Advertisement
Advertisement

Almondale Academy

Private | K-12 | 26 students

Classical Private School
 
 

 
 

Living in Orangevale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

Excellent school. The teacher is very knowledgeable and is able to give a lot of personal help to each student. The curriculum that I was was great and I could tell she really cares about her students. My only concern is lack of peer models for my daughters age. There were 3 3rd graders, a 4th grader, and a kindergartener with no promise as to how many 1st graders there will be next year. This will be a very hard decision for us as parents to make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

The individualized attention each student gets makes a huge difference to the students. The classrooms provide an atmosphere that helps promote learning and respect among the students. Just two weeks into this current school year I can already tell this is going to be quite an amazing year for all of the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

I'm so glad we found this school! This is such great place! The staff really cares about the kids and you can tell. The children are all very comfortable with their classmates and the teachers/staff. The campus grounds are filled with all sorts of fun as well as an occasional peacock (which are friendly and used to the kids). I know that our family will be here for quite some time! If you're looking for a great school with small classes and quality teachers this is the place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

I (and my 3rd grader) are SO very excited about this coming school year at Almondale! Our family has been there for 2 years (and 2 summers) and I have to say that this year is going to be the best yet! There are many excited, new faces this year and so many fun new programs! This isn't just a school, it's a family. The staff really cares about each child and makes sure that they get the individualized attention each child needs to excel and exceed their educational goals. Would I recommend this school? You bet I would! It's set on a serene campus with many "pets" wandering the grounds (all are very used to children and are very friendly). I could go on and on about all of the great things but I know I'll run out of room! The only bad thing I ever have to say is about the fact that I have such a hard time getting my child to leave in the afternoon when it's time to go home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

This is an absolutely amazing school! They are all about the students. The teachers and staff go above and beyond to make sure each and every child is working at or above their grade level. My child entered this school a shy little person and is now VERY confident. They focus on each individual child, which allows the children to learn and grow at the pace they should. Not every child learns the same way or at the same pace. At Almondale, they make sure every child flourishes! The teachers, staff and the owners are the most wonderful group of people I've ever had the opportunity to know! I'm so glad we found this hidden gem!!! The best part....they have alot of fun too! With fun in the classroom (which promotes learning) to educational field trips, this school has everything your child needs! My child loves going to school now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

My child has been attending this school now for a couple of months. The owners and staff of this school are remarkable. They care enough to ensure each child receives the utmost quality care and education. They provide a safe and enjoyable environment that allows each child to grow at their pace, while building their self-confidence. My child has never been happier. You know this when your child looks forward to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

This school offers amazing one on one attention because of the small class sizes. It has great field trips and activities that parents can be included in. It's especially great for kids who are behind in one subject and fine in all the rest, the teacher can work with them individually to catch them up. Great involved teachers who communicate, an amazing staff and great leadership!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2008

Excellent eduation in a beautiful enviroment, a safe place with caring teachers and Prinipal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

An excellent school. Very caring, individual help, study hall after school. Techers and principal are very approachable. Curriculum is excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 78%
Hispanic 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6%
Asian 6%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Homeschool
Public
Charter
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Nola Bardin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • A visit to school grounds
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Classical
Fax number
  • (916) 000-0000

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Almondale is a private classical school that offers a virtue based curriculum in a remarkably beautiful campus. All our teachers are credentialed. We encourage you to visit our website, call to speak directly to the staff and plan a visit.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Homeschool
Public
Charter

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8616 Greenback Lane
Orangevale, CA 95662
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 988-8611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Orangevale Open K-8
Fair Oaks, CA




Cabrini Academy
Fair Oaks, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT