Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oakridge Private School

Private | PK-8 | 200 students

We are best known for top 10% National test scores!
 
 

 
 

Living in Orange

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $417,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted February 26, 2014

Dear Parents, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our school. We highly appreciate your comments or concerns and treat them with high regard as we consistently endeavor to create the best possible learning environment for our students. We are a school founded on Judeo Christian Ethics, and our founders believe in teaching strong character/moral values throughout the curriculum. We do have a short prayer at lunch to thank God for our food, and also say the Pledge of Allegiance. Our elective bible classes are optional for our families, as we offer character building classes that teach the same moral values without the religious ties. As a school, our primary goal is education, and we do celebrate all of our religions and cultures represented by our students. Again, we welcome your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact us with any concern at principal@oakridgeschool.org. Thank you, Oakridge Administration Stefan P. Joly, M.Ed. Middle School Principal Oakridge Private School

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Our family has been at Oakridge for three years, with our son attending the school from Kindergarten until his current 2nd Grade school year. The small class sizes enable the school to offer very personalized attention. The principals and teachers are very accessible and resopnsive. The curriculum is based on the solid fundamentals, and enhanced with foreign language including Spanish and Chinese, instrumental music, and a wide variety of extra curricular after school activities including sports, chess, cooking, music, art, magic, and more. There are other fun activities for the students throughout the year including a pet show, talent show, kite day, and carnival. We look forward to staying at the school through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

Oakridge Private School is the BEST SCHOOL and I am so happy we have both our boys enrolled here for the long term. The education, the staff, the principals are all amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

The time this school was a great school is over... My kids did not adapt here and the Principal did not do much to help it. There are better options to seek higher education than Oakridge. I am very disappointed with all the experiences my kids had here. I give a zero star!! So fake!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2012

This is a religious school, and I think they should advertise so honestly. When researching schools for our elementary-age son, for some reason this school keeps trying to pass itself off as nonsectarian on greatschools.com and other school sites. We have nothing against religious schools but we wanted a non-religious education for our kids. Here's a direct quote from Oakridge's website and school literature: "above all, inspired in spirit by the precepts of the Judeo/Christian ethic." That is NOT nonsectarian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

A "Small Town" school, without the big town bureaucracy! Families are activly participating in the community here! Unlike BIG schools, your voice can be heard and your concerns addressed... Our daughter attendeed Oakridge from K-8th and then went on to Crean Lutheran High School in Irvine... The transition to High School was easy for her and the education from Oakridge was actually BETTER than many of the other Freshman in her class who attended other private and public schools in Orange County! Oakridge has actually been open for over 30 years, but the permenant Orange campus is only 9 or 10 years old now. The teachers are indeed excellent, the leadership is driven with compassion, and the programs are ABOVE grade average... Highly reccomended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

Both my children had graduated from the Oakridge and I have only superlatives to describe my love and gratitude to the principals, teachers and stuff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

As a student that attended Oakridge, I can tell you myself how horrible it is there. Kids are rude, teachers are not even credentialed. I've never been treated so badly by other students before. After leaving to a public school, I was extremely behind in many subjects.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2009

We great enjoy the loving and small school environment. The curriculum is similar to public school overall but the small classes (15-20 kids in elementary) make it much easier for kids to learn since they receive more attention. The management team is wonderful and loving, hence the great nurturing environmnent. However, as in any school, there level of teachers' competence vary. This year, our child scolarity confidence and overall happiness suffered from it. Luckily, our child found support through other teachers. We are enrolling our child at Oakridge again this year because of the safe and loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

This school continually exceeds my expectations. All three of my children attend this amazing school that combines excellent academics with a warm, safe environment. My two older children attended oakridge in 1st and 2nd grades, then we moved away, where they attended a public, blue ribbon school that was a year behind oakridge! So when we moved back to Orange county 3 years later, I was so excited for my kids to return to this superior school. My middle school daughter loves her teachers, and is always challenged academically, the teachers really inspire critical thinking and creativity. My 5th grade child did beautifully this year is a small classroom, with lots of individual attention. She was one of 14 instead of one of 40! What a huge difference for her confidence and focus. The JR kindergarten is academic and fun, my 5 year old had a great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

This is such an amazing school. Our children have been here for over 4 years and We couldn't imagine them anywhere else. It is warm and caring, but more than anything the standard of education is fantastic. They are so far ahead of the game in academics and with small classrooms they get so much one on one time with their teachers. They are doing great and are so happy being at Oakridge. We are very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

We love Oakrdige! The teachers are engaging and loving, and administration is always available and helpful. My children come home excited about what they have learned. They also have a great computer and Spanish program, as well as many school plays and an awesome sports program. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

We've had our daughter in Oakridge since kindergarten. She's now in 8th grade, and nearing graduation. We couldn't be happier with this school. They've given her devoted teachers, supportive staff, and a challenging honors program. The classes are small, and the teachers offer more individual attention. She has formed lasting bonds with each of her teachers. Oakridge has gone above and beyond what we expected from any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 11%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Black 5% 6%
Hispanic 2% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club
  • Origami club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Patricia Burry
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (714) 532-5768

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Origami club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • PRESCHOOL - 8TH GRADE NATIONAL TEST SCORES IN TOP TEN PERCENT iPAD 1:1 MIDDLE SCHOOL iPOD TOUCH ONE TO ONE 2ND - 5TH GRADE INTERACTIVE SMART BOARDS MIDDLE SCHOOL HONORS PROGRAMS SMALL CLASS SIZE STEP UP TO WRITING K-8 SPANISH, K-2 MANDARIN, MUSIC, DRAMA, ART, COOKING COMPETITIVE (CIF) ATHLETICS TWO COMPUTER LABS - "Dual Platform" in which students learn PC based applications in two computer labs, and Mac applications through the iPod and iPad programs.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19111 Villa Park Rd
Orange, CA 92869
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 288-1432

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Salem Lutheran
Orange, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT