Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sleepy Hollow Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Sleepy Hollow Elementary in Orinda is a great school, The dads club (Ichabod's Gang) Makes a huge difference at the school, The moms all do their part and the dads show their support. The staff is great and if there is an issue all parents seemed to join together to make sure the right thing happened for both students and teacher alike. Education was very good for the advancement to Orinda Intermediate. The othe school in Orinda that I would recommend is Del Rey, I attended Del Rey myself but I have many friends here in town with children at every school and the dads club at Del Rey makes a huge difference just like Sleepy Hollow and the teachers are great

Sleepy Hollow Elementary School 5

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
The reviewer below who advised that SH isn't a good school for kids with discipline or personality issues has it wrong. Public schools are required to serve ALL children in the district, including those with special needs. Parents who do not want their children in a diverse learning environment are welcome to send their kids to private school if they don't like the population served by their public. My SN child has been very well served by SH, it's too bad that there are parents in district like the poster below.


Sleepy Hollow Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
although sleepy hollow school isn't perfect, it is probably the best public school that i can imagine. the new principal dr. G has been a huge improvement over prior, and some weak teachers have moved to other schools. the parents are involved and many give of their time as well as money. most of the teachers are terrific and truly care for the students and their learning(as evidenced by 984 test score), and my only wish would be if it were a newer campus(which would need more state funding). p.s. as some reviewers have pointed out, this isn't a good school for kids who have discipline or personality issues that require individual attention - perhaps those students are best at private schools.

Sleepy Hollow Elementary School 3

Posted April 05, 2013
- a parent
I'm sorry to agree with previous posters that there is a certain amount of "resting on their laurels" that is apparent at Sleepy Hollow and the teachers are universally nice but not a lot of innovation or motivation to change. We found there to be very little differentiation, or any tolerance for differentiating students of different abilities, which compounds the problem. We pulled our daughter from this school, despite how wonderful the parent community and ASC program are.

Sleepy Hollow Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
We transfered our children from Wagner Ranch School, The best thing that has happened! The principal is the best we could hope for, 100% there for the children rather than the teachers ( I am sure they have his support aswell but its about the children), He is very well informed and has an open door policy. He is very much community oriented and is often seen walking the neighborhood saying hi to residents during his breaks. The teachers are top notch and the parents of the school are 100% involved, The dads club "Ichabod's Gang" is very involved with the school (against the approval of the superintendent) and promotes a few "fun" raisers including welcome new parents day, haunted house and a mothersday fest. They often find projects to help out with. The moms are very supportive with class room projects. It is a very family orientated school. Our children LOVE Sleepy Hollow and are so happy they go there. I can't say enough things about what a great school Sleepy Hollow is.


Sleepy Hollow Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2011
- a parent
We are entering our 7th year with children attending Sleepy Hollow and could not be more pleased with the school. The quality of education is excellent. The teachers are amazing, as is the level of parental involvement. Our children are challenged daily in a caring and supportive environment. Sleepy Hollow consistently receives outstanding test scores.

Sleepy Hollow Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2011
- a parent
Excellent teachers and administration; challenging course work. Great opportunities for the students. Amazing parent involvement.

Sleepy Hollow Elementary School 3

Posted April 23, 2011
- a parent
Unfortunately, I agree with the negative comment of Dec 5, 2008. I am afraid that the smaller school is more impacted by an entrenched bureaucracy of tenured teachers who have lost their enthusiasm, and have become lazy. The high scores of the school result from its demographic profile, not teacher effort. I do not see an emphasis on academics, and too much emphasis on the easy way of arts and crafts. In a small school a parent is afraid to say anything negative because you can be punished by an entrenched, tenured, established faculty. I would like to see a more active parent involvement in stimulating more academic work in the classroom, rather than the present emphasis on social activities and fun and games. Is the parental money contribution for class aides merely a way for the teacher to put in less effort, and let the aid do the work? I see many tired teachers, and I am very sorry to say this.


Sleepy Hollow Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
Sleepy Hollow is a sweet small school where everyone knows each other and the teachers are outstanding. Are you expected to donate to the school to support it? Yes, but it is well worth the cost. While other schools have had to give up small class sizes and instructional aides, SH has managed to hang onto them, and more. They have upgraded technology, art, music and PE. Sure, in other states you don't need to pay for those things, but in California they are going the way of the dodo-bird. SH is older and a little tired looking, but the education is anything but...this is a great school with an outstanding parent community to support it.

Sleepy Hollow Elementary School 3

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
Facilities mediocre, staff unhelpful, defensive and overly full of how great Orinda schools are supposed to be. My daughter's teacher is unimaginative and does not read kids well. This teacher made an enthusiastic learner hate school in no time. They push an alarming amount of the instruction load onto parents, which is disappointing for second grade. My audit shows that more than one-half of school time is non-instructional. You pay through the nose for 'extra' programs that aren't extra in other states, such as music and languages. The quality of instruction there is poor, too. Everyone here's gleefully unaware of what a ripoff it is, paying thousands of dollars in 'donations' to get this level of mediocrity.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sleepy Hollow Elementary School
20 Washington Lane, Orinda, CA  94563
(925) 254-8711
Last modified Sleepy Hollow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sleepy Hollow Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top