Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Del Rey Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2011
- a parent
At first we were overwhelmed by the sheer amount of parent involvement expected and the continuous fundraising efforts, but then we quickly realized how important it all is in maintaining such excellent standards. Thanks to the strong community commitment Del Rey has maintained low student/teacher ratios, produces excellent test scores, provides a fabulous healthy lunch program, and offers wonderful enrichment programs around languages, arts, science, music and sports.

Del Rey Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
We moved to Orinda, CA specifically for the public school system. Unforunately, our timing was not so good...Del Rey's library staff was reduced the year our first of three children entered Kindergarten as well as some other minor reductions and cost savings measures were implemented due to the California budget crisis. My wife and I both went to private schools and decided to make the switch for our children. It was not a choice that we wanted to make but felt compelled to make considering California's current and forecasted budget projections. During our stay at Del Rey, we were completely thrilled with the teacher to whom our daughter was assigned. Time has since passed and we are had time to compare and contrast public vs. private and we feel we made the right choice for our family.


Del Rey Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful teachers, caring and involved principal, excellent after-care and hot lunch programs, and involved parents. My daughter loves it at Del Rey.

Del Rey Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
Del Rey is located in an environment with a very strong sense of community. Parents are generally quite involved and place high emphasis on education. Very safe neighborhood. School is actively supported by a lot of good people. Most teachers are good to very good. Some of the teachers are absolutely incredible. I have 3 boys there now.

Del Rey Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2009
- a parent
We moved to Orinda several years ago for the schools. This is a great school system, and it's great because of the combination of parent and teacher involvement. The system is really a hybrid private/public school. Over 30% of Del Rey's budget is directly provided by parent donations to maintain the art, music and other programs that would have been cut otherwise. Parents are expected to donate money and an overwhelming majority willingly donate both time and money to the school. While this is technically a public school, there is a private school atmosphere to Del Rey because of the involvement. Compared to what you would pay for a private shool, this is far cheaper than any private school around. The annual donations, the teacher involvement, and the family participation is what keeps Del Rey and all the other Orinda schools highly ranked.


Del Rey Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Del Rey Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2007
- a parent
We moved to Orinda specifically for the schools. We've not been disappointed. Del Rey is a gem among the Orinda elementary schools. Teachers are amazing and so dedicated. Parents are incredibly involved yet also very down-to-earth and sane even in this crazy and competitive enrvironment in which we're raising our kids. Del Rey is small and has a very strong sense of community. We are lucky to be able to send our children here.

Del Rey Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2005
- a parent
My son began Kindergarten this year. The experience at Del Rey has been wonderful for him as a student and for us as parents. He is receiving a great education. Communication of class/school/district happenings is great.


Del Rey Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Del Rey Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Del Rey Elementary School
25 El Camino Moraga, Orinda, CA  94563
(925) 258-3099
Last modified Del Rey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Del Rey Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top