Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Channel Islands High School 3

Posted February 20, 2012
- a parent
The counseling staff leaves a lot to be desired... My daughter was a transfer student from another school in San Diego County and you would have thought she was coming from another country. Since CIHS did not currently have some of the classes she took, they completely discounted them and dropped them to a lower "equivalent." I had to fight to get them rated correctly on her transcript. Thank god for the SLO. I have very little good to say about this school and am thankful that I will not have t send my son here. A good thing about the school? Some of the teachers my daughter has are challenging and caring individuals. So I guess that perhaps my issues are with the administration and counselors.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted December 20, 2010
- a student
the school is so kind and helpful. there is a great support system and you are always helped out.


Channel Islands High School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a student
I am an alumni, and all I have is positive feed back. You don't stand alone here, you can go to anyone for help and you won't get bored there is plenty to do from academics to extracurricular activities.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted March 09, 2010
- a student
this school may not have the highest test scores, the best athletics, or the best reputation, but what it does have is spirit. I believe that this is the key to success.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted July 10, 2009
- a student
This is the best school ever!! I am a sophomore and the teachers are so kind and cool!


Channel Islands High School 5

Posted November 04, 2008
- a student
This school is the best! there's many opportunities and clubs and many activities.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted July 08, 2008
- a parent
Channel Islands High School is providing and has provided my kids with a great education. My daughter has gone on to Harvard and I have C.I. to thank. In the four years my daughter attended, she was exposed to tough, tough classes and caring teachers who, both, pushed and supported her. I also am thankful the district hired a new principal. Dr. Valles has been the savior of Channel Islands High. I look forward to what is to come.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted June 19, 2008
- a student
teachers are really nice and like to help us students and help if help is needed.


Channel Islands High School 5

Posted May 01, 2008
- a student
Channel Islands High School has changed my life in many great ways. I have made many new friends that I will never forget! And the teachers have helped me whenever I had a problem, whether it was about the homework or a personal problem. The teachers' participation in multiple activities makes CI a wonderful school. Not to mention the variety of squads (like All-Male, Co-Ed, Drill, and Band, just to name a few) who have succeeded in winning competitions all around California. And our new principal, Dr. Rocky Valles, has supported both the teachers and the students 100% of the way by making new additions to existing facilities, including the bleachers of the football field, gym, and cafeteria. I'm glad I go to Channel Islands. I wouldn't want to go anywhere else.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted May 01, 2008
- a teacher
I have taught for more than ten years at the junior high, high school and college level and can honestly say that our school has one of the most friendly, supportive and caring campuses ever. Our students are polite and respectful. They are also very conscientious people as evidenced by the generous amount of money that our school (a Title I school, mind you) has raised for such programs as Invisible Children and Pennys for Patients. We have outstanding and award-winning athletes and perfomers as seen in our dance squads, banners, bands, soccer team, and academic decathlon, to mention but a few. I am proud to work alongside such dedicated teachers who strive to teach and reach every student in a multitude of ways. Channel Islands is a great school, and I'm glad to be here.

Nearby schools

Channel Islands High School
1400 Raiders Way, Oxnard, CA  93033-5699
(805) 385-2787
Last modified Channel Islands High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top