but now I miss it greatly. I sometimes find myself near tears because I miss that school so much. Ther, of corse, is drama and aspects that i wish were not there those two years, but all of the good things that happened definatly outweighed the bad. I was talking with my fellow ninth grade friends and we all agree those were the two best years of our life and we cannot imagine anything better. All of the teachers were amazing and all of my friends wish greatly that the terachers from santiago could teach us in hs. We did not appreciate it while we wer at santiago, but we greatly miss it and would give anythign to go back. It was too short


Posted August 7, 2009

I have had three children graduate from Santiago and I am enrolling two more this summer. All positive experiences. My son is health impared and at our initial meeting, the Principal came up with great ideas for accomidating him and educating the staff about his unusual condition. We always stay involved and help solve issues that arise. This is a difficuly age group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

good nice clean school the teachers are helpful the vice principals are so helpful except for the 7th grade Spanish teacher she is a little so strict
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

i am a seventh grader here at santiago middle school. the teachers are great and the uniform code is nice. the student behavior is horrble however. there is much swearing and lots of drama. but my overall rating ofthis school so far is a 9.5.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2008

Well, I'm a seventh grader. This is an overview of what I experienced. The teacher quality is greater then i expected, and the service is great. The only thing lacking is my lack of experience so It's my bad on rating it low.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2008

I'm an eigth grader at this school, and so far i'm having a blast at this school. The teacher are always there to help us, and there are always fun activities around. Probably the only problem is the unifrom policy. It can be ridiculous. I mean, i get the tuck in your shirt part, but to even dictate our sock choices? You have go to be kidding me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2008

If your child struggles find another school. Its all about a numbers game. The office staff is more likely to take notice if your white with blue eyes. Not a place I recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

ive been in this school for a year and its been great! ive achieved so many things that i never thought i can do. the teachers are great and have taught so many things and im really thankful that i got to go to this school! so if any parent is looking for a good school for your child this is the one to go! Thamk you Santiago charter Middle school!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2007

As a student here at Santiago for now, almost 2 years, I have come to really enjoy everything about it. Athletics at this school are wonderful and the athlete who do compete in this school are dedicated and good at the sports they do. Even the test scores are good, and the students really learn from the teachers. I learned so much knowledge and informationthat helped me pass tests and quizes with flying colours. Santiago even has great elective classes. Like woodshop for example. Or if your child isn't into woodshop, may I suggest drama, music, art, computers, TA (teacher's assistant), or even home economics. And the students there are always having fun doing things and joing clubs of their liking. Santiago was such a great school, I would advise anyone to go here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2006

This school was pretty good. The teachers are okay. The rules are very unecessary.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 15, 2005

Due to the charter, the teachers in this school have direct control of curriculum. This encourages innovation and adaptation. There is a sense of ownership throughout the school, which makes everything work better than the norm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

I am very disappointed in this school. Uniform policy is not inforced as much as it should be. Staff & administration are not willing to go the extra mile for the kids that need it. It is very discouraging that such a reputable school has no desire to reach the failing kids to academically achieve. I am very disappointed in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2004

Santiago has the best program in the district! The staff, both administrative and faculty, care about all the kids, from english learners to honors. With 1,100 kids I think they do a remarkable job giving the kids a challenging program that prepares them for high school and beyond. The uniqueness of the parent involvement contract makes it a welcoming place to get involved and see first hand what a great place it is. There is no perfect school because there are no perfect kids, teachers or parents but it is an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2004

Santiago is a great academic school. The teachers are very good and always give the students a good challenge. The only big problem with the school is it's safety. The school is not a safe place and your child could be beaten up very easily boy or girl.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2004

My girls loved Santiago. I found the teachers and principal to be very concerned with their well-being and helped to encourage them always to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2004

As the parent of an 8th grader who is in the 2nd year at Santiago, I can say we are looking forward to leaving the school. The social aspects are great, the kids are great, but there is no uniformity in discipline, structure or curriculum within the school. A 'Distinguished' School that leaves much to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

For the most part, this is a wonderful school. The honor's program is great and the teachers really encourage the kids. The dress code (uniforms) is a joke. The kids all know how to get around it, the teachers don't enforce it, so why bother having a rule that's not enforced? Other than the occasional fights that break out, the school has done a good job. Thank you teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

My son did extremely well at Santiago last year and we are looking forward to the 2003-2004 school year at Santiago. As far as obtaining extra help, fortunately, that was never an issue for us. The disciplinary procedure is one of zero tolerence. Kids will be kids...but if they get caught, Santiago has little patience with them. I feel this is a good thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

833

Change from
2012 to 2013

-19

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

833

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-19

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
75%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
47%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
40%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students94%
Females93%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females67%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state53%

Math

All Students50%
Females46%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to state33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students40%
Females43%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only41%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females67%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state62%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students12%
Females10%
Males13%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino10%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)24%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability14%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only16%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate6%
Parent education - high school graduate14%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)15%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students85%
Females90%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students61%
Females58%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state71%

Science

All Students76%
Females75%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner27%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 66%
White 24%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/AN/A
English language learners 19%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • James D'Agostino
Fax number
  • (714) 532-4758

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

515 North Rancho Santiago Boulevard
Orange, CA 92869
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 997-6366

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT