Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ocean View Junior High School 5

Posted November 17, 2013
- a community member
okay so heres my opinion about ocean view. its a really cool school to go to. Everyone's so nice there and I love it ive been a student since 6th (im in 7th btw) and everything about the school is amazing. Except for one thing, there's too many teachers watching u. like u spill milk on the floor, they want u to clean it up like wut lol and there's alot more white people now, not really a problem bit they are pretty mean. and that other comment that said something about if your child soaks English find another school, yea thats so not true lol. There's alot of mexicans in this school but it doesn't mean we dont speak english lol theres probably like wut, 15 or less kids that speak only Spanish so only speaking english is okay lol. Unless your white or from base than yea, your child is most likely going to get bagged on for that. but basically the only bad thing I guess is the greengos I mean its not a bad thing I mean like its bad how they get bullied. everything else is perfect. Everyone's nice and everyone likes everyone. even if ur from base your bound to have sum friends but overall the school is awesome and the staff is awesome!!! (:
1 person found this helpful

Ocean View Junior High School 5

Posted November 17, 2013
- a community member
okay so heres my opinion about ocean view. its a really cool school to go to. Everyone's so nice there and I love it ive been a student since 6th (im in 7th btw) and everything about the school is amazing. Except for one thing, there's too many teachers watching u. like u spill milk on the floor, they want u to clean it up like wut lol and there's alot more white people now, not really a problem bit they are pretty mean. and that other comment that said something about if your child soaks English find another school, yea thats so not true lol. There's alot of mexicans in this school but it doesn't mean we dont speak english lol theres probably like wut, 15 or less kids that speak only Spanish so only speaking english is okay lol. Unless your white or from base than yea, your child is most likely going to get bagged on for that. but basically the only bad thing I guess is the greengos I mean its not a bad thing I mean like its bad how they get bullied. everything else is perfect. Everyone's nice and everyone likes everyone. even if ur from base your bound to have sum friends but overall the school is awesome and the staff is awesome!!! (:
1 person found this helpful


Ocean View Junior High School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
I must say I was apprehensive about sending my white daughter to this school being that she was the minority. However, by the Secound day she already had friends and was accepted by the other kids with no problem. She originally was going to go to balboa and wanted to go there after this year but since has changed her mind and wants to finish at ocean view. I'm very please with the office staff, they are very kind and attentive to the childrens needs etc. my daughter like all her teacher which makes me happy. I think the grading system is different but it works. My daughter is a straight "A" student and is doing well at this school.
1 person found this helpful

Ocean View Junior High School 1

Posted November 20, 2012
- a parent
This is my 3rd attempt to submit a review of this LOL, school and each post has been removed. Apparently speaking the truth in America today is not a good thing or apparently it is evil. My conservative views believe people have the right to know what is going on at this school but apparently Great Schools and bleeding heart liberals don t feel that way. It seems they only want positive reviews and robot people who think and act like them and don t see what a mess this school is. I don t know a good way to sugar coat how bad this school really is, I have had two children attend this school and neither of them made it a full year. So I ll just simply say; if your child speaks English then find a different school to send them to. I could go on, and on but I ll leave it at that, god knows (sorry I forgot you can t say god) I don t want to offend any bleeding heart liberals. MERRY CHRISTMAS

Ocean View Junior High School 1

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
This is not a good school. For all military families in the area if your child is in this district try to find another school! Huge problem with bullying and racism, my son has been picked on and called names for being white almost every day. Not impressed with the principal either. The schedule for classes and the way grading is done is too confusing. A 0 star school.


Ocean View Junior High School 1

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ocean View Junior High School 5

Posted December 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ocean View Junior High School 4

Posted October 07, 2007
- a parent
The academic program is great. Children are held accountable for thier homework. If not done...it's mandatory that they stay after school to finish it.Nothing to offer for afterschol activities. One major proble...the chool does not inform parents of upcoming events with adequate time to make arrangements. I've had to miss several events due to the school notifications coming only the day before the event.


Ocean View Junior High School 5

Posted October 06, 2007
- a student
This school is a good school.They have wonderful teachers and wonderful vice principal and principal

Ocean View Junior High School 5

Posted August 05, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ocean View Junior High School
4300 Olds Road, Oxnard, CA  93033
(805) 488-6421
Last modified Ocean View Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ocean View Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top