Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Family Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Orange

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $430,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2013

As Principal of HFCS I welcome and encourage feedback from parents allowing opportunities to address such concerns as those shared. Our goal is to always uphold our school's mission which is dedicated to the education and formation of the whole child - spiritually, intellectually, artistically, psychologically and socially. Our ministry of education supports diverse learning styles and scholastic experience. Our first concern is always the safety and well-being of each student. We recognize that the care and education of the child begins with the family and that parents are the primary educators of their children. We support parents in their role by providing a learning and nurturing environment which promotes strong catholic values.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 9, 2013

A latest 2013 review reveals that this school has still done nothing about the bullying problem there. Another review say the school motto is, "Jesus walks on this campus." I agree with this statement but it is the scorned and beaten Jesus personified in the innocent children there who do not return the aggressive, violent behavior of a few of the students whose parents instill this in them by failing to teach them Christen values. These parents seem to think think the school exists only for academic pursuit benefiting only their child. And the staff and principals turn a blind eye to whatever goes on not related to academics, thereby failing to provide a safe learning environment for all of the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

This is the best school; a hidden gem in Orange! The teachers are outstanding! They are devoted, caring, willing to accommodate special needs, and always open and available to speak with parents. The principal and vice principal are equally exceptional. They are strong leaders, who listen to parents, teachers, and students and apply Catholic values to every decision or action. Holy Family offers exceptional academic programs, including an award-winning advanced math and while other schools have cut programs in these difficult economic times, Holy Family continues to offer specialty programs and classes like: art, computers/technology, library, PE, music, and in the upper grades Spanish and science lab. There is also a full time registered nurse (great for kids with chronic medical conditions). The school motto is "Jesus walks on this campus" and I have to say I see Him every day in the actions of these well-rounded children who are becoming faithful Christians, global and responsible citizens and effective communicators. I highly recommend that you call and ask for a tour. Once you see these kids and this campus you ll know it s the right place for your family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

I doubt that this school has changed much since my child was a student there. The reason I say this is because the school had a long history of parent cliques which ran the school for their own benefit, treating it as though it was a private school only for their own benefit, and not as a parochial school (which it is) which should be for the benefit of ALL students. To this day, my daughter cries when she recalls the nightmare of being trapped in a school where she was constantly bullied, not one-on-one, but by a band together against one child. Most teachers didn't want to get involved and the administration turned a deaf ear to the situation. I believe it was because they feared the the disingenuous parents and their bullying children. I wish I had had the courage to stand up on my own against the whole system, but I felt powerless against the politics involved, and, as a result, my child suffered with long lasting emotional wounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2011

Bar none, this is the best Catholic grade school in Orange County. While the curriculum is academically rigorous, the administration is top notch. Even with tough economic times, they have not laid off any teachers or cut programs. The teachers are exceptionally talented and work well with parents, but most importantly there is a sense of community and a spiritual connectedness. The school's motto is "Jesus Walks on This Campus." How great is that?! Our advanced math teacher was featured in the local paper this year because 9 of the Top 10 finishers in the Math Facts national competition were students in our advanced math class! Catholic schools have a rich history of academic excellence, but I'm biased. Holy Family is head and shoulders above the rest. This school isn't 5 stars, it's 10 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Everyone cares, everyone participates. Love of God is apparent everywhere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Holy Family is an incredible school with an incredible staff the go beyond 100 percent in academic, sports, and family values. I have been so happy to have my children be a part of such an outstanding school that I see as my second Family, the teachers are amazing they go beyond my expectations to educate our children. I absolutely Love Holy Family they are on top of everything to make sure our children benefit from all that they have to offer and I stand by Holy Family Cathedral School more than 100 percent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

I would like to research this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

Academic programs are very structured and advanced. Advanced math is offered and allow a children to excell in this area. Parent involvement varies but is greatly encouraged.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 28, 2004

Holy Family is a great school with wonderful teachers, principles, and fathers. they have outstanding academic achievements and wonderful students. Most students from Holy Family are now wonderful adults. Holy Family is an outstanding school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2004

It is a great school with a safe environment to learn. They have many extra-curricular activities. They have a great student council and academic decathlon team. They excel in academics as well as athletics. The students learn to grow as a family over their years at Holy Family.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Hispanic 36%
Asian 11%
Two or more races 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Orange
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

530 South Glassell Street
Orange, CA 92866
Phone: (714) 538-6012

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT