Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Paul's Lutheran Church and School

Private | PK-8 | 655 students

We are best known for quality Christian education.

 
 

Living in Orange

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $408,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

What an amazing school year we have had! St. Paul's has been blessed beyond measure, especially with the completion of our New Event Center. This year we will be having our 8th grade graduation on campus in this amazing facility! To God be the Glory!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 5, 2014

St. Paul's Lutheran School did an amazing job of meeting the needs of both of my children. I have a son with ADHD and a daughter with a processing disorder and the teachers did their job with excellence and understanding. Students are given a differentiated curriculum that engaged them and pushed them to strive for excellence. Their ability to problem solve and share the information they were learning makes St. Paul's the place to be. Both my children were prepared to meet the high expectations of OLU. The students at St. Paul's are given opportunities to participate in after school sports, band, musicals, Pom squad, yearbook, cooking beyond a challenging and engaging curriculum with teachers who care and put the education of their students first. I believe St. Paul's to be the best school in Orange.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

BEWARE. On the surface, St. Paul's Lutheran School seems pristinely perfect. Just don't believe the hype. When my son excelled in his studies, the teacher became unable to challenge him academically. Eventually, he was relegated to sitting the the back of the room by himself during class. He had to sit separate from all of the other students at pick-up. And he was sent to the principal's office when a plush clock hit another student in the shoulder. This started to have a psychological effect on him, so we decided to remove him from the school. When I notified the school, they promptly emailed us a release form and washed their hands of us. I wrote a two page letter to the principal outlining the issues my child faced and the reasons why their actions were neither helpful nor Christian, and received no response. It's clear that they don't care. I think St. Paul's is s good school, even if the lack of diversity in both staff and student body is a little unsettling. But the nepotism and ties to the church are a major hindrance. If you are not a member, you are an outsider. And if you don't fit into their one-size-fits-all educational approach, there is little support. Period.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

My child transferred from the St. Paul's ECDC to the full day kindergarten program this year and he is growing immensely! Through the strong phonics/sight word/writing activities, he is reading and writing by sounding out letter blends and words. What a treat to have him reading to me! The advanced math program is challenging him to add, subtract, tell how much time has passed, and count money. His personable and hard-working teacher disciplines him with love and consistency. I recommend taking the tour to see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

We have moved out of state and have been lucky to have found this hidden gem. Everyone has been welcoming and in just a couple months I see my kids flourishing. The school has a perfect balance of structure and allowing kids be kids. They are not a one size fits all when it comes to the kids and challenge the kids academically and personally to do their best. We feel very blessed to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

I have two boys that are attending st.paul's. This is their first year they transferred from another private school. So far it seems like an okay school .i like the small class size. The teachers seem really nice. They learn alot about the bible which is good. The only problem I have is I am a single parent and the price of tuition is going up. They do offer finacial aid but it is so low that I wouldn't be able to keep them there I wish they had a better program so that people like me could still afford to send their children there. my kids love the school but everything there is too expensive so they will not be. Back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

The academics at St Paul's are mediocre. Bullying is ignored. Some teachers are cold and uncaring. There is routine dishonesty in student record keeping. The faculty take sides in children's court legal custody matters, advocating for whichever parent wants the child to attend St Paul's. These guys will wreck a family to keep a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

St. Paul's is a great school. I am proud to be an alumni and to have been sending my child here since PreSchool. The teachers and staff and loving, understanding and caring to all the students. God's love is shown to them on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

Our children started out at a very good public school in Orange and we had a good experience. We decided to transfer them to St. Paul's for many reasons - Christ centerred education, small class sizes, and they aren't required to 'teach to the test.' We didn't realize how much our children WERE NOT learning in public school until they attended St. Paul's! Because they don't teach to the test all year, the children are enriched and are able to experience and learn so much more. In public school, my kids did not have to do state or country reports because those things were not part of the standardized testing so they basically did not have social studies for three years! That method proved well because their school is still one of the top scoring schools in Orange Unified. St. Paul's is an amazing, enriching school with very dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

My children have been going there for 5 years now. The teachers are more than teachers, they are family. I know that my child is taken care of and loved. We started in a public Orange Unified school and I couldn't get out fast enough. 34 kids, no parent help, no aide and my kids was still learning colors in November. Even when I told the teacher I was leaving she stated she didn't blame me! I know that you get as much out of a school as you put in but my goodness that was horrible. At St. Pauls, they have great enhancement programs and the teachers do work with the child to give them what they need. I have great peace in knowing that my children are taken care of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2009

I attended this school for years and now attend OLHS. This school really set me up for success. St. Paul's doesn't really have a stereotype, where Salem is known as the wealthy school and St. Johns the sporty school. We do well in sports, have a great music/drama program, and the kids are different than the kids you find in public school. The one problem I had with this school was that they really didn't challenge the academically gifted children, because everyone from the focused learning to the enrichment kids had the same english, science, lit, language, history, etc. An over-emphasis was put on fund raising, and the school was filled up with Korean exchange students who didn't really add anything to the environment. I would definitely go to St. Pauls if I had the opportunity to do so again.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

Please consider your local public school in Orange over this private 'Christian' School. The academics at this school are so poor that the risk of your child being behind acedemically are not worth the 'Christian' Education you think you are getting here. I know first hand and can thank GOD we got out before it was too late. Don't waste your money at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great school and preschool. My daughter attends and loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

St. Paul's is an awesome school! I attended St. Paul's as a child and loved it. Now it's great to see my children getting to experience St. Paul's. The teachers and staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

St. Paul's Lutheran school is a wonderful school, and it was just named a Blue Ribbon School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

St. Paul's is has prepared my children for a succcessful 4 years at a university and has centered there lives around Christ and helping others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

This school has been a blessing and prepared my child for a challenging 4 years in high school and an academic scholarship to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

St Paul's has been such a fabulous school for both my children. One loves sports and is on several teams and the other is in the band and now is on his way to receiving a full scholarship to a top university. The education they received was chalenging and rich. It has proven this excellence by becoming one of the very few schools to be awarded Blue Ribbon status! My children have also learned the joy of knowing Christ and helping others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

This school claims to offer the 'best option in Orange for a quality Christian education.' Not so. Though the book learning of Christianity is offered, the heart is missing in the behavior of the students and the attitudes of the parents. Many of the teachers are very kind, but there didn't appear to be any accountability for teaching goals. That's kind of scary! Our children attended for several years, and though they are very bright, they were not challenged. The public education opportunities in Orange far exceed what is offered at St. Paul's. Plus, there was an enormous emphasis on fundraising, while tuition jumped exorbitantly each year we were there (with no prior notice). So, we have had experiences with both private and public--GO TO THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS IN ORANGE. Your taxes are paying for it anyway and your children will get a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

This school is amazing. The size is wonderful, and the classes are perfectly sized. The campus couldn't be any nicer. The kids that go to this school are great, and the discipline program is strict (yet slightly lacking, especially on the very bad kids). The focused learning, enrichment, and math classes are stupendous, but the regular classes are slightly sub-par. The excellent extra-cirricular program makes up for it, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 26%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 3% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Blue Ribbon School (2009)
  • Exemplary Status, NLSA (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55
School end time
  • 2:45
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • James M. Beaudoin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran
Fax number
  • (741) 921-0131

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Technology
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • OUSD
  • Lutheran Principals Organization
  • Pacific Southwest District
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Dance club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Girl scouts
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lutheran High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 East Heim Avenue
Orange, CA 92865
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 921-3188

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Orange Hills
Orange, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT