Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Eldorado Emerson Private School

Private | PK-12 | 193 students

Our students are best known for their intelligence, imagination, and integrity.
 
 

 
 

Living in Orange

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $417,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2014

The school has no leadership. And nepotism problems. There are some problematic people here. That being said, many of the teachers were top-notch, and they offer a great curriculum in small classes. All this is irrelevant when the school is run so badly with terrible terrible communication. As the previous poster stated, the school is going through a leadership transition. Still. And where it is heading doesn't look promising. Many people have left the school. There are several staff and their families that have caused many issues and lead to wide-spread disappointment with the school. Hopefully the new leadership can somehow get the ship back on track and weed out some of the problems. I hope but doubt it will eventuate. It's too bad as my child really grew in confidence at the school but we just couldn't put up with the dysfunction in other areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

Potentially could be one of the best schools in Orange County. This school needs some updating on education and some updating of the campus facilities but your child will get personalized attention and will develop a close, positive relationship with their teachers. This school is going through a leadership transition so it will be interesting to see if this school can hold onto its charming old fashion values while also embracing new and better ways of educating. Being an International school we thought that there would be the best of education philosophies applied from the most proven countries around the world. This is NOT the case. They use the California State curriculum that the public schools use and there is no other philosophy other than "Be Kind to Everyone and Everything." This works most of the time due to the teachers but it does not necessarily translate to the students or parents. Much is lost in translation. The High School is 90% Asain students learning ESL so if the student already knows English it is hard to have a larger social experience. The travel program is overpriced and does not follow curriculum. Wish there was a more unified teaching philosophy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

Elodrado-Emerson. What a fantastic school. Where do I begin? I'm struggling with how to communicate the qualities of Eldorado-Emerson without writing a magazine-length article. I think I'll start with suggesting a couple of videos. Since most sites don't allow links to external content to be included in posts, I'm going to suggest typing the following search terms into Google: ken robinson ted creativity and david kelly ted creative confidence . The first one or two results returned will be videos from TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design) conferences. Envision a school that embodies the elusive ideals they're discussing. This is it. My two children are mid-way through elementary school, and have been attending Eldorado-Emerson since preschool. My kids know no other school, and school is something that they love. My daughter has actually feigned wellness when she was sick so she wouldn't have to be sent home. The kids are excited about learning, regardless of the subject, and the school has no shortage of great teachers. In addition to the standard curriculum, they've learned violin, Spanish, Latin, and computer programming. We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

We love this school! We swiched to this school mid year (from another private school in south county). The environment has been perfect for our son. Our son has made great leaps in knowledge and confidence since attending this school - this is truly a blessing. He has grown socially and academically. The educational program is structured yet allows for individual exploration. Our son's kindergarten teacher was watchful, caring, patient and intuitive. The school has an Art program with an amazing Art Studio. It was comforting when one of the art teachers told us that in terms of art "they" (the teachers)" develop patience". The school also has a PE program with an excellent PE teacher. Since switching to this school our son has improved dramatically. The environment at Eldorado has allowed our son to catch-up on what he was lacking while attending his previous school. We feel lucky to have found Eldorado!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

The best!! When our family first moved to California, we wanted a nonsectarian private school that had both strong academics and the arts. We feel so lucky to have found Eldorado Emerson! All of the teachers are very knowledgeable and so good at inspiring students. Our older son became extremely interested in science after Mr. Bonfiglio's 4th grade science class, and after having Mrs. Rodriquez (a WONDERFUL teacher) in 1st grade, our daughter has been inspired to write poetry ever since. Just spend five minutes talking with any of the insightful, well-spoken, kind-hearted students at this school, and you'll realize what a special school Eldorado Emerson really is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

My husband and I are so grateful to Eldorado Emerson. Our family has so many fond memories of this school and cannot say enough good things about it -- the teachers, the staff, the families have been wonderful. Our son started here as a 7th grader six years ago, and during that time he was involved in so many wonderful events, clubs, activities, and was totally prepared by all of his teachers for successful acceptance into college. In just a couple of weeks he will begin his college career at Cornell University and we are convinced that this could have only happened because of his preparation and academic success at Eldorado Emerson Private School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2012

Our daughter loves going to Eldorado Emerson, she's learning a lot, and we couldn't be happier. What first appealed to us about the school were the small class sizes, around 10 kids per teacher. There is SO much more to this school than that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

My son has had a fantastic experience at this school. We've tried other private schools and this one really is the best. At Eldorado he is learning because he loves it, not because he's forced to. I love that every grade has an arts program, P.E., music, foreign language, and additional engaging activities that inspire the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

I am so impressed with Eldorado Emerson. Our child is so happy here, and everyone is like family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

My wife and I consider Eldorado Emerson to be of the highest caliber. Today our daughter came home so excited (AGAIN) about what she did in school. This time it was performing in the 2nd and 3rd grade opera(?!), that they wrote, scored, and performed. So cool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

this was a good school at first. the teachers were nice and the staff was friendly. i am a student of this school. i would not recomend atttending here. the administration is lazy and only do things that are convienient for them, such as locking the front door 2.5 hours earlier than they are supposed to, and not allowing visitors on campus. honestly, i would post more negative things about this school here, but i wont knowing that this website might not post my review.


Posted February 28, 2010

This school used to be a great school when it was for gifted students. You could bring your 4 year old here and the child would have fun learning to read. They have a beautiful garden in the inner courtyard, and the art teacher Dr. LaGreen is talented. Unfortunately, the school opened enrollment to others and no longer has the same screening process, so quality of peers widely varies. Foreign students may be held back one grade to learn the English language. We left for personal reasons. If your child has ADHD, this school could be right for your child because the class size is under 10 students per teacher and only one class per grade. Tuition costs are about $1,100 per month - very reasonable. Perhaps one day they will restructure and return to being a great school for gifted children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

My daughter started this school in preschool. When it was timefor Kindergarden I put her in the local public school that was had a gate program. When the state scores came out and she was 2 years ahead, I put her back in Eldorado and have not regretted it. Her last test scores showed she was 4 years ahead, but at Eldorado she is in a classroom with her peer, who all have exceptional scores and great attotudes. They all enjoy going to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

I learned so much attending this school. The only downside is the price. It was easy for me to make friends and the teachers really tried their hardest to get you to learn everything possible. You never felt uncomfortable around them like you do at most schools. You parents wouldn't understand that but it's important. For all the kids looking at this, no stupid dress code, and none of the unneccsary rules, but it's not like we can do anything we want. They have great art, music, and P.E. classes, a pool, a garden with all the trimmings, and I've heard they've added alot more since I went there in '05.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 8, 2007

This school is an 'upscale crunchy granola school,' meaning it's expensive (as expensive as Fairmont Schools) yet has a 'warm, fuzzy' atmosphere. The school grounds are in dire need of maintenance, and the neighborhood around the school has gotten much worse in the last 30 years. Bottom line: music and art are taught by wonderful, experienced instructors. There are much better schools in the county for the same or lower cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

We have been very happy here. My daughter is gifted and has ADHD, and the small classes and nurturing atmosphere have been wonderful for her. She says 'you have no idea how fun it is there!' and enjoys going to school every day. The teacher quality has been very, very high. The teachers are creative and engaged with the children. The school has an art studio, music, and foreign language as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

We have been very happy! Excellent reading program for preschoolers. Teachers are very caring and enjoy their jobs. Good focus on the arts. Children are very happy and challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

Impressive arts program at the school. Music, Spanish and Mandarin also offered. The center of the school has a beautiful Monet Garden for nature study, composition ideas, etc. By age 12, students are able to use the pottery wheel in the Art Studio. Great for happy, creative kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

I like their academic programs, on art, music, and reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 26%
Hispanic 5% 52%
Black 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Japanese
Spanish
Vietnamese
Hungarian, Greek
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Dance club: modern/hip hop
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Other
  • Vietnamese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hungarian, Greek
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Independent, Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (714) 744-3304

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Visual arts
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Other
  • Vietnamese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hungarian, Greek
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Transportation can be arranged
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club: modern/hip hop
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Hippocrates' Scholars
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math Club
  • Math club
  • Promethean Society
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Earned highest accreditation from Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC). Graduates accepted into top-ranked universities. Students consistently score high on standardized tests, while school's focus is on educating the whole child. Art, music, foreign language, hands-on science, and athletics courses for all grades. Positive, creative environment catering to highly intelligent children. Bully-free, drug-free. Nationally certified wildlife habitat.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 E Walnut Ave.
Orange, CA 92869
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 633-4774

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT