Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,036 students|San Juan Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Andrew Carnegie Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is fought and all the teachers and staff work very well with the students. As I said if you are a good person you can get rewards, to the extent of gift cards to Jamba Juice.

Andrew Carnegie Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Everyone is treated right, and given the oppertunitiy to become amazing. They also reward student's good behavior and incourages everyone to do better. The mentioned qualities are included in a reward called the "Own it" shirt.


Andrew Carnegie Middle School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
My daughter transferred from Orangevale Open K-8, and LOVES it. She is in 6th grade and participated in their Track and Field program. She won an award in the district championships for long jump! She also won the President's Education Award Program. I would recommend this school to anyone. In fact, we did, and a friend of ours also transferred from Orangevale Open half way through the year and ADORES this school. Definitely an amazing school. 10 out of 10

Andrew Carnegie Middle School 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Andrew Carnegie. It's only been a month and a half since school started but I can say that so far my son LOVES his new school. I will review again when it's later in the year.

Andrew Carnegie Middle School 4

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
I love this school. This school has some excellent teachers and other school staff. The wrestling program rocks. I feel that it is a safe place for my child to be. The staff is extremely friendly and are very approachable. My son is in the 8th grade and loves it!!! He has not only thrived academically but socially as well. I AM A PROUD CARNEGIE SCOT PARENT!!!


Andrew Carnegie Middle School 1

Posted March 06, 2010
- a parent
Andrew Carnegie has some very good teachers and some that are not. A student knows a good teacher by the care and understanding they show, Andrew Carnegie lacks in this area.

Andrew Carnegie Middle School 4

Posted July 07, 2008
- a student
This school is so wonderful. The teachers help kids ad do everything they can to help you understand. Planning for extra curicular activites is well thought out and benifits everyone. No matter how old you are or if you are different, you are treated with respect and all of your comments are taken into consideration. P.E. has so much equipment and games to keep you busy the entire year, and is wonderful to help you get active. Lab equipment is fun and at the same time very imformative of many aspects to science and projects. Overall, this school is wonderful and I would recomend it to anyone. I hope to one day send my children there.

Andrew Carnegie Middle School 4

Posted November 16, 2006
- a student
I really love this school. I think that the teachers are great and really want to teach the kids everything they know. The school has implemented a new discipline program that is a little overboard and is testing it out on this year students. You can eat outside or not and I hear this is a privilege. Mr. Kern is and amazing principal and Mrs. deal and Mrs. Davidson are amazing VP's I am going to truly miss the school. The School has fantastic Electives that will suit almost anybody. The band is simply amazing and the sports program rocks. There is a PTSA and the parents love it (and so do the kids that are in it).


Andrew Carnegie Middle School
no rating

Posted February 01, 2006
- a parent
Teachers are highly skilled and have great expectations from our kids. Expect your son/doughter to spend at least 2 hours daily with homework. Not good communication, your e-mails, calls may not be returned.. The vice-principal is kind and understanding.

Andrew Carnegie Middle School 5

Posted October 23, 2005
- a parent
Carnegie Middle School has a phenomenal principal named Mr. Kern backed by as awesome staff. Parent participation is strong and greatly encouraged by the staff. This school is above average in saftey on grounds. Fights are dealt with siftly and consistntly, so kids understnad 'Mr. Kern doesn't play'. A great sports program for both girls and boys! Well supported and attended! Carnegie is building an awesome Mdia Program!

Nearby schools

Andrew Carnegie Middle School
5820 Illinois Avenue, Orangevale, CA  95662-4418
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (916) 971-7853
Last modified Andrew Carnegie Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top