Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Oxnard, CA
Students enrolled: 2,702
 

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Channel Islands High School 3

Posted February 20, 2012
- a parent
The counseling staff leaves a lot to be desired... My daughter was a transfer student from another school in San Diego County and you would have thought she was coming from another country. Since CIHS did not currently have some of the classes she took, they completely discounted them and dropped them to a lower "equivalent." I had to fight to get them rated correctly on her transcript. Thank god for the SLO. I have very little good to say about this school and am thankful that I will not have t send my son here. A good thing about the school? Some of the teachers my daughter has are challenging and caring individuals. So I guess that perhaps my issues are with the administration and counselors.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted December 20, 2010
- a student
the school is so kind and helpful. there is a great support system and you are always helped out.


Channel Islands High School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a student
I am an alumni, and all I have is positive feed back. You don't stand alone here, you can go to anyone for help and you won't get bored there is plenty to do from academics to extracurricular activities.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted March 09, 2010
- a student
this school may not have the highest test scores, the best athletics, or the best reputation, but what it does have is spirit. I believe that this is the key to success.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted January 10, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Channel Islands High School 5

Posted October 21, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted July 10, 2009
- a student
This is the best school ever!! I am a sophomore and the teachers are so kind and cool!

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Channel Islands High School 5

Posted November 04, 2008
- a student
This school is the best! there's many opportunities and clubs and many activities.

Channel Islands High School 5

Posted July 08, 2008
- a parent
Channel Islands High School is providing and has provided my kids with a great education. My daughter has gone on to Harvard and I have C.I. to thank. In the four years my daughter attended, she was exposed to tough, tough classes and caring teachers who, both, pushed and supported her. I also am thankful the district hired a new principal. Dr. Valles has been the savior of Channel Islands High. I look forward to what is to come.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Channel Islands High School
1400 Raiders Way, Oxnard, CA  93033
(805) 385-2787
Last modified Channel Islands High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Channel Islands High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top